We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
33
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

It has been over a year since we stayed at Alisa House so we were looking forward to returning there.We stayed for three nights and it was just as good as we remembered.Francoise,the owner, was as attentive as ever.
The rooms are comfortable and the hospitality tray is well stocked and includes bottles of water.There is plenty of choice for breakfast,cereal,fruit,yoghurt,toast and,of course,freshly prepared English breakfast.
As the weather was good,we walked to and from Bradford on Avon. The walk from Alisa house takes about 10 minutes and is quite a pleasant stroll.
There are plenty of good plenty of good places to eat in Bradford on Avon.We enjoyed visiting The Teapot during day and having their version of Club sandwich. For the evening meals, we visited The Dandy Lion and Barge Inn which were as good as we remembered. On our third night,we visited The Bear Inn which was recommended by Francoise.They specialise in home made pies which are accompanied by mash and seasonal vegetables. My husband had The Somerset Chicken Pie and I had Pulled Pork Pie,both were excellent.There are two sizes of pie,large or junior. The "junior"pie was more than ample to satisfy our appetites with amount of vegetables and mash that accompanied the pies.Our only gripe is that we could done with a bit more gravy. We will certainly return to The Bear Inn to sample some of their other pies.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Yes, the glowing reviews posted by other guests at this excellent b&b are fully justified! We stayed there five days in October and found it an ideal base for exploring Bradford on Avon (walkable) and also the surrounding area. Our stay was made all the more pleasant by the charming owner, Francoise, who prepares probably the best scrambled eggs on toast in the world! Her advice on interesting places to visit, such as the walk to Avon Cliff, and on good places to eat, proved very useful. would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Roy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

A beautiful home and room. A quiet location. Very comfortable with delicious breakfasts. Francoise is friendly and kind. We appreciated her helpfulness in drying our shoes after having been caught in a torrential downpour. A memorable stay. (After 12 weeks in the UK, much to tackle at home. Sorry for the delayed review.)

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EE-squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We where welcome by Francoise, the owner, very welcoming, we stayed 2 nights, the breakfast was very nice,
Her home is very nice, lovely gardens, nice and quite, very relaxing.
The centre Bradford-on-Avon is such a beautiful place, we caught the train to Bath, a lovey train trip,.
Shops are also very nice and interesting.

Room Tip: All rooms would be lovely
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 509allysonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015

Just spent two nights at Alisa House and can thoroughly recommend it. Ideally located within easy walking distance of centre of Bradford on Avon, with its great shops and restaurants. Also ideal for catching the train to Bath and other nearby towns.
Francoise was an excellent 'host', giving lots of useful advice on places to go, restaurants etc. The room was beautifully appointed, and all the little extra thoughtful touches were much appreciated. The breakfast (English or French) was excellent. Cannot recommend this highly enough. Hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Either of the two rooms would be equally as good.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 634JudyH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews