We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Loughshore Hotel(Carrickfergus)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leafield House(Carrickfergus)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$254
US$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rayanne House(Holywood)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$158
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
152
98
32
18
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
98
32
18
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteakhaunted roomresident ghostlots of charactercarrickfergus castlebottle of winegreat atmospherebit datedcooked to perfectionbrick wallan overnight staybar restaurantevening mealstayed here for nightsnorthern irelandulster fryedith
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Stayed for just a night but it could have been like i was there full time.

Checkin was so easy and an 800 year old Inn was mine for the night.

Staff could not have been better suited to an Inn like this.

The food from the excellent and huge starters of ribs to my perfect steaks, and in the morning an Ulster fry !!!( not for the faint hearted lol)

There was a tiny issue with some rowdy guests that evening, however once again the night staff sorted it out very professionally.

Yes I will be staying again, and for just 12 miles or so into Belfast or great access to the Motorway network perfect.

See you soon


Spencer

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SpencerNegus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, General Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Spencer,

Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely comments. I am sorry in the delay in responding to you. We take great pride in a good team spirit and all love what we do, delighted you enjoyed your short time with us. Thank you for your understanding on the evening of your stay and hopefully we will see you again.

Kind regards
Kirsty Fallis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We have stayed in dobbins several times now, love the old world charm of the building and history that comes with it, including Maud the ghost and her lover Buttoncap! The food in hotel is excellent with special steak deal offers per couple inc bottle of wine. The cooked breakfast made to order is also very good.
The staff are friendly and you are made to feel very welcome, we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ladydiceCoArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, Owner at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Your comments are lovely and I am delighted that you enjoy coming to stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. It is great to be able to show the team that their hard work pays off.

Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We have been in a few times recently for the steak special. This is a great offer, two steaks with all the trimming, a bottle of wine and starters all for only £30, I can honestly say the steaks have been amazing, the restaurant has been busy each time, it's also a friendly place to dine in

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rayBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, General Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Hi there,
Delighted to read your comments. It would seem we are doing the right thing, as this offer has been a very popular option for people.
I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team
Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Utterly delightful meal.

We had the 2 person steak special which was cooked to perfection (medium) along with garlic bites and salad with coleslaw.

The red wine was very warmly received and complimented the steak really well.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, General Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive comment. It is much appreciated. Our steak deal offer has been running for a number of years now and proves very popular. Hope to see you back again. Kind regards
Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

The Dobbins Inn is a lovely spot to stay in Carrickfergus. It is just a block from the harbor and the best Anglo-Norman Castle in Northern Ireland. The rooms are quiet and comfortable - breakfast is included - and the dining room has a nice menu with good food at a fair price. We enjoyed everything about it.

Room Tip: Upper floor is quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lsutherland99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews