We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner as a short get away. It was nice but the bar is very very small so you would be lucky to get seats.
The staff were friendly.
The food in the restaurant was excellent and that's why I'm giving it four stars. I can't fault it.
I wouldn't recommend stating here for families or long term stays

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank liz f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dncross, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear liz f

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our food quality and consistency so I know Chef will be delighted to hear your kind comments ! We are currently looking to expand our bar to cater for the extra demand however in the short term our large Cedar Restaurant with it's double ceiling height offers a fantastic alternative. Of course you can avail of the bar menu too in the restaurant should you desire.

I do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards
Daniel Cross
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

room had chipboard panel instead of window that didn`t fit noisy air extractor outside requested other room window catch broken and beds looked like someone had slept in them! at dinner food was ok but presentation poor food splashes and fingerprints on dish breakfast was not good either my seat had hole in it and food poor, not clean and in need of repair was looking forward to visit but hotel seemed run down and in need of repair really disappointed

Room Tip: only saw two and wouldn`t recommend either
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank matthew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dncross, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear matthew h

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am very concerned to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are a 4 star property offering a 4 star service and we endevour to exceed our guests expectations. With that in mind I can assure you that if you choose to stay with us again everything will be of the highest standard.

Please send me an email to dcross@athlonespringshotel.com before your next stay.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards
Daniel Cross
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We stayed here last year and enjoyed it so much we stayed again this year. We received the same great service from all the staff and again the foods was really nice. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the waitress was extremely nice and offered juice for the kids. there was music playing on both nights which I thought was a great idea, there was no music last year. It just lifted the spirits of everyone and helped to finish off a great day.

Room Tip: All rooms are really nice and spacious in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dublinmissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dncross, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear dublinmissey

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The music is great in the bar and really does make for a good end to the night! I will certainly pass on your very kind comments to the the whole team. I certainly hope you shall make it three in a row and allow us to welcome you back next year!

Warm regards
Daniel Cross
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Had visited the hotel 2 years previously hence my return as it was fabulous but I was very disappointed this visited
The hotel on arrival looked grubby outside
The reception was the same not that fresh hotel feel
The rooms where very run down and the shower heat was extremely hot which I told them about for safety of other visitors especially young or old they could be burnt they didn't seem to bothered
The service at dinner was ridiculous waiting over 30 minutes for main
The breakfast was a disaster there was no clean plates we had to keep asking for cutlery and the food was buffet with very little to go round a large breakfast room
I won't visit again which is sad goes to show if u take your eye of the ball things can slip because this was once a great hotel

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank shelly09Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dncross, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear shelly09Dublin

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am very concerned to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We always receive such positive feedback in relation to the Hotel. Any concerns that may be raised by our valued guests during their stay are treated with the utmost importance and dealt with promptly and efficiently. With that in mind I can assure you that if you choose to stay with us again everything will be of the highest standard.

Please send me an email to dcross@athlonespringshotel.com before your next stay.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards
Daniel Cross
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Just home from a one night stay here. I have to say the hotel is excellent but the staff make it. From Colleen on reception to the lovely gentleman with the foreign accent that facilitated our afternoon tea (forgot to get his name) , they were so welcoming and friendly it really made our visit. We had a baby and our 12 year old and both had a blast. Pools lovely. Afternoon tea was delicious. Highly recommend

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Breffnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dncross, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Breffnig

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed an excellent stay with us. The afternoon tea is delicious and would you believe it was actually international afternoon tea week this week! I will certainly pass on your very kind comments to the the whole team and especially Colleen. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards
Daniel Cross
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.7 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,003 reviews
3.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.4 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
6.5 km away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range: $87 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing