We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class”
Review of Spilman Hotel - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spilman Hotel
Price range: US$20 - US$33
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Superb rump steaks, I would have given a score higher than 5 if this was possible. I'd be surprised if there is a steak anywhere in Carmarthen better than the Spilman Hotel.

Rump Steak was £12.50, considering this is a genuine restaurant rather than pub that serves food, also great value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BenCymru78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spilmanhotel, Manager at Spilman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thanks for your great review, im glad you had such a nice meal.

Notice: We are now no longer serving food in the evening and have requested this restaurant listing to be removed, unfortunately tripadvisor denied this request. Sorry for any inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

Went for a Birthday Meal with my Wife.Unfortunately we did not enjoy our visit as much as previous times.The decor and ambiance was fine .We were called into the restaurant after ordering just a main course after 40 minutes which seemed an overly long wait as there was only one other person eating.We sat down with no bread or water offered prior to the meal arriving.The menu was quite sparse without any specials board as we were previously offered.All in all we were quite disappointed compared to previous visits.

Thank Steviewonder E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

this hotel is very nice,our scottish relatives stay there when they visit us here in wales.the staff are very helpful.The food is wonderful.Also it walking distance to the shops.

1  Thank LAURA C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spilmanhotel, Manager at Spilman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Restaurant closed, Tripadvisor please delete restaurant listing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Visited on 14/02/13 our yearly sojourn to the SPILMAN HOTEL was slightly disappointed as this year no specific menu catering for Valentines night and the food not as good.
However the food & wine were still the best value & quality to be found in CARMARTHEN and the staff/service was spot on will continue to visit and dine here :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JOHNJINX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Recently had a wonderdful celebratory Sunday lunch with Family & FriendsI. Due to the lovely friendly ambiance & attentive staff ,Our party of 20 had a lovely taste local produced mea,l which was delicious & excellent value for money. The Spillman team on the day where great & made our day very special. Will return again & again....Thanks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shazgwill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spilman Hotel also viewed

Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing