We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic decor - the place”
Review of Banyan Tree

Banyan Tree
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$55
Cuisines: Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Office Road
Description: Highlighted by a hand-crafted bar wrap-around bar allowing for an open concept with expansive views, the restaurant’s transformation pays homage to the history of banyan trees in Hawaii as a gathering place to meet and share a meal. Chef Bella’s vibrant new menu embraces that spirit and invites you on a journey to discover the roots of the land while incorporating the island’s most unique and sustainable ingredients. Classic Hawaiian recipes are deconstructed and redesigned with a local twist using Mediterranean cooking techniques to develop a menu that will enliven your senses through the ways of the islands.
Reviewed 14 May 2021 via mobile

Fantastic decor - the place was full of flowers. We dined next to a gorgeous large white orchid.

The food was not quite what I expected by a high class establishment.

The two ahi plates we tried were a disappointment. The tartare was simply thin slices of tuna with a few garnishes on the side. Salt, onions, and a couple more. Really? And the main ahi plate was not much better. More tuna slices like the ones in the tartare. Better overall presentation and taste, but why have two of the same? I expected more imagination.

The mushroom tartare was good. The vegan ginger curry ok but not spectacular.

The only exceptional plate was the steamed mahi-mahi, with two worth savoring garnishes.

Overall, an ok experience. If you stay at the ritz, try it. But not worth making the trip if you are not.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank George Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2021 via mobile

Yes, this is a hotel restaurant. Yes, it’s at a resort. But this was one of the best meals we had on Maui. It was pricey, an no kids menu, but I do recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2021 via mobile

We stayed at the Ritz and had dinner here and would highly recommend it! Our waiter (Ara) was fantastic and the food was absolutely delicious! Our favorite was the burrata salad and the black garlic glazed beef short ribs! Absolutely phenomenal!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank tinajooon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2021

This was the most memorable dinner of our trip. The setting was serene and beautiful. The food was elegantly presented and perfectly balanced. The service was outstanding.

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank Vessiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2021

Of all the beautiful outdoor patio tables situated under torches or near fire pits ... we were seated in the worst table in the house: indoors in a harshly lit corner... not the experience we were hoping for on our final night in Hawaii. The service was very good, informed and friendly. The food was unrefined, average, over - sauced. Maybe if you are staying at the Ritz Carlton you get priority seating (we were staying elsewhere)... but that doesn't explain the average food at a property of this reputation.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MKZ18323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banyan Tree also viewed

 

Been to Banyan Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.