We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing barn”

Review of Leigh Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wardl54
Southampton
2 reviews
“Amazing barn”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed here with 9 of my friends to celebrate my 40th birthday and I couldn't fault it. The barn was absolutely stunning and the location is good. Sue the owner was lovely and always on hand if we needed her, there was also a delicious cake there for us on our arrival.
I would definitely stay here again. The mattresses were so comfy and luxurious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy mattress and the barn in general
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
Fabulous. Thank you so much. Pleased to hear you had a wonderful time at Leigh Barn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigD4664
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A mixed bag. Lovely house, but watch out for the extra charges!”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Firstly, this is an outstandingly lovely and comfortable place to stay. The space is beautiful, the wood burning stove kept it warm and cozy, the bedrooms were spacious, the showers were good. On top of that, what a fantastic barn to use too, with table-tennis table, table football, exercise machines AND a sauna. I would happily have moved in permanently.

Full disclosure - we were there for a stag weekend, which I'm sure is always a bit of a worry for any home owner. However, we're generally a lovely bunch of guys and our wives / girlfriends were very much referring to this as a hen weekend!

Over the weekend, one guy was sick in a bedroom and this was cleared up, carpet cleaner used on the floor etc. We also missed a wine stain on a wall in the barn. The rest of the house was spotless though, which isn't a surprise given that three of our group are the most OCD people I have ever met. It's very much a matter of pride for them to leave any house as tidy as it was when we arrived. We had to drag one of them out of the house eventually, as he was giving the counters yet another wipe.

We were a little surprised that the owner said that the floor that someone had been sick on needed a clean, but had no complaints with that or needing to deal with a wine stain on a wall.

However, a number of other claims were made that, frankly, can only be viewed as an attempt to extort extra revenue from a large group of guys having stayed.

- Most ridiculously, the owner tried to charge us for damaging two pans. We had used these pans to cook on the gas hob in the kitchen. They were cleaned by one of our OCD friends afterwards. She claimed the bottoms of the pans had been damaged by us using them and needed to be replaced. I have no doubt they were left in exactly the same condition they were in when we arrived and any discolouration of the bottom of the pans has been from frequent use on the gas hob in the kitchen.

- Just as ridiculously, we are supposed to have removed some screws from a cross-training machine in the barn. How or why we are supposed to have done this is a total mystery but we have been charged for the repair of the machine.

- A number of pairs of slippers were in a basket by the stairs. Some of the group used these and are accused of having taken them when we left. Nobody did, which is rather hard to prove. I suspect slippers were probably left in bathrooms, or under beds, rather than being replaced in the basket.

- We stand accused of having taken boxing equipment. Nobody did, and our stag clearly remembers putting the equipment back in its place himself. Again, we have been charged for replacements.

- The owner claimed we were such a badly behaved group that she twice had to come into the house to clear up after us while we were out. She must have been incredibly camouflaged, because the whole group was only out of the house once all weekend and the house was spotless when we did. It also seems rather odd that she would enter a leased property while we were out anyway.

It all leaves rather a bad taste in the mouth when you feel that someone has decided to try to extract money they are not really owed, particularly when they are so obviously taking the piss.

In summary, go and stay at Leigh Barn - it's lovely - but be very careful of hidden extra charges that may come your way. I would recommend taking the same approach as you would do with a hire car. Walk around the property with the owner when you arrive and check that equipment is there and in working order, and that you know what state all kitchen items are in. From our experience, I would suggest taking photographs. Lots of them. When you leave, do the same and walk around with the owner and ask them to point out anything they are not satisfied with.

When we were staying here, I would have recommended this place to any of my friends or family looking for somewhere to stay in the area. Now, I wouldn't recommend it anyone I know.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The property
Liked least: The exploitative owner
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
Sorry to read your testimonial. I have managed this property for a few years now and can honestly count on one hand how many times we have ever had to use some of a guest’s deposit. Your case was exceptional. I appreciate Guests have different interpretations of how a property is left or how things could get damaged. The Owner did mention she walked past the games room and saw one of the guys, dressed in a long wig and bra, hammering away at the cross trainer so this is perhaps the reason it got broken. We certainly want all our guests to have an amazing time and all of the testimonial on the Bath Holiday Rentals website will support that they do. We just ask that the property is respected.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny R
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect family holiday home from home”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent base for exploring Bath and surrounding area's. Lots to see and do definitely recommend Longleat Safari.
We were made very welcome and the cream tea on arrival was a lovely touch.
The accommodation was superb and to a very high standard offering everything and more that we needed.
As a large family with children to entertain we particularly enjoyed the large outside space for ball games.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space available inside and out
Liked least: Weather on last day!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris458
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous venue for a get-together!”
Reviewed 7 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Two night stay at the Barn celebrating my 50th. Fabulous venue, beautifully decorated, warm and probably the most comfortable beds we had ever slept in! Great place for a
holiday, family and friend get-together or just about anything else. Champagne left in the
fridge....what more could you ask for!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, beds and decor
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing