We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hylands Burren Hotel(Ballyvaughan)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ballyvaughan Lodge(Ballyvaughan)
Book now, pay at stay
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hazelwood Lodge(Ballyvaughan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cappabhaile House(Ballyvaughan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burren View B&B(Ballyvaughan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
374
74
30
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
74
30
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanor houseafternoon teacorkscrew bartasting menudining roomdrawing roomjunior suitedining experiencefine diningfour poster bedmichelin starsmoked fishsoufflegalway bayprivate gardentwo nightspeat fire
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Our stay at Gregans Castle Hotel could not have been more lovely. The setting of this charming manor house in the Burren is breathtaking and the grounds are beautiful. There are mowed paths for you to walk if you’d like to take in the views, which I thoroughly enjoyed. The interior is gracious but comfortable, and we found the staff courteous and helpful. Peat fires burned in fireplaces in the common areas. Our suite was located at the end of a wing, and though it was a bit of a walk from the entrance and amenities, it was absolutely worth it for the views, layout, and privacy. It featured a spacious bedroom, spa-like bath, and a charming sitting room. I wish we’d stayed much longer than the single night our schedule allowed. We voted our bed the BEST of our trip - lovely linens and soooo comfortable! The bar is warm and welcoming with a lovely selection of whisky and wines. The staff enquired about a time for breakfast, but we had an early flight from Shannon in the morning, and they offered us a cold breakfast in the drawing room. We arrived there to find a table beautifully laid for two, with more offerings than we had ever expected. It was a private sunrise breakfast, and capped our stay in Ireland. Gregans Castle Hotel is officially our favorite lodgings in the world, nudging aside our former favorite hotel in Shanghai!

Room Tip: There are no elevators, to my knowledge
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank HappyCamper796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We enjoyed staying here in June of 2017 and just loved all the staff. They were so warm and welcoming and had everything you could possibly want. I selected this location because we wanted to be near the Burren and out in the countryside. This is an incredibly beautiful part of the world and our hosts made us so very comfortable. Our room was small but very nice and the views were gorgeous. We were just amazed at the restaurant and not prepared for the incredibly marvelous dinners which were beautifully presented. The breakfasts were just delicious and the view of the Burren from the dining room was gorgeous. It's a really lovely retreat from the rest of the world and not to be missed if you are in this area. I hope we will be here again one day.

Room Tip: Book early because this hotel is very popular. Also book dinner way in advance because the restaurant is fabulous!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hamberann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Gregans in April 2017. It's now officially our favourite place to stay. The service is excellent but it's the location and food which standout for me. We had dinner and Afternoon Tea here and it's simply art on a plate and Michelin standard food. The Afternoon Tea is outstanding value and makes a mockery out of the Sherbourne in Dublin. It really is that good. We will be back again and again!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

While the location is beautiful and the rooms are charming, there are quite a few disappointments to our stay at Gregans Castle Hotel:
1). Make note, it's not an actual castle but a charming home. Some people seek real castles to stay in and this is not one.
2). For a fine dining/luxury experience you don't actually get what you might be accustomed to receiving with that. For example, we tend to dine at nice places because they are always so good at accommodating special dietary needs. Gregans said that they could no problem, but in fact continued to repeatedly serve us gluten even though we double checked at every meal and they confirmed it was gluten free. Later they admitted it wasn't and blamed it on us. Not high end luxury.
3). They don't really let you know this very clearly and you can get caught off guard that their dining room dinner is not served on Mondays so you can get caught without an expected dinner plan.
4). Their "king" beds are two uncomfortable twins pushed together to make the bed a king bed. And they are really not that comfortable at all.
5). We had dinner reserved for 7 one night and asked to change to 630 and they said we could. However when we showed up at 6:30 they said we had not confirmed it and though that had handfuls of open tables they would not seat us and we had to sit and wait. Just another example of the service being substandard what they claim to be.
6). The interiors are ok. Not particularly remarkable.

I would suggest staying elsewhere or if you feel like it's your best option to stay as few nights as possible and know that if you have any special dietary needs they may say they are accommodating but in fact they are not. They may tell you your food doesn't contain the ingredient you are allergic to, but serve it to you anyway again and again even with you constantly requesting.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank laurenluna2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

First, I must admit the dinner at the hotel was amazing. The Chef deserves a 5 star review for dinner. The staff are very friendly and the location is amazing. And when it came to accommodating our dietary restrictions I can say that the experienced staff made sincere efforts. Yet, despite informing them prior to our arrival and repeatedly (annoyingly?) during our stay we were served food containing the exact substances we were trying to hard to avoid.
We started go experience odd symptoms after eating at the hotel and must have spent hours trying to figure it out. And thats not mentioning the lost sleep. Obviously, Gregans is the type of hotel that has new staff each season and needs to train them each year. If you are lucky enough to get one of the repeat employees then you stand a chance of avoiding your food allergies. However, many don't speak fluent english.

The simple solution that would have saved us and everyone else a ton of time....labelling. Just label your menu then everyone knows. And then you won't have staff going back to the kitchen all the time.

The rest:
1. The beds need to be replaced at least in our room.
2. Their restaurant is very popular so make sure you book in advance.
3. Showers are small but good pressure.


With some simple changes it would be a 4 or 5 star review.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews