We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place to Eat”
Review of Agriturismo Tholos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Tholos
Ranked #1 of 4 Roccamorice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We were brought to this location by our weekend tour guide, for an evening meal on a Friday. It was an unbelievable meal, and seemed endless. The food just kept coming, and more than we were able to eat: 1) assorted antipasti, 2) olive and rabbit bruschetta, 3) a pasta and bean soup, 4) grilled zucchini with a very tasty pesto, 5) pumpkin and farro side dish, 6) crepes with ricotta, 7) grilled lamb with a side of cucumbers with mint, 8) lamb liver, 9) torta dolci and espresso to finish. The wine was separate, and it was only 4 euros for a large pitcher. This is definitely a place to go if you want a farm to table dinner focused on the unique food of the region. You do not have to be staying at this place to eat here. There is absolutely no wireless phone signal for Internet, and no wifi, but who needs it for the few hours it takes to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank tgrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2016

My partner and I spent 3 nights at Agriturismo Tholos, which is located in a beautiful setting in the Apennine Mountains.
Gabrielle and Paola were wonderful hosts, making us feel like valued guests in their home. Gabrielle couldn't have been more generous in helping us to choose restaurants for our dinners (although the agriturismo itself provides meals that people from all over the area come to enjoy). David, who works at the agriturismo, was a delightful host during our breakfasts. It was a pleasure to spend time with him. Even Luisa, whom we met only briefly as we were the only guests during our few days there, was utterly charming.
On our last morning, during breakfast, Gabrielle brought the last figs from his fig tree in Pescara for us to enjoy. It's this kind of personal touch that made the experience of being at Agritursimo Tholos an absolute delight on every level.
Bravi a tutti!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

A very welcoming (and quiet) place where we felt immediatly at ease!
We stayed for 7 days, and could have stayed longer.
Delicious (and copious!) meals, eye for detail (fresh flowers on the table), very friendly and helpful family, a lot of information on the environment and things to do (with basic English, extremely basic Italian and the occasional sign language you come a very long way), perfect base for exploring the wonderful majella national park: hiking, swimming, visiting old hermitages, even rock climbing, very amusing pets.
Did we already say we could have stayed much longer?

Thank you Paola, Gabriele and the whole family.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay!

Eefje and Geert
(Belgium)

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

We have eaten here twice now and both times were out of this world. Almost all (if not every single one) of the items that are served are from their land. In addition to knowing you are eating fresh, local food - the flavor combinations they prepare are delicious. You get a very large quantity of food that is definitely worth the price paid. The prices are reasonable and are all inclusive of your meal except for dessert and wines. They have lots of local wines and can give you great suggestions. In addition to the amazing food, their location is inside the Majella Park which is a beautiful area. The service, food and location of this place is great!

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We loved out stay at Tholos! Accommodations were perfect for my wife, 2 daughters and I in this 2 bedroom cottage! The setting was rustic and beautiful, with sheep and chickens and bunnies and cats and dogs and mountains and a Tholos to enjoy! Our other favorite part of the area was the family who runs Tholos, all of whom were friendly and helpful...even we did not although we nor they understood everything that we were trying to communicate.

We loved the areas and hiking (Fara San Martino), sky lift and cave (Grotta Del Cavallone), the mountains and even a heard of cattle that we had to stop for and enjoy as they meandered down and across one of the roads we were driving on! Beautiful towns of Caramanico and Roccamoricce as well! And...only a couple of hours from Rome...if you follow directions a little better than we did!

The only negatives were the winding roads and difficult to follow road signs...but this is the case in a lot of areas of Italy. I am sure that google maps and GPS would help you get there more easily! Otherwise...very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoeyPinAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roccamorice
7.3 km away
Resort Regis
Resort Regis
#1 of 1 in Turrivalignani
212 reviews
38.4 km away
Agriturismo Le Prata
Agriturismo Le Prata
#3 of 11 in Scanno
170 reviews
2.4 km away
Agriturismo Il Portone
Agriturismo Il Portone
#1 of 4 in Abbateggio
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
La Reserve Hotel Terme Centro Benessere
La Reserve Hotel Terme Centro Be...
#1 of 9 in Caramanico Terme
531 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Tholos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Tholos

Address: Via Collarso 105 | Parco Majella, 65020 Roccamorice, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Pescara > Roccamorice
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Roccamorice
Price Range: $155 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at 700 meters above sea level surrounded by the green of the Majella National Park , also known as the " Tibet of Italy." Tholos is the name we have chosen for the farm in honor of the authentic specimen that greets us on arrival. Stone by hand , great blunders , " Lammie " barrel , and then again the round arches , niches ... Are the frame of the two restored houses , leaving intact the characteristics of time that was ... Impressive three dining rooms, a spacious porch and six rooms are the result . Our farm is a family organic and stretches over 10 hectares, cultivated mainly in wheat, spelled Solina , lentils , chickpeas, with an orchard of ancient indigenous varieties . We raise goats and sheep, from which we obtain excellent dairy products. On the farm we sell spelled pasta , pasta wheat Solina , spelled flour , flour Solina , Solina cakes , spelled beans , barley porridge , cream cheese , goat cheese and ricotta cheeses , breads, jams and preserves. Particular care ingredients and a great passion for cooking are the pride of the farm. The pastas are homemade with flour ancient : sagne , ropes chiochie , the taccozze , the ravioli , the guitar , the pasta , crepes with ricotta and mushrooms. Among the meat lamb, sheep , kid , the black pig , rabbit, chicken. The cheeses are never lacking , the result of all the work on the farm. You can find fresh and aged pecorino cheese , the ricotta cheese made ​​with goat's milk , curd , cream cheese , cottage cheese, or to taste while still hot with sugar and cinnamon. Herbs such as borage , cacigni , Matroni , orapi , chicory mixed acacia flowers and rose petals, enrich the table . Among the desserts the Parrozzo , the nevole made ​​with the distinctive hand-forged iron , jam tarts with the company , the sweet fruit . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Tholos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing