We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodation, excellent food, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Aylburton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Check in to checkout, excellent, 5* plus.
The rooms in the Millingbrook lodge were very clean, comfortable and well appointed.
Dinner in the restaurant was excellent with a wide choice and it was served at the pace we required. We were not rushed or kept waiting. The wine list was was perfect!
The breakfast menu consisted of continental style or full English. The five of us chose the full English which was served piping hot with generous portions.
All of the staff were pleasant and attentive and dealt with all our requirements!
This was our third visit and we are already planning to stay there next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have been allocated have been right for our needs. If you require special condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dtreherne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

We cant ask anymore than 5 stars thankyou for you excellent review repeat visits are always welcome,its an excellent way of knowing we are doing the right things.We do hope to see you next year all the very best.

Kind regards

Ian Carole and all the george team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Room was made up really nicely with nice furniture and sheets etc. but the soundproofing or rather lack of it is a major problem in the lodge!

The floorboards from the room above squeaked whenever anyone moved and the walls were so thin I could hear the kettle boiling in the room next door and the two old ladies chatting (unfortunately this was at 5am!).

If you're going to stay here then pack your earplugs (or the hotel could leave a set in your room as there are plenty of other people saying the same).

A real shame about the lodge as the food for dinner and breakfast were nice but we won't be returning to stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AdeySwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thankyou for your review we take all our reviews seriously and use the information to constantly improve our service.All guests should be aware of other guests in the lodge and to keep the noise at a reasonable level.The food was good the breakfast was good the drink was good.Unfortunately you can please some of the people some of the time but not all of the people all of the time.PS nothing was said on checkout so there,s no suprises there then.

All the very best

Ian & carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Short term profit over customer comfort in the "hotel", thank goodness that the pub/restaurant doesn't copy.
Room had thin walls, noisey plumbing, small TV and copied cheap parts of budget chain in providing liquid soap but no toiletries ("bars of soap too expensive"). Pub had great beer and great food

Stayed: April 2017
Thank chocfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnylassGloucester, Manager at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thankyou for your review (short term profit over comfort)We work tirelessly hard year on year all for the good of the customer.Recent visit Britain 4 star award for the 6th year running from the hotel inspector.We have supplied the dispensers in the shower units with high quality body wash as the customer will only use the amount required.We used to supply bars of soap but found that 98% of the bar had to be thrown away after use.The environment is important to us and we like to think we contribute. You did say your preference was a bar of soap and you also told me you had brought your own anyway so is there really any need to add this to your review.Small tv in the room the tv is of adequate size in relation to the room.Plumbing all brand new and new boiler fitted in January £6000.00 pounds.PS how many boutique toileteries could i have bought with that.

Kind regards

Ian & carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

My husband and I stayed here for a romantic weekend, such a quaint place, our rooms were lovely and clean, the bed was the comfiest I've ever slept on, including my own , I even asked the lady changing the beds where the mattress was from. All the buildings had so much character, a lot of thought and time has gone into this establishment. The two owners were extremely friendly and helpful.
We will definitely return, if only for a meal when passing through

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanW1123, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thankyou for your kind review it was very nice meeting you both and that you found all aspects of your stay enjoyable.Maybe we will see you again one day positive reviews always give us a lift knowing we are doing the right things is very important to us as a family business.

Kind regards

ian & carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

It's hailing down with rain we're hungry and came across this inn..... well the gods were on our side, amazing food, reasonably priced and staff made every effort to find us a table, they were busy busy but the 30 min wait was well worth it..... you must try

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alison1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanW1123, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Sat down in our office on the computer looking through the window raining miserable outside and up popped this review brightened up my whole day thankyou for your kind review we try to homecook as much as possible our chefs do a great job it would be lovely to see you again one day.all the very best.

Kind regards

Ian & carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylburton
7.7 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
683 reviews
10.3 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
784 reviews
1.4 km away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 11 in Coleford
75 reviews
13.4 km away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 2 in Lydbrook
387 reviews
17.3 km away
Blaisdon House B&B
Blaisdon House B&B
#1 of 1 in Blaisdon
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge

Address: High Street | Forest of Dean, Lydney GL15 6DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydney > Aylburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aylburton
Price Range: $122 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ian, Carole and the Team welcome you to The George Inn and Millingbrook Lodge which is ideally placed in the centre of Aylburton, a small village just one mile from Lydney, Gloucestershire. The Lodge offers 4 star Visit England hotel style accommodation all with en-suite facilities at great competitive rates. Situated in the heart of Aylburton village it is ideally located for tourists and business-persons alike with easy travel links to Cheltenham, Gloucester, Bristol, Chepstow & Cardiff. The George Inn boasts a selection of locally sourced Cask Marque Real Ales, Draught Beers, Lagers, Ciders and selection of wines & Spirits. The Landlord Ian and his team keep an impeccable cellar and continue to offer award winning service. The Millingbrook Restaurant offers a wide range of fresh food from Lighter Bites to Traditional Home Cooked Meals. The George Inn prides itself on great service, an imaginative menu and we are Forest Famous for our value for money. The restaurant is open all year round and our garden is available during the summer months for al fresco dining. Our food is locally sourced whenever possible, for example our Meat is sourced from Cowshill Farm and Fitzgerald's Butchers in Lydney and we use the Finest Butter from Netherend Dairy Farm. The Millingbrook Lodge offers 4 star Visit England hotel style accommodation all with en-suite facilities at great competitive rates. A choice of breakfasts are also available, from Continental up to Full English every morning in the Millingbrook Restaurant for all our Millingbrook Lodge guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing