We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bakewell tart takeaway”

The Bakewell Tart Shop & Coffee House
Ranked #5 of 12 Quick Bites in Bakewell
Price range: US$6 - US$17
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: The Bakewell Tart Shop and Coffee House is on the must-do list of most visitors to Bakewell. This family owned business has been serving their famous Traditional Bakewell Tart and Iced Bakewell Tarts for generations, as well as building a great reputation for pies, cakes and more. The cosy cafe has a broad menu including breakfasts, lunches, cream teas, afternoon teas, snacks, and reportedly the best coffee in Bakewell. The cafe is open from 9am every day, and the courtyard open on sunny days through spring, summer and autumn. The retail shop offers a tempting range of specialties, including their famous Bakewell tarts, plus Bakewell puddings, pies, a great cake selection, freshly baked bread and confectionery. Teas, coffees, cold drinks, freshly made sandwiches, toasties and hot pies all available to take-away.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were so impressed by the quality of the Bakewell tart we bought! Having only ever tried the shop bought/ supermarket type packaged Bakewell tarts and not being very keen on them, we couldn’t believe how nice the Bakewell tart slices from here were! Lovely crumbly, buttery pastry bases and thick, rich tasty filling!Wish we’d bought a whole tart! Would highly recommend

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank angmcb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fay K, Owner at The Bakewell Tart Shop & Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for that lovely review - it’s really appreciated by the whole team here. Remember, if you ever finding yourself yearning for a Bakewell tart and can’t make it to Bakewell, we can always send you one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Bakewell on 23/05/21 as fancied a bakewell tart.
The shop looked brilliant and staff was very friendly and polite, bought a large bakewell tart brought it home and noticed there was no jam inside it.
Also to make it worse underneath the packaging I wanted to check the allergens / ingredients only to find your bakewell tarts are NOT MADE IN BAKEWELL!!!!!

Certainly wont be coming back.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank M4rc8531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020

A lovely light lunch for my wife and I, followed by serious purchases of excellent pies and cakes. A must visit when in Bakewell.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2020

Popped in for coffee, saw the cakes, thought we'd join in !
Ordered a Latte and an Americano with cream (I'm always amazed at the amount of places that do not serve cream!) along with a Bakewell slice and a Bakewell tart.
Service was quick and friendly.
Would definitely pop in again.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
10  Thank blondiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020

Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed and waited for a seat as we were dining in. COVID regulations were applied,which was ok by us. We both ordered the home made pies, mash, peas and gravy, which were hot, tasty and flavoursome and reasonably priced. Service throughout was polite and friendly. After we had our lunch we purchased different cakes, to take home, which again we're tasty and well made. In all, a lovely experience and recommended.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MikebRichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
128Fay, Owner at The Bakewell Tart Shop & Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Glad you enjoyed your food and thank you for the kind review. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bakewell Tart Shop & Coffee House also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Bakewell Tart Shop & Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.