We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book the Glendine & you will not be disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glendine Irish Home
Ranked #5 of 15 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I don't know how to describe this B&B and give it the justice it deserves!
I stayed here with my partner for two nights in June. We were greeted with tea made with tea leaves & fabulous fresh muffins just out of the oven! We met with Mick and he told us everything we needed to know about where to go, how to get there, what to see, best pubs and even where to get the nicest fish & chips!
The rooms are very clean and spacious with a private bathroom & electric shower. The rooms are garnished with magazines & good books for your leisure.
Breakfast is amazing! You can pick from lots of different dishes on the menu, they give you fresh baked breads and homemade jams too while you wait for your chosen breakfast to arrive.
The B&B is within walking distance of Clonakilty town. It is a really nice scenic walk.
It is unbelievable value for the treatment you receive. It is like home away from home! If I ever go back to Clonakilty again I would book in to the Glendine without any hesitations, I would almost go back to Clonakilty just to stay in Glendine again!
The only negative comment I can make is that any B&B we stayed in afterwards has been a massive let down after Glendine!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danceoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2010

I can't say enough great things about this wonderful couple and their B&B. This is definitely their passion brought to life. They love people and they love to help others experience their beautiful country. The house is lovely and so comfortable....and yes you get tea and warm muffins! The rooms were great, super comfortable, spotless and fully equipped.
The food was outstanding and Mary and Mic went so far out of their way to be sure we got exactly what we wanted for breakfast. And oh yes, the showers were perfectly hot !
The only warning I would give to Mary and Mic is not to be so friendly... otherwise the rest of Ireland will not get a chance to share in the tourists! We wanted stop our travels here and stay even though we still had another 8 days left of touring! Beware! You may want to stay longer too!!!
Thank you Mary and Mic!!! Love Mel, Jason and Pat from Canada

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellymau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We recently traveled throughout Ireland for 3 weeks staying with Mick and Mari for 3 days. On arrival, we were met with tea and muffins and each subsequent day on our return from our outings, again...the same lovely tea and apple or rhubarb tea awaited us along with good conversation. The accommodations were first rate...huge comfortable quiet bedroom with all amenities, the view overlooking Clonakilty and the bay from their sunroom and dining room was to "die for", their breakfasts were the very best of all that we had in Ireland and their wireless internet actually worked for my netbook. We walked the hill each evening for dinner at the local pubs and found it most enjoyable. Clonakilty is a delightful town. However, what made Glendine so super were Mick and Mari. We so enjoyed their helpfulness and friendly conversations...they went that extra mile....we would return to Glendine in a heartbeat if we ever return to ireland. We felt so comfortable there. We also learned to love Irish tea from our visit there so that each afternoon throughout the remaining days of our visit to Ireland, we had to have our tea. In fact, we bought an Irish tea pot and the brand of tea Mari introduced used and brought it home, so that we are continuing our tea habit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sinaigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Found this B&B almost by accident when working in the area. It's the view that gets you first, then the warm welcome, accompanied by warm muffins and coffee in the conservatory area. Mick and Mari are very friendly hosts and if all the B&Bs in Clonakilty and West Cork are like this, then I'm dumping unfriendly, over-priced hotels forever. The bedroom and breakfast was also great. I'm coming back . . . in greater numbers.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glowth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights while attending a wedding and found our accommodation to be absolutely exceptional. We usually stay in hotels on weekends away and generally don’t even consider staying in B&B's but Mari & Mick's beautiful home has changed that mindset. The food was amazing, with fresh homemade bread and delicious homemade jam. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddymc07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
1.5 km away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
158 reviews
2.0 km away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
1.7 km away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
183 reviews
0.8 km away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
399 reviews
1.4 km away
Macliam Lodge
Macliam Lodge
#4 of 15 in Clonakilty
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendine Irish Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendine Irish Home

Address: Tawnies Upper, Clonakilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Price Range: $139 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendine Irish Home B&B, Clonakilty is a traditional, charming, relaxing bed and breakfast accommodation in the beautiful and unspoiled region of West Cork, Ireland. King sized beds occupy all spacious en-suite bedrooms. Mari & Mick's B&B accommodation caters exclusively for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glendine Irish Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing