We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning to Hens or stags!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Generally happy with hotel overall, clean, modern etc. Was part of a hen group and very dissapointed with treatment. Asked for 'noise disturbance' deposit of 50 per head (a lot of money) and wouldnt return it until rooms were actually inspected the following day(thought deposit was for noise?).Never heard the likes in my life and i have been to a lot of hens. If they dont trust or want hens/stags then dont take them - plenty of other places would be glad of the business. At least could have informed us before we arrived, they talked to the organiser enough times. Would recommend staying but just have enough money in your pocket!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gallaghers1, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Thank you for your comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the facilities in Gallagher’s Hotel.
Gallagher’s Hotel has welcomed Stag & Hen groups since opening 7 years ago. We have used the non disturbance policy for ALL our groups regardless since then. The terms of the non disturbance policy are clearly pointed out at reservation stage, a copy of the policy was sent to your group leader prior to arrival. As we only deal with the group leader it is up to him/her to pass this information on to the rest of the group. Upon arrival we ask for full payment and a pre authorisation from a credit card to the value of 50.00 Euro per person. This ensures that other guests are not disturbed during their stay and no damage has been done to the Hotel bedrooms.
The non disturbance policy is in no way designed to offend anyone, we merely want all our guests to enjoy their stay in Gallagher’s Hotel with no disturbance, in the same manner we ask all our guests for a swipe of a credit card arriving whom are not with a group and are individual bookings.

Gallagher’s Hotel can not be held responsible for the group leader failing to pass on this information on to the rest of the group. If you have any further queries please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
There are newer reviews for Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

580 - 584 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed here at the start of january and there wasnt much happening in the hotel at this time of year. We had a lovely, quiet stay overall, but when we first entered our room we realised that the window was broke and wouldnt close properly due to a faulty handle, therefore the room was cold and nosy due to the wind. A phone call to reception and we were giving another room straight away which was nice. The rooms are quite big with a big bathroom. You can set the temperature of the room which was a bonus. The tv is small but there are plenty of channels. We dined in the hotel restaurant both nights and the food was lovely, although they were out of lasagne on the first night!! They also did carlsberg on draught which was good! Parking at the hotel is free to quests and you can come and go as you please. The carpark is at the back of the hotel up a small narrow lane. Overall a good stay, even though there was no entertainment in the bar at this time of the year!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClarebearBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Hi,

Top class hotel. A group of 10 stayed here for New Years. Everything was perfect. Couldn't ask for better. The food in the carvery restaurant was delicious (Turkey & Ham), the hotel is possibly the most central I've stayed in, the staff were friendly (bar staff need to speed up though as the older guy working there did NOT want to be there!!) Oh, go to the Cottege Bar down from the hotel!

All in all, 5/5!

Room Tip: 3rd Floor means two different lifts but the rooms there are much bigger so it has it's pro and c...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConCo_Bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

A was part of a small party who had stayed here before last year, and had been looking forward to a return.
The rooms are decent size, comfy and only issue would be with the shower curtain sticking to you due to size, as mentioned by another poster.

We opted for the Christmas room and buffet meal deal, and the service was very good, being provided with mulled wine and a pleasent smile by the staff.
The room was well decorated, and effort had been put into presentation.

Unfortunatley, the food was not a patch on last years - being a warmed up buffet affair this year. It felt like they were skimping on quality and going for a cheaper alternative, with the catering staff were out of the place faster than the butter melting on the potatoes.
Breakfast was fairly decent the next morning, so that made up for it a bit.
Would be back again to stay, but would probably skip the christmas buffet next time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanticRomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Room was freezing when we arrived and put on the air conditioning , it took ages to warm up and we were still freezing.

Forgot an item in the room we were staying only noticed it was missing when i returned home. Range up to report it , i was told that the room was occuplied, took my name and number and said would ring me.

I am still waiting for a phonecall. Dissapointed to say the least as had heard great things about the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imelda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
2.6 km away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,142 reviews
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.2 km away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
1.5 km away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#7 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,277 reviews
5.8 km away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny

Address: 100 Main Street, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: $84 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotels in Letterkenny, Gallaghers Hotel is centrally located in the heart of this bustling town with state of the art facilities including the Ard na gCeapairí Bistro, Inis Meain room which serves a full bar food menu, Mc Carry's bar and top entertainment hotspot, Milan nightclub. This Letterkenny Hotel boasts the elegant Gaoth Dobhair Suite, which can accommodate up to 180 guests, ideal for the perfect Donegal wedding. The executive boardroom and the Gola Room facilitate smaller business meetings, which makes Gallaghers Hotel in Letterkenny an ideal conference and banqueting location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallaghers Hotel Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing