We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
274
100
27
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
274
100
27
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury room sunday roast granola saturday night scallops steak large shower wine list high standard family room fantastic food pudding waiting staff main course fish and chips lovely breakfast lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017

We stayed here for a night on route to Bath and couldn’t fault it. We arrived mid afternoon and had a lovely lunch in the bar before moving to couches in a room at the front and sharing a lovely bottle of bubbles. We also ended up eating dinner and can absolutely recommend the steak.

The room was lovely, very spacious and comfortable. For me it is important to have nice bathroom products and big fluffy towels, both of which this room delivered. Staff were lovely and so friendly and the service we received was very good.

Breakfast the next morning was a definite highlight, I had smash avocado with goats curd and poached eggs on gluten free bread - a perfect end to a great stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Suemas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Very pleasant evening at the Metheun. The kitchen is producing some very tasty food and all the staff are friendly and obliging. Not excellent because the waiting staff could do with a little more training. The kitchen output is hitting the higher end of the local standards (very well cooked fresh food) whereas the waiting staff for example when serving tend to lean across the table rather than walk round behind each customer, which is a little disappointing. However definitely would return as it’s already better than most other establishments in the area.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mikeelstonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Visited for lunch with family, 2 of us gluten free and just wanted a sandwich but didn’t hold out much hope as it’s usually really hard to find anywhere that has 1. Gluten free bread and 2. If they have got it, it’s disgusting!! So how pleased were we to be told yes they did indeed have gluten free bread and could provide all the sandwiches on the menu with said bread! Fabulous, we both had the chicken, bacon and Brie with cranberry (I think that is the right description) they were fabulous, great quality ingredients, really tasty and fresh. The bread was great, well as good as it gets with gluten free sliced. Unless you are gluten free you won’t appreciate the simple pleasures of finding a sandwich that you can eat without making it yourself. To top it all they also had the most unbelievable Rice Pudding we have ever had, I kid you not!! In fact if we hadn’t already been stuffed we would have ordered it twice, worth a visit just for the pudding alone!! Highly recommended, the rest of the menu looked equally as good.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank DollyD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Large, well appointed guest rooms and friendly staff are the strong points. The food - breakfast, lunch and dinner - has always been consistently good, and the newly refurbished dining room only helps to build on this. But there are some annoyances, especially the car park where it can be impossible to get a parking space even if you are a guest. The family room we stayed in did not have a bath, which was strange for such a large room. And the double bed was situated under a very draughty window which we had to plug with spare cushions. Still, all things considered, this place is well worth considering if you are staying a couple of nights in Corsham.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zigett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We went as a group of five. We were met and welcomed and shown to our table by a young man who made us feel welcomed and special. The building, the decoration, the layout where you can if you want see your food being cooked in the kitchen and the garden are all fantastic. We were offered a pre-drink, but clearly the waitress had no idea what my husband was talking about when he asked if they had a Ricard or if not a Pernod. That we could forgive as it is not a common drink and everyone has to learn. We then ordered our starters, main courses and a bottle of wine. The waitress came back with the wrong bottle. My husband pointed out her mistake and told her the name of the one we had ordered. She went away and brought us back the wine list. My husband told her again which one we wanted, but she wanted him to show her on the list which one we wanted. She took the wine list with her thumb against the one we wanted rather than writing it down. The food was "out of this world" easily Michelin star. Each plate looked and tasted like a work of art. None of us could praise it enough. The Methuen Arms Hotel does have a wonderful chef!! Between the time that we ordered and when our food arrived, it would have been lovely if the waitress could have reminded us of all the elements on the plate. When we asked, she said she wasn't sure, but could bring us menu if we liked. To save her feelings we said it didn't matter and really it didn't. However, if a restaurant is SO good, it is a shame that the service is letting down the rest of the establishment.

We didn't stay overnight, but from the look of the restaurant, bar and garden, I would gladly go back another time and stay when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canneb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews