We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience... DO NOT BOOK!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Springwood Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Mediocre cottage. Claimed to be waterfront, but had to walk for about 10 minutes to get to the lake. The beach and lake were not swimmable due to plants. Scenery is not nearly as nice as the pictures from the website. To make things 10 times worse, my family was wrongfully charged for damages. When asked for proof of damages, they could not provide any. All in all, a horrible experience and will never return.

Room Tip: Do not book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jnaveent1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springwood Cott... R, Owner at Springwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

This review seems to have been precipitated by your family being charged the security deposit as a result of the condition of the cottage when your family checked out. It is my understanding that your family advised my staff how much you liked the resort .
Guests are expected to leave the cottages in the same condition as when they arrived at our resort. As a result of your family's behaviour in the cottage, other returning guests were inconvenienced. Their check-in time was delayed, as it took 6 hours to clean the cottage, paint the ceiling and repair broken items before it was in a condition to check in the next guests.
You stayed at one of our 3 cottages away from the main property. Many of our guests enjoy the privacy and tranquility of this particular spot. A private beach is within a 4 minute walk from your cottage. We offer another 2 private beaches on our main property, all of which are in pristine condition and plant-free.
The cottages layout map on our website can be viewed in advance of your booking to help ensure you select a cottage location and style that is best suited for your family.
Unfortunately, I didn't have the pleasure of meeting you in person during your stay, but I would like to see you return to our resort. Please contact me directly, as I would like to resolve the matter with the damage deposit and personally assist you in selecting a cottage that would best suit your family. I look forward to hearing from you to arrange for a return visit so that I can show you the beauty that Springwood Cottages has to offer your family for your vacation.
Best Regards
Cezar Spirala
Owner / Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017

We spent a week at Springwood this summer. The cabin itself was lovely, the beach was okay - some maintenance would have been nice. We didn't get the 'family treatment' that many others claim, and were never really acknowledged - perhaps this is reserved for return guests? I felt that there was very little to entertain guests. Sure there is a fishing derby (which you pay for, don't expect anything extra here!) and a sandcastle contest, but these aren't organized activities - you just go out and complete them on your own time. There were no activities such as volleyball, board games, outdoor games that I was aware of, and am used to having at other resorts. Video rentals, canoe/kayak, and WiFi are all ridiculously high priced. My biggest issue was that smoking is allowed on the beach. There were constantly multiple people smoking in a small beach area, it was quite hard to enjoy our time with the kids. Overall, if you are looking for a basic cabin with no extras, you would probably be happy at Springwood, I just really didn't see what other reviewers have seen here.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springwood Cott... R, Owner at Springwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback.
However, we are very disappointed to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay at Springwood. Our objective has been to offer a wide array of activities for our guests of all ages.
Many activities including our "Welcome HotDoG Roast", Monday at 6 movie night, free one hour lesson for a water sport and water safety are on our events calendar posted in our store and on our company website.
We also strive to provide all of the equipment essentials for groups to be able to enjoy other activities such as badminton, Beach Volleyball horseshoes and other lawn toy games.
Beach chairs, gazebos, hammocks and sand toys are provided for our guests' convenience and to increase their comfort level at our beach.
Thank you for making note of the beauty of our cottages. We do ask that our guests refrain from smoking in the cottages. Therefore, they will smoke outside. With respect to the beach, Mother Nature has had some influence on the high water levels which at times has impacted the beach and its Size
We are sorry to hear that you didn't receive the customer service that you had anticipated. But we would definitely like to have another opportunity to exceed this expectation. Please do not hesitate to contact us again. We value your opinion and business.
Best Regards
Cezar Spirala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Another great year! Our family travels every summer from Florida to reunite with family and our Springwood friends. This resort has something for everyone. The beach, cabins, dock and daily activities offer a true family atmosphere. Cezar & Jola kick off the week with a fantastic hot dog roast where you have the opportunity to meet your fellow vacationers. The owners do their best to make everyone feel welcome. We have rented multiple boats and Cezar has taken our children tubing. Ending the week with a community bonfire and award ceremony to celebrate the successful fishing derby is a perfect conclusion to a fun week!! You will not be disappointed!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

This was my 13th consecutive summer staying at Springwood cottages with my family and was by far the best one so far. I am 20 years old and my older siblings and the 15 other teenagers and young adults who rent cottages with their families for the same week as us still enjoy this resort as much, or even more than we did as kids. Each day we had volleyball tournaments going that even recruited some other guests, we went tubing and water skiing, and we even drove to a nearby baseball diamond to play soccer baseball. In the evenings we gathered in the screened-in gazebo on the beach and would play card games and eventually would sit by the beach bonfire. There is so much to do there regardless of your age which is what makes it such a perfect vacation spot. I am so happy to say that this resort has not lost it's spark throughout the years and is still more than suitable for young people.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

I was introduced to Springwood Cottages along with the wonderful owners Cezar and Jola by a friend a few years ago. We've been back every year since. This is still our favourite summer spot and we just got back from spending a week at our "summer home" cottage #3. The beach is the hot spot for the kids who spent the week catching frogs, swimming, dancing and of course FISHING! The lake is great for the little ones shallow enough for them to walk out to the trampoline and swim mats. Lots of fun activities are always planned for the week with our favourite being the fishing derby. I always ask the kids what their "peak" and their "pit" of their week was... the kids had a hard time finding the "pits" of the week. But had no problem listing their favourite moments. Thanks to Cezar and Jola we had a blast tubing, fishing with Mr. Jack Daniels, building sand castles and making memories for the years to come. We have started a family tradition by coming to Springwood every summer now for the past 4 years and I can guarantee that we will be coming back year after year after year. Great time as usual! We love it!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Springwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springwood Cottages

Address: 1018 Blue Heron Ridge Road | PO Box #59, Arden, Ontario K0H 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Arden
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Arden
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springwood Cottages, Is a four season cottage resort located in the picturesque Land O' Lakes region in southern Ontario on the southern most tip of the Canadian Shield. This affordable cottage resort is nestled beneath towering pines and situated along the shimmering shore of big, beautiful Kennebec Lake. This spectacular lake offers 19 miles of excellent fishing and boating as well as amazing views of rock formations and stunning sunsets. Springwood Cottages Resort offers: * two, three, four and five bedroom fully equipped cottages * private sandy beach * fishing, speed and pontoon boat rental * ATV or fishing guided tour * water skiing or tubing * sunset or speed boat tour ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing