We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Maru Koala and Animal Park
from US$82.52
More Info
from US$714.50
More Info
from US$1,038.22
More Info
from US$357.89
More Info
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
224
122
49
20
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
224
122
49
20
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews phillip island close encounter mini golf native animals animal encounters overseas visitors dingo kangaroos maru talks albino enclosures victoria aussie stroke holes shelter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2021 via mobile

This is a lovely place to visit with young children who love and have an interest in Australian native animals.
Koalas are most in evidence with many to see and obviously enjoying their home here. The many staff are wonderfully knowledgeable and interact with visitors making this a special experience.
Not only koalas but many other animals, bird's and reptiles to see and learn about. You can actually participate in feeding the kangaroos, wallabies and emus in a safe environment.
It is not expensive with lot's to see and do for the children and adults also get lots of enjoyment here as well.
We and the grandchildren found the talk's that were delivered by the enthusiastic Park staff were wonderful.
The cafe has good value meals and was very clean with efficient and helpful staff.
Toilets were clean and easy to find.
At the end of your visit you can also enjoy a round of mini golf on a surprisingly challenging course.
Thoroughly enjoyed our visit.
In summary this was a wonderful day for all ages, it was good value, the photos we were provided have wonderful memories for us.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank helen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaruKoalaPark, Online Manager at Maru Koala and Animal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2021

Hello Helen,

Thanks for taking the day to visit us! It is great to hear that you and your granchildren enjoyed seeing and interacting with all of our animals. We hope that everyone was able to learn a lot from our Park Keeper talks as well.

We appreciate your kind words about our park and we hope to see you again at some point in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2020

A clean surrounding for human and animals. The rangers are really nice and answer all your questions.. they were beautiful..!
The restaurant had no vegan options and only one vegetarian option on their menu. Food was a bit overpriced,( for what you got), and a few staff members were not as great /nice with their service. But maybe they didn't had a great day ..:-P

We enjoyed our day and that was a that mattered.. It's a beautiful small park and if you take your time you can really appreciate it

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank MissOzzy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaruKoalaPark, Online Manager at Maru Koala and Animal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

Hello MissOzzy33,

Thanks for visiting and taking the time to leave your thoughts on Maru.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and seeing all of our animals. We hope that you were able to learn a lot.
Thanks for your feedback in regards to our restaurant, Due to the current restrictions in place in Victoria, we do have a limited menu in regards to what is available.
I will make sure to pass on your feedback about more Vegetarian options to our restaurant team. We hope to bring back some of our prior options back soon.

Thanks again for visiting and leaving your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2020

Maru Koala & Animal Park was an absolutely amazing experience that I did today. The staff were all super friendly and extremely helpful. The animals all looked well kept and happy - not to mention friendly! The kangaroos in the petting exhibit were so calm and walked straight up for a scratch. It was great to see all the native animals enjoying themselves. We did the Dingo encounter and had the pleasure of meeting Banjo! The love the staff/keepers have for the animals was also just beautiful to see. Would definitely recommend doing the animal encounters. We also played Pirate Pete’s mini golf and it was probably my favourite mini golf that I have played! A great course, so much fun for everyone. Gift shop prices were definitely more than reasonable - as well as overall price. 100% recommend everything about this place and can’t wait to come back and visit next time we have a holiday in Victoria!

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank MeGeSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaruKoalaPark, Online Manager at Maru Koala and Animal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2020

Hello MeGeSc,

Thank you for visiting and telling us about your day at Maru! We appreciate the 5-stars.

We are thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic exerience meeting all of our animals and staff. We hope that you have a lasting memory of Banjo!
Thanks for you kind words about our Mini-Golf course as well.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2020 via mobile

We visited the park during these difficult times. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful. We loved seeing the animals and having the interactions with the Koala and Dingo. Would definitely visit again if we come to visit Phillip Island. Highly recommend

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank wendysH6663MY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaruKoalaPark, Online Manager at Maru Koala and Animal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2020

Hi Wendy,

Thank you for the kind comments about our park. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time seeing and spending your time with our animals!!

We thank you for your support and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2020

It was a great little wildlife park, it was great that you could feed the kangroos and they let you pat them, the talks where very good. The kids and us adults also enjoyed the mini golf .

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaruKoalaPark, Online Manager at Maru Koala and Animal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2020

Hi melissajL3295NA,

Thanks for visiting Maru. We are glad to hear that you had a great day out with the entire family and seeing all of our animals. We appreciate the kind words.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews