We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for being with your partner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Huvafen Fushi Maldives
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We've just returned from a 7 day stay in Lagoon Villa at Huvafen Fushi and have nothing but positive things to say from our first trip to the Maldives. As a couple, we are fairly critical of resorts and were overwhelmingly delighted to find that Huvafen Fushi surpassed our already high expectations and catered to our holiday needs (i.e., down time in the sun, lazy mornings, total relaxation, spa treatments, daily sporty activities...and we're vegetarians).
Pros:
-Staff are v. accommodating and always available for assistance. Managers welcome you to the island, constantly ask how the accommodations are, and make sure at departure that everything was up to snuff.
-House reef is amazing! Complimentary snorkeling gear available and hired guides if needed. We didn't use the dive center, but other couples raved about it.
-Underwater spa not to be missed and worth the extra $100! LIME spa was overall exceptional. We had a couples special 90 min massage in the underwater spa, which was simply divine. Mirrors were cleverly placed under the massage tables so you could see fish swimming during your treatment. We had a second massage in the above ground massage rooms, which were also very nice. These treatment rooms were water villas with glass bottom floors underneath the massage tables. This allowed you to watch the ocean life during treatment. The quality of the treatments were excellent and on par with top notch hotel spas in NYC/London in terms of cost and quality.
-The Lagoon villa was huge, in lovely condition, Bose speakers, iPod doc & iPod preloaded w/ thousands of albums, nespresso coffee maker, infinity pool, sun loungers, tub for two, rain shower, his/her sinks, his/her closets, lighting schemes, day bed inside and out, steps into the Indian ocean, paradise!
-Celsius restaurant is amazing. The breakfast spread has literally everything you could want to eat (i.e., freshly made juices, fruit plates, eggs/pancakes to order, assorted breads and sweet cakes, yogurts, and other savory breakfast items of cheese, meats, grilled tomatoes, among other things). The spread is all of exceptional freshness and quality. For dinner, the staff at Celsius were very accommodating to our dietary needs. We are generally vegetarian and prefer simple, fresh, lighter fare (vs. fancy Cordon Bleu cuisine). There was a vegetarian house menu available to our delight. We also ordered off the menu and altered menu items daily. The staff were v. accommodating. However, toward the end of the vacation we were starting to get a little bit tired of the dinner options (see Cons for half board). We were at a slight disadvantage for being veg as Celsius offered special non-menu dinners every 2-3 days, which I'm assuming helps reduce a la carte boredom (i.e., fish/seafood night; curry night) but the options were limited for us.
-Fogliani's wood fired pizza was awesome. Literally, the pizza at Hufaven Fushi was on par with good NYC pizza and better than any pizza I've had in London (and we LOVE pizza).
-Wine cellar is amazingly diverse and well stocked (and pricey, of course, so be prepared). The Sommelier offers complimentary wine tasting of wines available by the glass to help inform your palate.
-Huvafen Happy Hour (50% off glasses 7-7:30 and again after dinner) --take advantage.
-Huvafen free drinks and canape 6:30-7--take advantage.
-Staff at Arrival/Departure and boat transfer are excellent. It is a speedboat transfer not a ferry transfer and seas can be rough when it's windy so be prepared.
-Landscaping on the island is left very natural which helps hide the beach villas and makes you feel like you're alone on the island. I'm happy the landscaping was not overly manicured and fake.
-The over water gym is quite cool. Can see rays, fish, and baby sharks while jogging. The gyms is small but adequate size for the island. Only ran into trouble w/ other couples using the gym one day.
-Lair has flat screen TV (only used for FA cup final!), internet, massive library, games, etc.

Cons (these are all very minor in my opinion and did not detract from the quality of our holiday or leave a sour taste in our mouths in any way):
-Half/Full Board is offered at Celsius only. You receive a discount of 25% at the other restaurants (Raw & Salt) during 'pre-paid' eating hours (i.e., lunch for full board, dinner for half board) as well as room service. Room service is essentially the same menu as Celsius, so that was a little bit of a disappointment.
-Alcoholic beverages: perhaps we've been spoiled with some of the best drinks in London/NYC, but the beverages at UMBar weren't great or always properly made (i.e., our dry martinis tasted mainly of vermouth). I'm assuming this is because most staff don't drink alcohol for religious reasons and perhaps cannot try the drinks prior to being served, but that is just a speculation. In any case, the point is minor, but it might be something to consider if you're expecting cutting edge mixology. However, if you do like to drink, the wine cellar and sommelier are the way to go (see Pros).
-The desserts at Celsius were not great, but we're not really dessert people.
-The toiletries could have been of a better brand & quality. Usually nice hotels offer something on par with what you would bring from home, which was not the case here.

Things to consider:
-Lagoon Villas are leeward facing and so our patio area was protected from strong afternoon winds in May. We noticed that the patio of the Ocean Villas faces directly into the wind, and so it seemed like the patio area wouldn't have been as tranquil. We would have found that bit annoying considering the extra cost of the Ocean Villa. However, the Ocean Villas appear to offer more privacy as they face the ocean v. the lagoon, which also serves as the mini huvafen harbor for transport to/from the island. The Ocean villas also have better 'back yard' access to the house reef. The Lagoon villas sit on sandy lagoon, which was great for ray and baby shark watching, but not to much to see in the way of reef life. We opted for Lagoon villa with 1 min walk to house reef channel :)
-LIME spa underwater is best during the morning because of the light into the treatment rooms.
- As typical of resorts, the cost of the activities (i.e., sunset cruises, water sports, SCUBA, etc., island tours, etc.) is high so that is to be expected at Huvafen Fushi as well.
-In continuation, the cost of food is high (but the food is v. high quality and the food is on par with the cost of high quality food in London) so budget appropriately to avoid shock (menus are available online as well, which was a pro for us when booking).
- Last thing -- This is an island for couples who want quality, romantic time together in a beautiful place. If you don't fit that profile, another island may better suit your needs. There was one small annoyance on our trip caused from an unruly behaved child (clearly, this is not a review of the hotel or hotel staff but something to consider if you're thinking about booking). I found it particularly annoying that a young family chose to bring their poorly trained child who was constantly yelling, screaming, and fussing to cocktail hour and dinner at the peak time. There is nothing worse or more rude than to spoil every evening of vacationing couples in ear shot with your screaming child. I'm not anti-child or saying that children shouldn't be allowed, but I think that fussy babies at Hufaven Fushi require an island babysitter in villa, parents who concede to order room service, or just leave the child at home. There were plenty of well behaved babies on the island, but screaming/fussing children have no place here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinkissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 496 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2010

Amazing in every single way.
Beautiful location (within a short 30 min speedboat trip from Male).
Exquisite food and drink - vast menu and speciality nights (fresh fish, Maldivian curries).
Friendly, polite and helpful staff - lots of staff on hand to assist with all your needs (never once re-filled my own wine glass!)
Rooms were spacious, immaculately clean, well equipped and comfortable.
Fantastic, I can't rate this resort highly enough, well worth the price!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We traveled to Huvafen for our honeymoon on 1st April this year, and its fair to say that you could not wipe the smile from our faces from the moment we arrived. We felt like 2 kids in a candy store. We were greeted with lovely refreshing drinks and given a personal tour around the resort by our thakuru, Didi. The whole place seemed really really quiet and peaceful, even though it was apparently at 80-90% capacity.
We had a lagoon bungalow, and it was absolutely incredible. We loved the stylish decor and open layout, especially the bathroom, and the view from the balcony was almost too good to be true. We spent much of the first day lazing around our private plunge pool, soaking up the sun, drinking champagne (they gave us a free bottle for our honeymoon, then we made use of the mini bar and room service!), it was truly wonderful.
During our stay we made the most of the luxurious infinity pool, which seemed to be empty most of the time, and the lovely 'relaxation areas' scattered around the island – especially loved the swing bed, I now want one in my back yard. We did heaps of snorkeling, the house reef was exceptional especially in front of the ocean bungalows, the visibility superb and marine life plentiful. I remember my husband saying to me 'does it get any better than this?!', seconds later 3 eagle rays swam right in front of us – it was really incredible! We loved the reef shark feeding frenzies that seemed to occur every morning at breakfast – so rare to experience this kind of thing so close up.
The scuba diving was also great - we only just got our tickets before we left home and the Maldives was my husbands first ocean dive - so we were smiling from ear to ear. It was fantastic to go diving off the luxury dhonis and the dive equipment was all in excellent condition. Definitely a highlight for us.
The sunset cruise was also very romantic, it is a pity the American couple that shared it with us couldn't even manage a hello... but not too worry.
The day spa is amazing, and we enjoyed a couples massage in the over water rooms. The underwater spa costs an additional $100 per person on top of the treatment price, which we thought was a bit over the top – and I think the overwater rooms are better for massage as you have your face down and there is a glass floor so you can see the ocean beneath. Really lovely day spa, I wish we had more time (and money) to spend there.
The food overall was excellent. Probably too good - we ate far too much! We found generally the pricing for food was quite reasonable, no more than we would pay in a restaurant at home. In saying this they did have special dinners arranged every night that were quite pricey - but sounded heavenly. We did the Maldivian Seafood bbq the night we arrived and although $90 pp it was the most incredible, fresh seafood buffet I have ever seen. The hours they put into the presentation was truly amazing – and the array of seafood was like nothing we'd ever seen. Some of the other diners also sounded great, however cost between $150 - $240 per person.
I was very glad we decided not to go half or full board, it would not be worth your while as you can only eat at Celcius (or get a small discount at the other restaurants), and it is very reasonably priced. Our bill for dinner never got to $100 for both our meals including drinks.
Wine is very expensive, however beers, cocktails and spirits were very reasonably priced, which suited us fine as this is what we felt like drinking on the hot days, lazying by the pool. Conrad the bartender made sure we were never thirsty and we made a ritual of attending the cocktail hour almost every afternoon, the bar and deck area were perfect for watching the sunset and all the beautiful lighting come on – the place was transformed every night. There has been a lot of thought go into the design and layout of this place and we certainly appreciated it!
What more to say? I'm sure everyone has a slightly different experience. We had magnificent weather which I think makes a big difference, I wouldn't want to be stuck out in an over water bungalow when the weather is wet and windy. Its definitely a place for couples seeking quiet relaxation in pure luxury. Not a place for kids, they would get bored easily. The staff were all very friendly to us and the service was excellent. Anyone that thinks otherwise must have a chip on their shoulder.
We stayed 6 days/5 nights which we felt was long enough, its not a huge island... although maybe just one more day beside the infinity pool with a good book and a pina colada...
Definitely worth spending a bit more to stay here, we have no regrets and hope we can one day return!
Holly & Damien

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnycoastchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

My wife and I stayed in a lagoon bungalow at Huvafen Fushi for a week during April 2010. This place is simply fantastic and far exceeded my already very high expectations. The lagoon bungalow with plunge pool was huge and offered far superior views in my than the slightly larger and more expensive ocean bungalows on the other side. I can see that for some the ocean bungalows might offer slightly more privacy, in that they just look straight out to sea and a horizon while the lagoon bungalows overlook the boats entering and leaving but my wife personally liked the activity as well as the huge contrast in colours that the lagoon offers. The service across all parts of the resort was first class while also managing to be relaxed and not in your face the whole time. For those who like to dive I found the diving school in particular to be excellent and very personal and helpful. Diving also was very reasonably priced in my view, especially when compared on a relative basis with some of the other activities on the island. For a $104 you get a tank dive with a boat and crew and personal instructor. The boat is great and is the same one that the island rents out to individuals on a daily basis for something like $1000. For a tenth of this you essentially get the boat to yourself anyway, with a crew and service and a dive. The food on the resort was also great across the range of restaurants. We really enjoyed the themed dinners that they put on most evenings, things like champagne lobster dinner where you have an open buffet of lobster, steaks, tuna steaks and sushi with a bottle of champagne although some may find the price at nearly 600 notes for two brutal. We spent most of our time in our lagoon bungalow although when we ventured out to the resort pool or to the general facilities you get an amazing sense of how private the island is. There are a total of 43 rooms I believe and the island is very small, that said although they were running at 90-100pc capacity during our stay we saw very very few other guests at all. I know that some people will moan about the costs of this place – I mean $305 for an hour on a jet ski is on the steep side but frankly if you drive a Ferrari and are always checking how much the petrol costs you are simply in the wrong car. This place is first class

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick-Ritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We stayed 3 nights for my honeymoon in the plunge pool ocean bungalow lagoon view. Amazing. Everything was perfect since the first moment we were picked up at the airport and until being dropped off to the airport. Service staff were the best, I dont think I was ever treated this well ever. Room was gorgeous and large, bathroom spacious, the ocean gorgeous, the food was the best I ever had in a hotel/resort. Perfect destination for honeymooners as the island is quite and feels really private. We haven't seen children around but it is a child friendly place. Prices was the priciest Ive ever seen but it was worth it as we were made welcome and as comfortable as possible. We got sushi as complimentary when we checked in. Check ins are done in room as there is no reception there, more comfort.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theboudoir09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huvafen Fushi Island
23.3 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,806 reviews
7.1 km away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
1,135 reviews
22.9 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,265 reviews
22.4 km away
Gili Lankanfushi
Gili Lankanfushi
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,852 reviews
22.2 km away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huvafen Fushi Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huvafen Fushi Maldives

Address: North Male Atoll (Formerly PER AQUUM Huvafen Fushi)
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Huvafen Fushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huvafen Fushi Island
Price Range: $1,474 - $4,591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Huvafen Fushi Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Float at infinity's edge. Descend stairs for underground wine. Come out of your shell in the depths of an underwater spa room - the first and only in the world - where colour fish glide past the floor-to-ceiling-windows that reveal the beauty of the reef. Huvafen Fushi, a multi-award winning island resort located only 35 minutes by speedboat from Male, offers 44 naturally modern bungalows and the luxury of 'suites at sea,' traditional Maldivian sailboats fitted out with modern indulgences and the chance to escape and relax in a secluded island paradise in the middle of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huvafen Fushi Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huvafen Fushi Hotel Huvafen Fushi Island
Huvafen Fushi Male
Huvafen Fushi Hotel Male
Huvafen Fushi Maldives Huvafen Fushi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing