We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (957)
Filter reviews
957 results
Traveller rating
451
292
123
58
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
292
123
58
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloughrea hotelrooftop barthermal suitelake viewlovely hotellir barfunction roomrelaxing breakfriends weddinggalway cityfood was lovelysteam roomlast weekendwould highly recommend this hotelwedding receptionfrom start to finishtop class
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 957 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed here mid June, for a weekend away and wasn't disappoint. The hotel was lovely and welcoming.

Staff were exceptional friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable, clean and modern. Lastly the food was great and also a lovely full Irish breakfast.
Would recommend!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh T, Customer Services at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Paula D

We would love to thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Loughrea Hotel and Spa, we are delighted with feedback from our guests.
We relished to read you had enjoyed your room and of course the food so much. A big thank you for your very complimentary remarks on our staff, we completely agree they have such a welcoming attitude and are the foundation of the hospitality industry.
We would be delighted to welcome you back again any time, contact us sales@loughreahotelandspa.com we would love to assist in personalising your stay.

Kind Regards
Niamh T.
Customer Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Went during race week and the bar lounge was buzzing. Great sign when you see a local eatery full of locals. We got a very friendly greeting from the hostess, she informed us it would be a 30 minute wait for a table as we did not have a reservation. We happily waited enjoying a apple martini at the bar which was one of the best I have had. Once seated our waitress was very friendly and efficient nothing was to much trouble, surprising due to the fact it was so busy. The menu has so many options we wanted one of everything I had the king prawns to start yum. The rack of ribs fell off the bone. The manager checked our table the whole way through our meal. Nice to feel so special. Congrats to all involved we will be back

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank reinivaldo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh T, Customer Services at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear reinivaldo74

A big thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Loughrea Hotel and Spa, we truly appreciate all of our guest feedback and were simply blown away by your very kind review.
We are thrilled you enjoyed every aspect of your drinks & meal and we are so happy that our staff try to go the extra mile for our customers, they are definitely the corner stone of our company.
We have passed on your very complimentary remarks to the staff and they were delighted and we would love to welcome you back again, any time. Contact us sales@loughreahotelandspa.com and we will assist in any way on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Niamh T.
Customer Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Nice hotel, good sized rooms and food (we had dinner and breakfast).

Definitely try the cocktail making class on the roof-top. Unfortunately it was raining heavily so we couldn't sit outside.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Rooms were air-conditioned, which was one of the reasons we chose this property - surprisingly not many hotels in Ireland, even 4 star and above, have air-conditioning.

What let the hotel down were the smell of old food in the lobby area (scented candles would have gone amiss) and the very small spa. Spa was definitely not worth the fee - it wasn't a relaxing environment. We ended up returning to our room to shower and change as the changing area was too cramped.

The lighting in the bathroom needs to be improved - far too dark and as the mirrors in the bedroom were smoked glass, not looking like Coco the clown after applying make-up was a challenge.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SMWSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh T, Customer Services at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear SMWSingapore

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Loughrea Hotel and Spa, we appreciate all of our guest feedback.
We are very glad you enjoyed your bedroom, the staff, the drinks and the food so much. We have taken your concerns on board and will relay them to the relevant mangers.
We would certainly love to welcome you back again, contact us at sales@loughreahotelandspa.com and we will assist in personalising your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Niamh T.
Customer Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. The rooms are quite large and we had a pretty view over the lake. We ate lunch and breakfast in the hotel restaurant and both were good. It is at the edge of town and has ample off street parking

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank retksp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh T, Customer Services at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear retksp

A sincere thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Loughrea Hotel and Spa.
We are really delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming again. Contact us at sales@loughreahotelandspa.com and we would be delighted to assist in personalising your next stay.

Kind Regards
Niamh T.
Customer Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

The room I had was ok - not especially spacious but was clean. The bathroom though was somewhat dark - some extra lighting wouldn't go amiss, when all tiling is black!
Breakfast was a big disappointment. Can't understand why they have an on-duty 'chef' who can barely manage to hard cook poached eggs. The fried eggs were hard and rubbery. Sausages were tasteless. A Full Irish? Only if you don't want to taste what Ireland has to offer.
Bar food was just about acceptable, though serving staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall disappointing and won't repeat.

Room Tip: I had a lake view room - nice view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh T, Customer Services at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Tom O

Thank you very much for giving us feedback about your stay.

We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations.

We very much regret this and we ask you to believe that these issues do not in any way reflect the quality of service and hospitality that we offer to our customers.

Unfortunately, we cannot revisit the issues which gave you a false impression but we nevertheless hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again during your next visit.



Kind Regards
Niamh T.
Customer Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews