We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Aylburton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

My partner and myself were attending my cousins wedding and she called the day before to see if we could check in early as the wedding was at 1.30pm. No problem we were told. We arrived at 12.30 the next day, given our key and told the room is ready. We went up to the room to find the bed hadn't been made, no towels and a Hoover in the middle of the floor. As we were running late we had a quick shower and dried ourselves with one of my clean t shirts. When we went to the bar to tell them the room wasn't ready out popped what I can only describe as a Basil Fawlty wannabe. He was so rude we just said ok to whatever he said. At the wedding reception the best man came up to me to tell me that the guy from The George had driven up to see me about our room. He gave us the honeymoon suite by mistake. I now had to drive back and collect the correct key. The following morning he came up to the car as we were leaving and gave us 2 miniature Preseco bottles. Really.........

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paul 'Cappsy' C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Yes you was checked into the wrong room, a silly mistake made by the lady behind the bar getting confused over rooms in the same name. Not acceptable but apologised profusely. Lets go to check-in. your wife was so rude and abrupt that the couple in the bar asked "do you have to put up with people talking to you like that all the time because that was really out of order!" So yes your room was ready (the right room) luckily as the room was vacated early as explained to your wife when she made the booking, if the room isn't used the night before yes no problem but if it has then we can't guarantee it will be ready for you, but you are more than welcome to leave any luggage. The shower, sorry but you can't check in, shower, and return to the bar in 5 minutes for a pint in the same clothes even I'm not that quick. Obviously the situation with the hoover and unmade bed is because you were given the wrong key, but why you didn't come over straight away is a mystery.
Shortly after you had left we realised the mistake with the keys. Two wedding guests arrived late and needed a taxi, unfortunately they couldn't get one so i gave them a lift to Lydney. I asked him if it wasn't any trouble if he could find you to explain the mix up and retrieve the key. You yourself came out and said "no problem" which would be expected as i am sure you wouldn't want to have the bridal room in error. We arranged for you to pick up your key when it was convenient for you.
The prosecco was a thank you for your understanding and being able to redeem the situation. Obviously we got it all wrong, just a shame you couldn't speak to us direct then we wouldn't have had to put our answer on trip advisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night recently. The pub and separate lodge are right in the village on the side of the road. There was a reasonable sized car park. We checked in inside the pub and found our room on the top floor of the lodge. The room was large with 3 beds: also a small flat screen TV and usual hostess tray. The en suite was a decent size but could have done with an update. We found the WiFi unusable as the signal just wasn't strong enough; an annoyance for people staying on business. We had a meal in the pub, our food was nicely cooked and presented in the pleasant restaurant - we had Lasagne and Pork Chops in Madeira respectively. We spent a comfortable night though found the room rather warm. We didn't experience any noise from the other rooms or the road. We were off early so didn't have breakfast. Overall, a decent overnight stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank thehippohaslanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thankyou for taking time to review your stay.The wiFi is free and we have 3 x business hubs 2 in the pub and 1 in the lodge. pleased you enjoyed the food and your overall stay hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Ian & carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as our friends were getting married and the wedding was at Cinderford and the party was nearby. Everyone really nice and friendly food amazing rooms lovley good parking a lovley place. Would definitely recommend and I cant wait to go again.


Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank louise f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thankyou for your review so glad you enjoyed your stay look forward to seeing you again.

kind regards

Ian & carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Although pretty and a great welcome, we could not stay here again. The walls are so thin, that when the lady in the next room was on the phone to her sister, we could hear them both! Such a shame as we had lovely visit to the pub and the room was beautiful.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tigerlillyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Stayed at the Millington Lodge for a 4 night break to meet up with our Son and his family who were holidaying in the Forest of Dean

Stayed in room 4 on lower ground area first impressions out of the way but very quickly realized it was a lovely cosy unit

Very clean and fresh my only problem was the low bed but I soon got use to that

The location on the outskirts of the Forest was ideal for visiting local attractions and exploring the Forest .

We ate in the Restaurant with our family one night and thought it was the best meal we all had in the 5 day visit

My only problem I had was the breakfasts (whether the local guides were wrong) but we were told when ordering that any thing cooked was £10.95p per person this inc egg/bacon and toast the same price as a cooked full English even egg on toast
The only other place I have experienced this type of pricing was in Brewer Fayre units at Premier inns..which I now attempt to avoid ..as I can visit my son in Estepona for £20 low season .
*local guides say £6.95p cooked breakfasts

Trivial but important otherwise would have received a 5* Excellent ..Would I recommend Yes...Enjoy

Room Tip: Room 4 was ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dws1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thankyou for your kind review so pleased you enjoyed your stay.We recently changed our price structure of our breakfast for 6 years this was indeed £6.95.But unfortunately the lovely VAT man requires 20% of this before all other costs are taken into account.Chef,waitress cost of food gas electric etc.I hope this can explain as the pricing is more complex that it appears.The £10.95 does include the full range of cereal,fruit yoghurt, toast coffee, tea cooked meal etc.We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Ian & carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylburton
10.2 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
785 reviews
7.7 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
685 reviews
1.4 km away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 11 in Coleford
75 reviews
13.4 km away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 2 in Lydbrook
387 reviews
17.3 km away
Blaisdon House B&B
Blaisdon House B&B
#1 of 1 in Blaisdon
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge

Address: High Street | Forest of Dean, Lydney GL15 6DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydney > Aylburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aylburton
Price Range: $122 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ian, Carole and the Team welcome you to The George Inn and Millingbrook Lodge which is ideally placed in the centre of Aylburton, a small village just one mile from Lydney, Gloucestershire. The Lodge offers 4 star Visit England hotel style accommodation all with en-suite facilities at great competitive rates. Situated in the heart of Aylburton village it is ideally located for tourists and business-persons alike with easy travel links to Cheltenham, Gloucester, Bristol, Chepstow & Cardiff. The George Inn boasts a selection of locally sourced Cask Marque Real Ales, Draught Beers, Lagers, Ciders and selection of wines & Spirits. The Landlord Ian and his team keep an impeccable cellar and continue to offer award winning service. The Millingbrook Restaurant offers a wide range of fresh food from Lighter Bites to Traditional Home Cooked Meals. The George Inn prides itself on great service, an imaginative menu and we are Forest Famous for our value for money. The restaurant is open all year round and our garden is available during the summer months for al fresco dining. Our food is locally sourced whenever possible, for example our Meat is sourced from Cowshill Farm and Fitzgerald's Butchers in Lydney and we use the Finest Butter from Netherend Dairy Farm. The Millingbrook Lodge offers 4 star Visit England hotel style accommodation all with en-suite facilities at great competitive rates. A choice of breakfasts are also available, from Continental up to Full English every morning in the Millingbrook Restaurant for all our Millingbrook Lodge guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing