We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Mill Hotel(Sudbury)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rectory Manor(Great Waldingfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
87
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssimon and angelaperfect hostslocal producecosy wood burnerclear directionshouse dogroll top bathgorgeous dogwealth of knowledgeoriginal featureson arrivala lovely stayprivate bathroomgreat characterpower showerwithout being intrusivehens egg
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We stayed at Clay Hall House for the weekend as a base to see a little bit of Suffolk. The house is delightful; full of history and charm and Simon and Angela made us feel most welcome. Everything is very comfortable and immaculately maintained and the wholesome breakfast sets you up for the day. It's very peaceful and a little tucked away so you need a car to get around though there is a pub within walking distance.

Room Tip: Our room was very quaint, a bit of Tudor history with its own very tasteful en-suite. Very comfortable and quite charming.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tkj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Clay Hall is a quirky and delightful Tudor house tucked away in the picturesque village of Acton. This is not your typical sanitised B & B but something very different: a journey to 16th Century England. The floors are irregular, beams criss-cross the ceilings, and light filters through latticed windows into the tastefully decorated rooms. Simon and Angela are charming and informative hosts; the breakfasts are superb. The egg omelettes, made with eggs from their own free range hens, are delicious.
Clay Hall is an ideal hub for Suffolk and Norfolk. My wife and I brought our tandem and cycled from Clay Hall to some of the most beautiful and iconic villages in the country. Suffolk is an undiscovered gem. For history buffs, romantics or people who want to 'get up close and personal' with English history, why not time travel and spend a few days in Tudor England at Clay Hall? You won't be disappointed.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon o, Owner at Clay Hall House Tudor B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

What we liked about these guests was not only their very interesting and pleasant conversation but their determination to get the very most out of the local area. Exploring on their tandem bicycle was the ideal way to see the real Suffolk and they visited many charming historic villages. There is a variety of terrain for cyclists to choose, from relatively flat riding on very quiet lanes, to more undulating rides and off roading on the six designated cycle routes in the area. We hope other intrepid cyclists will head for what these guests rightly call "an undiscovered gem."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Clay Hall House has retained its Tudor features whilst being a comfortable home to B & B in. Angela and Simon are friendly outgoing hosts. The breakfast s surprisingly substantial, the rooms well turned out and the views lovely. We stayed in Constable the smaller of the two rooms. It has another room off it which we used as a dressing room. Downstairs is a snug with comfortable sofas and an easy to work television. The bathroom to Constable is not en suite and cramped.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AimeeGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon o, Owner at Clay Hall House Tudor B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

We make clear on all our listings that the private shower room for this Constable room is not en suite but literally two paces outside it - and that it is small. We also contact all our guests immediately after booking to check that they understand this and that they are happy - as we did with these guests. The Constable room rate is lower than our superior Gainsborough King Size room with its large en suite and guests do have the option of choosing the larger room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We found this luxury bed and breakfast on line. The pictures looked amazing. On arrival we were greeted by Simon who owns the property with his partner Angela.They are both very friendly and made us very welcome. The house is truely wonderful. Full of old character and charm. We had booked the larger of the 2 rooms available. Our room was spacious very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities were in the room. A decent sized bathroom with a free standing bath and a shower. The breakfasts were lovely. All home cooked using their own hens eggs and local produce. This has to be the best b and b that we have stayed in. It is hard to beat. Many thanks Simon and Angela.

Room Tip: Choose the largest room with en suite.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon o, Owner at Clay Hall House Tudor B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

It is always very nice for B&B owners like us when guests enjoy their stay so much. We have just been awarded a Trip Advisor Five Star Certificate of Excellence for 2018 - but we never rest on our laurels and continuously strive to provide an even better guest experience. For example this summer we have introduced a new breakfast menu with greater choice and expanded Continental options. We are about to open an outside courtyard garden area with tables and chairs for guests to eat breakfast Al Fresco or to simply relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We had an excellent time when we stayed for a long weekend.Angela and Simon (and Grace the dog) were very friendly and helpful and ensured we had a good stay at their lovely house. The breakfast set us up for the whole day! We hope to return for another break.Thank you both.

Room Tip: We were in the Gainsborough Room which was large and well appointed. The en-suite had a shower and bath and there was always plenty of hot water.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SmallPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews