We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Woodmill Farm(Aylburton)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
157
64
27
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
64
27
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubforest of deanfull englishhome madesaturday nightthin wallsroom was largecouldn't do enoughcooked to perfectionlovely placegood nights sleepbooked a tablestayed for two nightscooked breakfastlasagnabiscuitssurrounding area
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Great base to explore the Forest of Dean and surrounding area, food is excellent, staff are friendly & knowledgeable about the area , rooms are comfortable and clean, dog friendly, local Tescos only a mile way

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thankyou for your review so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay hopefully we will meet again in the future.

All the very best

Ian & carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Check in to checkout, excellent, 5* plus.
The rooms in the Millingbrook lodge were very clean, comfortable and well appointed.
Dinner in the restaurant was excellent with a wide choice and it was served at the pace we required. We were not rushed or kept waiting. The wine list was was perfect!
The breakfast menu consisted of continental style or full English. The five of us chose the full English which was served piping hot with generous portions.
All of the staff were pleasant and attentive and dealt with all our requirements!
This was our third visit and we are already planning to stay there next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have been allocated have been right for our needs. If you require special conditions just ask .
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dtreherne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

We cant ask anymore than 5 stars thankyou for you excellent review repeat visits are always welcome,its an excellent way of knowing we are doing the right things.We do hope to see you next year all the very best.

Kind regards

Ian Carole and all the george team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Room was made up really nicely with nice furniture and sheets etc. but the soundproofing or rather lack of it is a major problem in the lodge!

The floorboards from the room above squeaked whenever anyone moved and the walls were so thin I could hear the kettle boiling in the room next door and the two old ladies chatting (unfortunately this was at 5am!).

If you're going to stay here then pack your earplugs (or the hotel could leave a set in your room as there are plenty of other people saying the same).

A real shame about the lodge as the food for dinner and breakfast were nice but we won't be returning to stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AdeySwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thankyou for your review we take all our reviews seriously and use the information to constantly improve our service.All guests should be aware of other guests in the lodge and to keep the noise at a reasonable level.The food was good the breakfast was good the drink was good.Unfortunately you can please some of the people some of the time but not all of the people all of the time.PS nothing was said on checkout so there,s no suprises there then.

All the very best

Ian & carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Short term profit over customer comfort in the "hotel", thank goodness that the pub/restaurant doesn't copy.
Room had thin walls, noisey plumbing, small TV and copied cheap parts of budget chain in providing liquid soap but no toiletries ("bars of soap too expensive"). Pub had great beer and great food

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Josephq17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnylassGloucester, Manager at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thankyou for your review (short term profit over comfort)We work tirelessly hard year on year all for the good of the customer.Recent visit Britain 4 star award for the 6th year running from the hotel inspector.We have supplied the dispensers in the shower units with high quality body wash as the customer will only use the amount required.We used to supply bars of soap but found that 98% of the bar had to be thrown away after use.The environment is important to us and we like to think we contribute. You did say your preference was a bar of soap and you also told me you had brought your own anyway so is there really any need to add this to your review.Small tv in the room the tv is of adequate size in relation to the room.Plumbing all brand new and new boiler fitted in January £6000.00 pounds.PS how many boutique toileteries could i have bought with that.

Kind regards

Ian & carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

My husband and I stayed here for a romantic weekend, such a quaint place, our rooms were lovely and clean, the bed was the comfiest I've ever slept on, including my own , I even asked the lady changing the beds where the mattress was from. All the buildings had so much character, a lot of thought and time has gone into this establishment. The two owners were extremely friendly and helpful.
We will definitely return, if only for a meal when passing through

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanW1123, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thankyou for your kind review it was very nice meeting you both and that you found all aspects of your stay enjoyable.Maybe we will see you again one day positive reviews always give us a lift knowing we are doing the right things is very important to us as a family business.

Kind regards

ian & carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews