We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely base for a 4 night break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Aylburton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Stayed at the Millington Lodge for a 4 night break to meet up with our Son and his family who were holidaying in the Forest of Dean

Stayed in room 4 on lower ground area first impressions out of the way but very quickly realized it was a lovely cosy unit

Very clean and fresh my only problem was the low bed but I soon got use to that

The location on the outskirts of the Forest was ideal for visiting local attractions and exploring the Forest .

We ate in the Restaurant with our family one night and thought it was the best meal we all had in the 5 day visit

My only problem I had was the breakfasts (whether the local guides were wrong) but we were told when ordering that any thing cooked was £10.95p per person this inc egg/bacon and toast the same price as a cooked full English even egg on toast
The only other place I have experienced this type of pricing was in Brewer Fayre units at Premier inns..which I now attempt to avoid ..as I can visit my son in Estepona for £20 low season .
*local guides say £6.95p cooked breakfasts

Trivial but important otherwise would have received a 5* Excellent ..Would I recommend Yes...Enjoy

Room Tip: Room 4 was ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dws1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thankyou for your kind review so pleased you enjoyed your stay.We recently changed our price structure of our breakfast for 6 years this was indeed £6.95.But unfortunately the lovely VAT man requires 20% of this before all other costs are taken into account.Chef,waitress cost of food gas electric etc.I hope this can explain as the pricing is more complex that it appears.The £10.95 does include the full range of cereal,fruit yoghurt, toast coffee, tea cooked meal etc.We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Ian & carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

Whilst on holiday in the area we did not know the best places to eat but after reading reviews decided to eat here. What a lovely place very friendly and welcoming. The menu is very varied and reasonably priced. The service was good and the food excellent. In fact it was so good we visited it again the next night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Enjoyed meeting you and you enjoyed your overall experience to visit agin the night after hope to meet you again one day.

Thankyou

Ian & carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

We have always been told the food was great especially the Sunday roast, so we phoned on the Saturday about 9pm as were told to book ahead, didn't hold out much hope but were lucky got a table for 7 of us at 12

The man said to come 10 minutes early as they needed the table by 1pm, I did worry as there were 7 of us

We arrived lovely little pub bit confused by the entrance then lead to our table never been before so was confused by the carvery system, didn't know if to just go up or wait to get plates asked the waitress she said I'll let you know when to go up.

After a 10 minute wait we were told to go up, choice of 3 meats lots of veg great food great atmosphere, while there we realised why we needed to eat quick it was very busy as one family left 2 others arrived cars constantly arriving. We sat outside it was very clean very idealic very reasonable prices and worth the panic to begin with.

Will definitely be going back next time I'll book a few days ahead as we were very lucky to be squeezed in.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Simmone P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Really pleased we could accomodate at the last minute.Sunday carveries generally are booked up by saturday evening.So its always best to book early we do have a lot of repeat customers.We hope to see you again just give me a shout when im carving the next time and introduce yourself.

All the best

Ian & carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights last weekend and found the room, pub, food and owners to be very good.

We had the small family room as it was the only room available as we decided to book the same day at short notice.

That said it was well equipped and had everything that we needed.

My only negatives and they are small is about Breakfast. Firstly the cooked English option includes an opportunity to help yourself to continental. That for me made it expensive as I didn't eat any of those options so I would have liked an additional option of just cooked in between the price of continental and full English, I didn't have one the second morning on this basis.

And another small one was I asked for well done eggs, they came runny, and were sent back, and came back runny again, just turned, not well done. Didn't wanna send back a 2nd time so didn't eat them.

They were very busy and these points did not affect our stay and how much we loved the place and would definitely visit again.

Thanks for a great stay and only small issues for your info to improve a great place.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lloyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thankyou for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay.Look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.We take all reviews as a way of consistently improving.

Kind regards

Ian & Carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We stayed here on the 14th and 15th July 2017, what a great place as soon as we arrived we felt at home, all the staff were very good, we had a ground floor room in the Lodge it was lovely plenty of room for us with our dog Ted, everything in the room is of good quality, very little sound from above, would ask for same room next time, the food is very very good breakfast and dinner was great on both days,we met our brother and his wife there who we had not seen for 4 years, so very emotional weekend, Sorry we did not to meet the owners Ian and Carol, so we will have to go back with the little present of Welsh Whiskey we took for them

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, it was fine very littlt noise from the traffic or people above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Cheers for a great review sorry we were away at the time would have been nice to have met you PS look forward to the whisky. All the very best.

Kind regards

Ian & carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylburton
10.2 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
790 reviews
7.7 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
687 reviews
1.4 km away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 2 in Lydbrook
390 reviews
17.3 km away
Blaisdon House B&B
Blaisdon House B&B
#1 of 1 in Blaisdon
101 reviews
9.6 km away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 11 in Coleford
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge

Address: High Street | Forest of Dean, Lydney GL15 6DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydney > Aylburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aylburton
Price Range: $123 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ian, Carole and the Team welcome you to The George Inn and Millingbrook Lodge which is ideally placed in the centre of Aylburton, a small village just one mile from Lydney, Gloucestershire. The Lodge offers 4 star Visit England hotel style accommodation all with en-suite facilities at great competitive rates. Situated in the heart of Aylburton village it is ideally located for tourists and business-persons alike with easy travel links to Cheltenham, Gloucester, Bristol, Chepstow & Cardiff. The George Inn boasts a selection of locally sourced Cask Marque Real Ales, Draught Beers, Lagers, Ciders and selection of wines & Spirits. The Landlord Ian and his team keep an impeccable cellar and continue to offer award winning service. The Millingbrook Restaurant offers a wide range of fresh food from Lighter Bites to Traditional Home Cooked Meals. The George Inn prides itself on great service, an imaginative menu and we are Forest Famous for our value for money. The restaurant is open all year round and our garden is available during the summer months for al fresco dining. Our food is locally sourced whenever possible, for example our Meat is sourced from Cowshill Farm and Fitzgerald's Butchers in Lydney and we use the Finest Butter from Netherend Dairy Farm. The Millingbrook Lodge offers 4 star Visit England hotel style accommodation all with en-suite facilities at great competitive rates. A choice of breakfasts are also available, from Continental up to Full English every morning in the Millingbrook Restaurant for all our Millingbrook Lodge guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing