We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“17th fef”
Review of Cocina Restaurant

Cocina Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 377 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$78
Cuisines: Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Food good, restaurant noisy, off putting when the menu said minimum spend of £25 per person on a Saturday, we normally spend on a meal anything up to £120, the meal cost us £117, which is not a problem, you really do not want to be told what you have to spend, After the meal went downstairs to the bar, sat in a booth there was empty glasses and an empty wine bottle on the table, a waiter run over and said you cant sit there it is reserved, very rude, we found another table finished our drinks call a taxi and left

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Juliette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D, Manager at Cocina Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Dear Juliette D

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience at Casa. The minimum spend only applies on a Saturday evening and the policy was introduced as a result of some diners ordering tapas and side orders and monopolising a table for the duration of the evening, whilst we want people to relax and not feel rushed, our business would not sustain this low average spend. As such we took the decision to introduce the minimum spend that you mention in your review. I have spoken to the team in Barca Bar, I can assure you the waiter did not mean to be rude, he was hurrying to inform you the that the table you chose was already occupied.

Kind Regards
Cara Spence
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2018

Having stayed in Chesterfield with work for the last 5 months I have had plenty of opportunity to try different restaurants in the area, nothing comes anywhere close to Cocina.
The food is excellent and beautifully presented worthy of the rosette rating it gets, as well as the superb food it is the staff that makes this restaurant special.
Efficiently run by friendly managers (Cara, Christina and Jenna) and the chefs as well as being very talented are very personable, nothing is too much trouble at the atmosphere in the restaurant is friendly yet intimate, every member of waiting staff are professional yet can judge when a customer wants to chat. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D, Manager at Cocina Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Darren C

Thank you for leaving us a 5 star review. The team will be so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cocina in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cara Spence
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

My wife and I had been in the area house hunting..we travelled up from the South coast so after a 400 mile trip during the day . We decided to stay overnight in the local area...so we went to the Premier Inn and like Joseph and Mary we asked if there was any room at the inn.....The receptionist sadly said there were no rooms and as there was no stable either we left to try the Casa Hotel across the road....We approached the reception and was greeted by a very friendly lady called Cara who advised us that there were rooms available and were given a price which included breakfast and dinner. This was a difference of £40 extra than the Premier Inn....We were also asked if we would like to book dinner at the restaurant. We said we would and we’re booked in for 21:00... the restaurant was fully booked so hence the late reservation. We checked in and were very pleased with our room....Modern and roomy ....big Super king size bed.....with a really comfortable Hypnos mattress..At 21:00 we went to the restaurant and was greeted by a young lady who sat us in an area where a large crowd were sitting. It was very noisy so we asked if we could move to a quieter part of the restaurant. A member of staff called Jenna spoke to us and could not have been more helpful after we explained that my wife has a disability which is made worse by loud noise ....once we sat at our new table we were asked if we would like drinks. We ordered and then decided what to order from the menu. The menu was extensive and really appealing. We had the cold cuts and cheese platter for two for a starter. We also ordered Lamb cutlets for my wife and Prime Rib for myself. The starter was lovely.....not to much and not to little....it was very tasty. The staff were very attentive even though there were people sat at every table....brilliant service. The mains arrived and my steak was perfectly cooked, my wife’s Lamb was very pink......so pink that one slice was starting to eat the runner beans.....but all in all a lovely main course made better by the the continued care of the staff. We felt that the team in the dining room really wanted you to be there....we ordered dessert but was told that the Cheesecake had finished.....but due to the amount of dinner guests that was not a surprise and to be honest not really a problem.....so we opted for Pear Tartin........blooming lovely ......this was a truly great dining experience.....after we settled the bill my wife and I went to the bar in the restaurant and meet some of the other team and we chatted about the local area and things to do. We sampled some gin and got some useful information about the many different brands and flavours of gin on offer......this was one of those trips where you look back and think I really enjoyed that.......thank you to Cara, Jenna Tony and all the fantastic staff in the Cocina Restaurant for a wonderful evening.....we look forward to seeing you all again soon....

Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D, Manager at Cocina Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Dear Terry W

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review. The team will be so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to you returning to Casa in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cara Spence
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

New Year’s Eve. Set meal with very little choice £70 per head. No way worth it. Main course inedible as steak had sweet sauce on which we assumed was meant for the duck. Mentioned to waiter but ignored. Been several times but won’t be going again

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank anthonyhV9142HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D, Manager at Cocina Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Dear anthonyhV9142HM

As I said in our email exchange when you first raised your dissatisfaction, I am sorry you were disappointed with the evening. We did send the menu out to you in advance of the evening as we do with all guests for evenings that we don't offer our full a la carte, and I am sure you'll remember it was not a set meal as you state in your review. After your prosecco on arrival and amuse bouche there was a choice of 5 starters, 5 mains and 5 desserts. The sauce for the steak was a jus, the waiter did explain this to you and that it was not the sauce that was served with the duck main course, he asked if there was anything else he could do and was politely told no.

Kind regards

Cara Spence
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

we visit Casa hotel for lunches and dinners pretty regular,this visit was for Boxing day dinner at Cocina and as always the staff were pleasant and helpful and the food was as good as ever.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank J4281ATanthonyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D, Manager at Cocina Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear J4281ATanthonyp

Thank you for taking your time to leave us such a fantastic review. The team will be so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to you returning to Casa in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cara Spence
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cocina Restaurant also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Barlow, Chesterfield
 

Been to Cocina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing