We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“change of owner and notable change of service (sadly)”
Review of Methuen Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Methuen Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Before February 2017, The Methuen Arms was a truly wonderful place to stay. The food was fantastic. The owners was delightful, and the service was excellent.

We stayed in November 2017, six months after a change of hands and management, and sadly there was a notable decline in the quality we had previously enjoyed.

Many of the reviews here relate to the previous period when this was undoubtedly a wonderful place to stay, but sadly, based on our recent experience it seems to have gone downhill rather rapidly, under new management.

We had multiple smaller problems throughout our stay, none of which were worth noting here, in themselves, but which collectively pointed to a marked decline (systems not working, normally-expected things not available, obvious issues with basic maintenance; all fixable and, indeed, fixed for us, but too many for pure coincidence).

What is worth noting in more detail in this review, because it was the most disappointing aspect of all, was that the food, although undoubtedly nice when originally prepared, was barely mediocre by the time it reached our table. We had to wait 45 mints and it had very clearly been reheated in the meantime, and, as a result was barely adequate.

This is particularly disappointing considering this was such a wonderful place to eat in the the past.

The decor in the rooms and the quality of bathroom fittings remains excellent and the bedding and general level of comfort was good. However, under this new management with such glaring evidence of a slipshod approach compared to the previous management, I can well imagine that this will decline from its current relatively high quality.

Room Tip: if you liked it before February 2017, beware: it changed hands
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ma202_136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017

We stayed here for a night on route to Bath and couldn’t fault it. We arrived mid afternoon and had a lovely lunch in the bar before moving to couches in a room at the front and sharing a lovely bottle of bubbles. We also ended up eating dinner and can absolutely recommend the steak.

The room was lovely, very spacious and comfortable. For me it is important to have nice bathroom products and big fluffy towels, both of which this room delivered. Staff were lovely and so friendly and the service we received was very good.

Breakfast the next morning was a definite highlight, I had smash avocado with goats curd and poached eggs on gluten free bread - a perfect end to a great stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Suemas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Very pleasant evening at the Metheun. The kitchen is producing some very tasty food and all the staff are friendly and obliging. Not excellent because the waiting staff could do with a little more training. The kitchen output is hitting the higher end of the local standards (very well cooked fresh food) whereas the waiting staff for example when serving tend to lean across the table rather than walk round behind each customer, which is a little disappointing. However definitely would return as it’s already better than most other establishments in the area.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mikeelstonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Visited for lunch with family, 2 of us gluten free and just wanted a sandwich but didn’t hold out much hope as it’s usually really hard to find anywhere that has 1. Gluten free bread and 2. If they have got it, it’s disgusting!! So how pleased were we to be told yes they did indeed have gluten free bread and could provide all the sandwiches on the menu with said bread! Fabulous, we both had the chicken, bacon and Brie with cranberry (I think that is the right description) they were fabulous, great quality ingredients, really tasty and fresh. The bread was great, well as good as it gets with gluten free sliced. Unless you are gluten free you won’t appreciate the simple pleasures of finding a sandwich that you can eat without making it yourself. To top it all they also had the most unbelievable Rice Pudding we have ever had, I kid you not!! In fact if we hadn’t already been stuffed we would have ordered it twice, worth a visit just for the pudding alone!! Highly recommended, the rest of the menu looked equally as good.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank DollyD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Large, well appointed guest rooms and friendly staff are the strong points. The food - breakfast, lunch and dinner - has always been consistently good, and the newly refurbished dining room only helps to build on this. But there are some annoyances, especially the car park where it can be impossible to get a parking space even if you are a guest. The family room we stayed in did not have a bath, which was strange for such a large room. And the double bed was situated under a very draughty window which we had to plug with spare cushions. Still, all things considered, this place is well worth considering if you are staying a couple of nights in Corsham.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zigett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1.6 km away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
632 reviews
5.6 km away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
771 reviews
2.9 km away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 5 in Melksham
57 reviews
7.7 km away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
5.8 km away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methuen Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methuen Arms Hotel

Address: 2 High St, Corsham SN13 0HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range: S$156 - S$278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Methuen Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Methuen Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methuen Arms Corsham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing