We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Warm and Comfortable”
Review of B-Side Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B-Side Hostel
Reviewed 16 August 2015

After a long day's cycling from Mullingar and anxious for a dry bed (as opposed to a wet tent) we arrived at B-Side Hostel and rang the number posted on the door. We were told that there was no room at the inn but there was the chance of a cancellation. We were told we would be called back within the hour and low and behold, ten minutes later, we were rung and told that we had two beds in the dormitory...to ourselves!

Needless to say, we were delighted. The hostel manager that weekend--the owners were away; I think his name was Jason?--was very welcoming. My daughter and I had an eight bunk dorm room to ourselves and earplugs were kindly provided. (Carrick-on-Shannon is a lovely town but has become something of a stag/hen party capital. The earplugs were not needed however. Carry your own blinders if you want to avoid viewing the parade of inflatable phalli and tutu-bedecked grooms-to-be.)

The room was spotless, the bunk beds comfortable. The kitchen, bathrooms and common room were also spotless. Overall, it is an excellent place to stay and close to everything in Carrick. They also seem to screen visitors so they are not over run by stag and hen revelers which is only a good thing.

The only criticism I would have is that there was no one staying in the hostel in the evening and thus no one to contact to ask for more toilet paper as both bathrooms ran out. This was not an issue for us as we were carrying our own for camping but would have been a major bummer (no pun intended) had we not been. We paid fifty quid for our room--not too bad I suppose, considering it was high season and we had it to ourselves--and would expect toilet paper in the bathrooms at least.

Also, (and I'm nitpicking here but I liked the place and want it to do well) a jug of milk and some tea bags and instant coffee are fairly standard for hostels around Europe and Ireland--several on the Ring of Kerry put on local eggs and cereal or toast; a shout out to Sive Hostel in Cahirsiveen!--and wouldn't go amiss here either, but I got the impression that B-Side is new and still working out the hospitable kinks.

Overall, a fine place and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ring ahead and don't be on a stag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen C, Owner at B-Side Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2015

Hi Kevin

Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you have a comfortable stay at our Hostel. We apologise that no tea/coffee etc was not available at the time of your stay that was an oversight on our behalf as we always have tea/coffee available but we will take it on board for future reference.

As sometimes there is no one connected to the hostel on site after hours all the time we do explain to our guests that if they need anything e.g extra toilet roll that we are just a phone call away at any time but if this was not explained properly to you i do apologise.

Again we would like to thank you for staying with us Kevin and we hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
B-Side Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2015

The hostel was very clean, ample facilities, spotless bathrooms and very friendly staff, parking was also provided. High attention to detail. Great value for money, however despite this the place did not feel cheap. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All Rooms Very clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oavlo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

It was a few months back i stayed here. I must say it was the cleanest hostel i ever stayed in. Everything was immaculate clean. Staff were excellent and very welcoming. bedroom was great with wooden flooring and was so clean. bathroom kitchen dining area very clean.
I would highly recemmend this premises to anyone its cheap also.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne marie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great location, pretty much central to evrrything.2 minute walk to all main pubs and nightclubs. Plenty of options nearby to grab some food.friendly and helpful staff. Very clean With good facilities.Would def stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tully00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

The hostel is very clean and provides all that is required for accomodation. The location is perfect for the nightlife of carrick-on-shannon. Highly reccommend. The hostel is very close to the main take aways in the town but no noise could be heard. Large car park to the rear of the building.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davydart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carrick-on-Shannon hotels
0.1 km away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
162 reviews
5.3 km away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
260 reviews
0.2 km away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
542 reviews
2.9 km away
Leitrim Inn Lodge
Leitrim Inn Lodge
#13 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
75 reviews
0.3 km away
Aisleigh Guest House
Aisleigh Guest House
#4 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B-Side Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B-Side Hostel

Address: Bridge Street, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range: $73 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2011, B-SIDE Hostel offers comfortable and very reasonably-priced quality accommodation. B-SIDE is situated in the very center of Carrick-on-Shannon, Leitrim, beside the river, Carrick’s great restaurants and pubs, the rowing and tennis clubs and cultural centre, the Dock. B-SIDE Hostel accommodates guests in its 4, 6 and 8 bed rooms and provides full kitchen and lounge facilities. B-SIDE is ideal for individuals, families and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B-Side Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing