We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning meal and excellent experience ”
Review of Auberge du Lac

Auberge du Lac
Reserve with OpenTable
Auberge du Lac is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Welwyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$51 - US$117
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: Rail: Welwyn Garden City
Description: Auberge du Lac, Hertfordshire's award-winning restaurant, is set in the magnificent parkland of the Brocket Hall Estate in Welwyn. A former Hunting Lodge dating back to 1760, Auberge du Lac sits proudly alongside the water's edge in its own peaceful environment, overlooking the splendour of the Estate. Timeless elegance will surround you, enabling you to relax and enjoy our fine wines and superb dishes. Under the expert guidance of Executive Chef Phil Thompson, Auberge du Lac, the Estate's former 18th Century Hunting Lodge, has gained a national reputation as one of the most interesting out-of-London restaurants in the country. With private dining for up to 62 guests, Auberge du Lac can also be the ideal wedding venue only 22 miles from London.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This is a must go, eaten in some of the best restaurants in London and this went above and beyond! We will be back! Thank you to the amazing waiters and chef for an exquisite meal and unique experience.

Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrocketHallEstate, Manager at Auberge du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Gemma, Thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Auberge du Lac experience and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Pedro Miramon - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018

I have been a regular customer of Auberge over the years and have seen a few chefs come and go, My wife and I had a lovely meal last Saturday and I felt the cooking was as good as it's ever been, Michelin star or not. Crab starter and suckling pig main were excellent, as were nibbles and amuse-bouche. Desserts were not quite on the same level but still enjoyable. My only carp would be the extortionate wine list - I struggled to find much below £100 per bottle. I have to say though that the Morgon worked well with the pork and was relatively affordable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrocketHallEstate, Manager at Auberge du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Steve, Thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Auberge du Lac experience and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Pedro Miramon - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

The last time we dinned at Auberge was 10 years ago and the food and service were good. Matt and his team have taken the restaurant to a different level. The food is out of this world and the service second to none. I couldn't fault any of the dishes on the tasting menu and it was a true gourmet experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrocketHallEstate, Manager at Auberge du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Nigel, Thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Auberge du Lac experience and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Pedro Miramon - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Our First visit to Auberge du lac.
What a beautiful quaint setting.
We tried the 5 course tasting menu - absolutely delicious!
My favourite course was the venison.
Will we go back- absolutely!

Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrocketHallEstate, Manager at Auberge du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Melissa, Thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Auberge du Lac experience and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Pedro Miramon - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Everything about our stay for the Auberge du lac experience was amazing and all the staff were so friendly and hepful. I have severe food allergies and the restaurant could not have been more helpful - I felt totally confident eating there and the taster menu was just amazing. Our room in Melbourne Lodge was lovely and the breakfast in the club house also lovely. A truly wonderful experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank karenjsch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrocketHallEstate, Manager at Auberge du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi Karen, Thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Auberge du Lac experience and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Pedro Miramon - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge du Lac also viewed

 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Auberge du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing