We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Edenvale House(Newtownards)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
97
95
37
27
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
95
37
27
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall tvpleasant receptionistsmall hotelcurrypiping hotroom was clean and comfortablescampipavlovahotel barvery pleasant staylovely mealstayed here for one nightnear futuretomato breadwell worth a visityogurtdarren
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 288 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
51
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Our works Christmas party was booked here for last year. What can I say, GREAT FOOD, staff and music. We have been back on several occasions and have not been disappointed each time we have been and the steak night is excellent value

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

We went to le winters bar within the Strangford arms on Friday evening 16th February as a group of 6.
Throughout the evening as we sat around a table near the fire with staff passing us numerous times we only had our table cleared of glasses once after it had been pointed out to them to do so.
We where not made to feel welcome by any of the staff from the bar or floor even though between us we would have spent close to £200.
Unfortunately this is not the first time that this has happened but we did decide to give it another chance after some months hoping for a positive change but again we have been left very disappointed.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Headed down to our favourite for an early dinner today as we had been given vouchers by Darren last week, buy one main and get one free deal at the minute until the 5th March. Excellent deal for a Monday from 12 to 6 food was Excellent as usual, as were the staff especially Darren again! Never lets us down with his manner and craic. dinner came out in No time and was piping hot. Always a gr8 atmosphere and very welcoming even for a quiet early Monday evening. Can't say enough about the place and luv going there as always made so welcome. Thanx again for a gr8 experience as usual

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

From the pleasant receptionist who greeted us on arrival to the waitress at dinner and the breakfast staff our experience in the hotel was fantastic even the housekeeping staff had a smile.

Breakfast was a pleasant surprise-you don’t expect much when its complementary but a full cooked and you can help your self to juices,Yogurt,toast, cereals
Well done Strangford arms!!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank patrica101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Have been going to this hotel for about four years love the food and value for money rooms! Only downside is £150 pre auth on debit card not available in account again for ten days this is pretty steep and staff member in reception did not explain correctly!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jodowds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
092GM, Manager at Strangford Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay in the hotel.
I am sorry to hear that your bank has not released your Pre Auth back into your account. On arrival we Pre Auth all cards for payment, on Departure we complete this Pre Auth using the authorisation code given to us on check in, so the bank system is aware this is only one transaction. Your bank should automatically reconcile your Pre Auth and Completion.
I regret your bank have not done this and I would advise you to contact them to get this rectified.
Again thank you for using the Strangford Arms Hotel and we wish you an amazing 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews