We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible”
Review of The Railway Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thorpe On The Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Railway Inn
Newark
Level Contributor
263 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

In fairness, I can't comment on the food or the B&B, but we called in here on a cycle ride for refreshements and food. The beer was disgusting and even though the landlord agreed and pulled two more pints ... this was equally rank. The lack of empathy and acknowledgement that the beer was off meant that we just left our beer and put it down to experience. Obviously we didn't stay and order some food so they lost our business. If the bar experience is anything to go by, the recent reviews of the B&B and food corroborate that The Railway Inn is to be avoided.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    13
    6
    2
    9
See reviews for
19
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Where do I start. The whole place is in need of a serious clean. The bedroom needed decorating, the bed linen and towels were old and worn. The bedside mat was badly stained. I actually wanted to go home. The resteraunt carpet was filthy so bad that my feet stuck to the carpet. The upholstery on the chairs was also very dirty. By far the worst place I have ever stayed.
With a little elbow grease and outlay of new linen the place would just about be acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Quite simply one of the worst b&bs I have ever stayed at. The landlady looked very unkempt and not at all welcoming, the room was reasonable and fairly comfortable but the restaurant and the breakfast was awful. We went for breakfast twenty minutes after the time slot we were given and to our dismay nothing was ready. No tables laid, dirty tablecloths and chairs and the carpet covered with food stains. The cooked breakfast, when it finally arrived, was swimming in grease and my wife found a hair in hers which suspiciously looked like it could have come from the dog that popped in from time to time.
Will never go there again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennishorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2012

booked a table for 6 people for a birthday .When we arrived we was told by the most ignorant and rough looking of a pub owner that we had booked a table at18 45 and not at 19.45 and that we were late and the chef had gone home! Fact 1 we had definently booked for 19.45 fact 2,it's a friday night and theres no chef there on what should be the busiest night of the week,why?His attitude and manner was appalling the bar area was filthy and the pub was near enough emptyand no wonder.AVOID IT LIKE THE PLAGUE!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darwen lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The landlady was lovely she needed more help from her family . Breakfast was good

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoladickinson2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe On The Hill
1.9 km away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
2.9 km away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.8 km away
The Pride of Lincoln
The Pride of Lincoln
#2 of 2 in North Hykeham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Eagles Guest House
Eagles Guest House
#1 of 3 in North Hykeham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
4.7 km away
The Loudor
The Loudor
#2 of 3 in North Hykeham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.6 km away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#3 of 3 in North Hykeham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Property: The Railway Inn
Address: Station Road, Thorpe On The Hill LN6 9BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Thorpe On The Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe On The Hill
Price range (per night): $53 - $71
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Railway Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing