We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
181
72
20
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
181
72
20
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room afternoon tea sunday carvery wholesome food pepper sauce hotel today mixed grill on arrival ulster fry friendly hotel peas roast beef feel very welcome piping hot saturday night chair covers turkey dinner
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here on business and was a bit underwhelmed....Hotel room was nice and clean and a good hot shower...that said the carpets on the stairs to the rooms are really dirty, reception staff very cool and bathroom / room tiled floor so slippy I fell. Asked for a fan and after 45 min wait a dirty / dusty fan was sent - sent it back to be cleaned. Could be a nice place but think the hotel needs to look at overall standards...would not stay again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Woolpackcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Woolpackcottage,

Thank you for leaving feedback following your stay. We are very disappointed that you did not fully enjoy all aspects of your experience at The Royal Hotel. We are currently undergoing an extensive renovation programme throughout the hotel with many areas recently completed. Indeed, we're glad to see that you were satisfied with your newly refurbished bedroom. We do plan to continue improvements, including the staircase carpet, in the near future.

We are sorry to see that you slipped in the bathroom. We do recommend that guests use the floor mat provided to ensure that such accidents do not occur. We can only apologise for the delay in providing you with a fan and that it was dusty when it arrived and we will ensure that this is not an issue for our guests going forward. We do hope that you will return again and allow us the opportunity to provide the quality of experience that you expect.

Best wishes,

The Royal Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Just had enough of the the mis steak sandwich; couldn’t finish it....you can’t have the sauce separately and now I know why....it’s covers all the fat on the steak! This was simply rubbish and the pepper sauce was disgusting. AVOID

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Paul,

Thank you for your review. We are surprised and disappointed to see that you didn’t enjoy your meal. Our steak sandwich is indeed quite a substantial portion so it is not unusual that you were unable to finish it. The dish cannot be served with the sauce separate as the steak is cooked in the sauce, which is clearly stated on the menu. We do, however, have a variety of steaks on our extensive menu which can be served with sauce separate- perhaps one of these dishes would have suited you better. We are at a loss with regards to your comments about our peppered sauce, as it is one of our most popular items and freshly made on site. Please accept our apologies that it was not to your taste. As you will see from our previous reviews, the vast majority of our guests are delighted with the food and service that they receive. We hope you will return again and give us another chance to provide the dining experience that you expect.

Kind regards,

The Royal Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Location is great and the staff very helpful. Our room was two rooms in one very well laid out. Both rooms had TV, Kettle, Tea/Coffee etc Hairdryer and was very comfortable, Suited our needs well.........

Room Tip: If there are 3 or 4 then room 12 is great 2 singles and a double with a door to close for privacy
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peacehaven50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear peacehaven50,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your stay. We're delighted to see that you were pleased with so many aspects of your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Best wishes,

The Royal Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Don't usually write reviews butI ate here yesterday with my family we opted for Sunday carvery in the Lounge area. We had turkey and ham as roast beef seemed to be just crumbs/scraps left same with what looked like lamb(this was at 1pm) anyway it tasted ok.
Desserts table was a lot to be desired for a hotel it was by no means homemade desserts again was all slapped through very untidy with a dish of cream beginning to turn yellow from sitting out to long. We had lemon meringue pie it tasted disgusting and we were unable to eat it. I spoke to staff about over priced kids carvery and they were anything but friendly about it all in all a very disappointing experience I don't mind paying for good food but will not be back here!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank peterdavidson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Dear Mr Davidson,

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate all feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve and enhance customer satisfaction. We are very sorry to see that you were displeased with your experience at the Carvery on Sunday. As you can see from our reviews, the overwhelming majority of our customers are delighted with what we provide. Our 2 Course Carvery in the Lounge is always a popular option for those who cannot quite manage the full 5 Course and we have a full range of meats served throughout our sittings. Indeed we served several dozen more customers after yourselves during our carvery on Sunday and I can assure you that there was plenty of beef and lamb for everyone who wanted it.

The vast majority of our desserts are homemade, including Pavlova, Banoffee, Cheesecakes, Apple Tart, Rhubarb Tart and Lemon Meringue to name a few. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the Lemon Meringue and we only wish we had the opportunity to rectify any shortcomings at the time. We apologise if the table was a little untidy, as can sometimes happen with customers helping themselves. However staff do frequently check to ensure that desserts are replenished and that the area is well presented.

With regards to pricing of Kid’s meals – for those not wishing to purchase a Carvery option for their children, we do offer a comprehensive Kid’s menu with various meal choices. Again, we are sorry that we fell short of your expectations on this occasion and we hope you will return and give us a second chance.

Best wishes,

The Royal Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Called in to the Royal hotel in Cookstown for a meal and it was absolutely gorgeous There's a menu for 2 courses or the restaurant menu both of which have a great selection of meals I had the chicken with stuffing gravy peas and half chips half salad Really tasty We love calling in The staff are lovely and very helpful Good place

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear DB,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We're delighted to see that you enjoyed your meal and we really appreciate your kind comments about our staff. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again very soon.

Best wishes,

The Royal Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews