We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay with a beautiful family!!!”
Review of Gort Na Mona B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gort Na Mona B & B
Ranked #2 of 9 Ardara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights here at Gort Na Mona.The high standard of quality was only surpassed by the friendliness of this family and the welcome as you arrived and throughout out brief stay.The private wing were we were accommadated was beautiful.More than all the trimings were available to us.The property has a rural setting with lots of sheep.Its only a short drive to the village of Ardara and there are lots of maps are available in the guest lounge for trips out to the peninsular and views of the Islands.Beautiful breakfast in the breakfast room.Not to single out any family member out in paticular but Fionas mum is a real cuttie and 1 of the 4 kids "Lorkin" is a real trick and provided us with the happiest of memories of this B&B.In the town Nancys is a good place for a meal.Thier Beef and Guiness pie is to die for.A thanks to Fiona for letting us use her washer and dryer as we had been on the road for 10 nights and a bag full of dirty washing.Laurence worked hard during the day but made this family complete when her returned home and the true family atmosphere made us feel very much at home.Thanks you so much AGAIN!

Room Tip: Upstairs room looking towards the water and views of Ardara
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robspunkrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

after a long drive across a few county's we were welcomed by the family and treated to some lovely irish hospitality. Fiona and Laurence and their family made us feel like we were at home and nothing was too much trouble. Laurence likes a chat and is always interested in the travels of the guests and is very helpful in suggesting areas around donegal and ireland if you are unsure. Fiona does an excellent breakfast and everything was clean in working order and the beds a delight to sleep on. Would definately recommend this as the highlight of the b&b we stayed in during our trip to ireland.

Room Tip: there are rooms downstairs for the travellers who do not like to lug bags upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We agree entirely with the previous reviews!
We stayed on Saturday, 21st April. We arrived in the town at 5:30 at the Tourist Information Centre. This doubles up as a shop with the most stunning examples of weaving which are made on the premises. The lady was most helpful as we hadn't booked and the shop was closing. - She recommended Gort Na Mona.
A quick phonecall and short wait - and we were met by Gran! - This wonderful old lady greeted us and then bombed along in her little red car as we followed trying to keep up for about 2 miles to the B&B - we couldn't believe it!!
Gran showed us to our room - a separate building holding 4 bedroom suites. The room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. There were thoughtful little touches - brochures, hairdryer, tv, chocolates, tea+coffee+biscuits. We were invited to relax in the conservatory if we wished and to breakfast in the main house next morning.
We were VERY comfortable and slept well.
Breakfast was excellent - the couple are so friendly and Lawrence was very informative. We also had our toast served by Lorcan (I think!) and were introduced to the rest of the children - they were very well behaved and later waved us off!
I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsAT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A very warm welcome from Fiona, Laurence and their cute and funny little children in their very quiet B&B. It is only a 5minutes drive away friom the local pubs and shops of Ardara but we enjoyed being woken up at the sound of the sheep bleating in the field next to the house. It is also ideally situated to take a good walk up the Slieve League or the cliffs of Bunglass.
The level of comfort was excellent and we enjoyed the very good breakfast served by a four-year-old little ‘cook’ before leaving for our next destination with everyone waving to us from the doorstep.

Room Tip: Any room is great and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Everything about this B & B was very good. The B & B is new, very clean and comfortable. Fiona and Lawrence are very nice people and do a wonderful job with everything. It is located about 2 miles from Ardara on a working sheep farm in very pretty countryside.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardara
13.3 km away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
667 reviews
2.9 km away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
328 reviews
13.3 km away
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Killybegs
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Woodhill House
Woodhill House
#5 of 9 in Ardara
177 reviews
2.9 km away
Drumbarron House
Drumbarron House
#6 of 9 in Ardara
22 reviews
3.2 km away
Auntie B's Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gort Na Mona B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gort Na Mona B & B

Address: Donegal Road | Cronkeerin, Ardara, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ardara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ardara
Price Range: S$119 - S$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gort Na Mona B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Gort Na Mona B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing