We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Nearby Hotels
US$338
US$271
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodson Bay Hotel(Athlone)
US$101
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prince of Wales Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Grand Hotel(Moate)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cooneys Hotel(Ballymahon)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
271
167
71
24
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
167
71
24
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to townlovely hotela family run hotelfamily reuniontea and coffeebreakfast roomfunction roombuffet stylewould stay againcouldn't faultwould highly recommend this hotelsaturday nightbar foodtop classnext morninghotel is situatedgreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

We have just returned from a one night stay in The Shamrock Lodge Hotel. We had travelled up from Cork and check in was friendly and efficient with Patrica at front desk.The hotel has a friendly feel from the minute you enter and our room was big and comfortable with a Lovely big double bed.The dark wood furniture is nice and there is plenty of space for clothes etc.Tea and coffee facilites in the room which was handy.The bar is spacious and our food was terrific , I had the burger and my husband had the fish and chips delicious and good sized portions and served with a smile We spent a nice night in the bar and then breakfast next morning was very good and plenty of it. overall a Great hotel which i would not hesitate to recomend .

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank adioCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Hello adioCork,
Thank you very much for your review on our Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I will forward your kind comments to our Food and Beverage team and Patrica on Reception. We look forward to welcoming you again in the Future.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Stayed here on the October bank holiday weekend Located about 15 min walk outside the Town we checked in and were sent outside to a 2 bed apartment which was cold and a bit damp so we headed into reception and was given a room in the hotel which was very satisfactory .the hotel is fine and in a quiet location

Room Tip: The room inside the hotel was fine but the outside apartments were very cold
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonyag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Hi anthonyag
Thank you very much for your review on our Hotel. I have noted the comments you have made about our 2 bedrooms apartment and will follow up on this. We look forward to welcoming you again in the Future.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights commencing boxing day.
We were staying in a family two bedroom apartment. They are a great space for a family to stay in a double bedroom with ensuite, a second bedroom with two single beds and a bathroom attached and then a lounge area which can accommodate another family member. The lounge area has tea and coffee making facilities also a microwave and seating.
I found the room to be quite dated especially the bathrooms (which smelt damp) and not as nice as the photos online but still a great space for families.
The hotel is not based in the nicest part of town but does make it easy to walk in if needed.
We ate breakfast in the hotel which was a buffet style, lots of choice but a bit average in quality.
In all a good hotel for the price paid.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank cullen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Hello cullen13,
Thank you very much for your review. I have noted all your comments and will look into the issues you have identified . We take all comments from our customers very seriously as we strive to improve our Hotel at all times. We look forward to welcoming you again to our Hotel.in the Future.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Very nice small hotel just outside Athlone. Room was clean & spacious. I ate in the bar upon my arrival on Monday, very reasonably priced. I had a conference the following day in the hotel, food at lunch was very good, factilities were good. Staff very pleasant, especially Rory on reception. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ABL2189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Hello ABL2189
Thank you very much for your review on our Hotel. We appreciate your comments and are delighted you were happy with your stay.
I will forward your review to our Food and Beverage team and to Rory at Reception. We look forward to welcoming you in the Future.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Wonderful hotel, Everything about it was prefect. We got engaged and what a suprise that was. he room was spacious, clean, and large double and two twins. Coffe/tea making facilities, TV Dinner was lovely.Really liked the breakfast too and staff was friendly and attentive. Would absolutely stay here again. Lovely place, only a short walking distance from the shops too.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathleenkelly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear kathleenkelly99,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review for our family run hotel. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and what a special stay it was! Huge congratulations to you both. We would be delighted to host your wedding day also if this was possible! We would be thrilled to welcome you back to stay with us at another time Kathleen.

Thank you again so much,
Alan McCaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews