We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil charm”
Review of Abbey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey House
Ranked #5 of 8 Boyle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We took two twin rooms for one night, B&B. The house is full of charm, the rooms were spacious, comfortable and quiet, the owners full of wit, welcome and local knowledge. The riverside garden settings in the shadow of the 12th Century abbey are simply wonderful.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be good. Some have en suite and others share a bathroom close by. All were v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Argy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We were met in the driveway by John who, when he detected my accent (northumbrian) proceeded to sing a song about a little fishy on a little dishy! It was hilarious. Christine and John at very warm and friendly people who immediately make you feel at home. The house is large with spacious and clean rooms. Beautiful views over the river to one side and the ruins of the abbey to the other-adjacent to the house. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Beautiful situated just next to the Boyle Abbey the stately town house breaths an old patrician atmosphere. A house with a history. Indeed out of the ordinairy (in a positive way). The room was neat and had all we needed; just good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R_van_Velse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

It's an amzing house, plenty of charm and the surroundings with the abbey, the river and e park are just wonderful. It don't like it too dark though and it was as they would spare electricity. No lamps on. That added to the kind of akward bones of ??? laying in front of the kitchen entrance. My friend and I got the feeling of a scary movie. The owner broke her ancle and was stuck in her wheelchair, so the son was in charge. He did his best after mothers indication. Slept very good. Nice bed and big double room with view over the abbey. Breakfast was ok. The smoked salmon and scrambled egg was ok rhanks to the salmon. The egg came in cold and dry. All in all a nice place to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Arkadiafoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Abbey House is a residence of which you always dreamed to stay. The owner Christine is a warm, friendly lady. You feel immediately at home. We never had such a spacious room. Nice and warm and very comfortable. It was a great stay.

Room Tip: Lovely stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DominiqueHenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boyle hotels
7.9 km away
Rosdarrig Bed & Breakfast
13.1 km away
Amber B&B
Amber B&B
#6 of 8 in Boyle
7 reviews
10.7 km away
Lough Key House
Lough Key House
#1 of 8 in Boyle
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
Forest Park House B&B
7.1 km away
Linsfort Guest House B&B
7.5 km away
Cesh Corran
Cesh Corran
#7 of 8 in Boyle
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House

Address: Boyle Abbey, Boyle 4614, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Boyle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Boyle
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing