We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look on the bright side”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2011

So many negative comments here and had doubts but still went for it because when it comes to water villas, they have the most reasonable rates. I booked Haven villa directly with the resort and it came to appx USD486.00 per night for B&B (Add 13.5% + Bed tax). Yes there are many Chinese (from China) and they are everywhere with umbrellas, flowly dresses and cameras. I got irritated too even though I'm a Chinese myself. Most of them are loud and smoke everywhere. Thus i'm very glad that i opted for Haven Villa cuz it less rowdy and you get to have breakfast at the Lagoon restaurant instead of the mass place in the main lobby. Furamathi at tip of the island serves the best food with beautiful waves crashing sound and fishes always ready to be fed. They have daily special rate for massages and do try them out, look for Sri she is friendly and skillful. People at the water sports centre are very friendly and accommodating too. I do agree everything is not cheap but since you have decided on a Maldives holiday, why not just go all out enjoy, relax and pamper yourself crazy. Must try include dolphin cruise by speedboat and whale submarine. Skip the night fishing, kinda boring. Tune out the rowdiness and look on the bright side!

Room Tip: Opt for water villa instead of haven villa if you do not wish to walk too far (although buggy is ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fluffyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,726 - 1,730 of 2,828 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

The scenary was fantastic but the service from the front desk was horrible.
Our departure was at 2.40 am and we were made to check out by 10 pm when we had paid for the room for the whole day.
At the airport, the counter is only opened 2 hours before departure.
We had to hang around with the kids in the wee hours of the morning.
Not accomodating at all as when we arrived the time was 11pm and then they could transport us to the resort!
The island hopping trip organised by the hotel was a waste of good money. Suggest taking another package. The trip to Malee organised by the hotel was also not worth it. Suggest your find your own way to Malee and walk around the town yourself or get a guide at the jetty. Cheaper.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shantini T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is an amazing property with great food and luxurious stay!
We stayed one night in a water villa and 2 nights in a superior beach bungalow
Water villas were out of the world feeling, spacious comfortable rooms with all modern amenities. These rooms have more glass walls than concrete which makes it closer to the nature yet providing the needed privacy.
Superior beach bungalows we stayed are neat and clean but nothing great to talk about, a good hotel room.

Food is really good here......what ever style it is, you get the best! :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kumarchitran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Going to the beach is one of life simple pleasure... a time to relax, enjoy the sun and free your mind with anything....

Here are some comments:
* Main bar was really nice & reasonable cocktail prices - although its just too windy the night we went to have a couple of drinks.
* Enjoyed watching the local band playing that night... great choice of music!!
* Boutique offers several brands of sunscreen to choose from.. It would be better to add a variety of beach wears and accessories as well
* Food was good but not to many choices
* Restaurant service, porter, boutique staffs and one gardener (which we forgot the name was really helpful)
* Spa prices are a bit pricey

A few suggestions:
* Rooms need a little touch up ... looks tired..The room we had needs some quick fix with the bathroom door connecting to the outside shower area.. Main door
* Out door area needs attention.. too many things lying around that needs to be cleaned up... trimmed down trees to give area for guests to walk by...
* very bad water pressure.. imagine taking a shower with just like tear drops coming out...
* Beach area needs a little clean up.. full of dried corals and shells... difficult to walk by the beach barefoot.
* More daytime activities... We wanted to do Parasailing but unfortunately... the time we visited... it was out of service : )

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blue_eyes07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We had been to this place for our Honeymoon for 4 days. The place is just average for the amount they charge us for it.
Positives:
-The Water Villas are amazing. If budget not such an issue do stay there.
-Beach is clean and just wonderful
-Watersports instructor are just superb. We had taken a snorkeling lesson and thoroughly enjoyed it.
-On paying a amount you can avail the steam and sauna lounge for an hour in private. Amazing for couples.
-The Italian restaurant is really good. Good food and good service. We had lunch there on 3 days.
Negatives-
-The Beach rooms are far off and no buggy is provided for the same.
-We encountered ants on our rooms and it could not be rectified even after couple of request.
-No water is provided during buffet. You need to carry your 2 liter bottles which is replenished everyday.
-For any excursion you need to pay for it. The Male excursion was just average and it started 2 hours late.
-The Submarine tour was cancelled and we got to know after travelling in the local boat for 1 hour one way.Few of us suffered sea sickness.

Tips:
-Make sure you to check if buggy service to room is available if on Beach rooms.
-You can bargain for a good package at the Watersports area.
-The souvenirs available at the shop there are not expensive in comparison to airport.
If visiting Male City do bargain there when purchasing from local shops.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank todiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lankanfinolhu Island
4.3 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,841 reviews
7.7 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,795 reviews
7.2 km away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 km away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
6,327 reviews
18.4 km away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives
1 km away
Gili Lankanfushi
Gili Lankanfushi
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Island Resort & Spa

Address: 08420
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Lankanfinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lankanfinolhu Island
Price Range: $253 - $813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an island right in the middle of the Indian Ocean, with bright white beaches, a lagoon with multiple hues of blue and aquamarine and tall coconut palms swaying to the breeze. Who wouldn't want to be marooned on one? All the more, when all modern comforts and formal professional services that one would expect on a five star hotel come together with it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Island Hotel Lankanfinolhu Island
Paradise Island Resort Maldives
Paradise Island Maldives
Paradise Island Male
Paradise Island Resort & Spa Maldives/North Male Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing