We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
103
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadhome made cakesvictorian stylewhite companyslipper bathexcellent hostsattention to detailtop qualityhome grownhope to return soonwithin easy walking distanceon arrivalwarm welcomemini fridgefountains abbeycooked to perfectionlocal produce
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Everything about this place shouts quality. The house has been lovingly restored it has Victorian style and many original features fused with contemporary minimalism. Bill and Barbara are friendly without being intrusive. We were able to come and go as we pleased but knew that they were on hand if we needed anything. We were in the beautiful Fountains room with a stunning private bathroom adjoining. Quality toiletries fluffy towels and bathrobes were provided. In the hospitality drawer there was a good supply of quality teas and coffee. Fresh milk was available in a mini fridge thoughtfully located just outside the door to avoid disturbance at night. The luxurious bed was provided with high quality cotton bedding and although it was a zip link bed you could not feel the join because of the memory foam mattress topper. The whole place is spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Top quality breakfast with either home grown or locally sourced products. I enjoyed the marinated fruits in home made elderflower cordial and eggs Benedict. I also tried the eggy bread both were delicious. The bread is freshly home baked each morning and you wake to the lovely smell of it. A faultless stay in every way. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank DeeBird2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

This is the second time that my husband and I have stayed at Lavender House and this time we took our friends as well. Every attention to detail, scrupulously clean, wonderful homemade breads and cake and a locally sourced cooked breakfast - what more could you want. Bill and Barbara were excellent hosts and we would thoroughly recommend them. The house is within easy walking distance of the town and cathedral which too is well worth a visit.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Congratulations to Bill and Barbara. They are very welcoming hosts, helpful but not intrusive. We were in the front room (Fountains), the bedroom and private bathroom are extremely well conceived and executed. Breakfasts very nice too. Would definitely stay again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We (two couples) visited Bill and Barbara at Lavender House and all agreed that this was one of the best, possibly THE best, B&B we had ever visited. Clean as a whistle, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast, much of which was produced by our hosts, just minutes from Ripon city centre. Could not have been better. Thank you, Bill and Barbara. We will remember Lavender House for a long time.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank brian_wroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We arrived on the 15th August after a hard day cycling from Settle and were warmly greeted by the landlord. The bike storage was excellent and secure in a workshop in the wonderful garden. The rooms and adjoining (private) bathrooms were excellent with extremely comfortable beds and furnishings. The breakfast was exceptional and cooked to perfection. I can not recommend Lavender House highly enough in fact the only disappointment was that we only stayed one night! NB One of the women in our party left some expensive face cream in her room, this was posted on to us free of charge...fantastic service!!

Room Tip: No matter which room you get you will be delighted
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ben120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews