We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moeraki’s Hidden Gem”
Review of Moeraki Tavern

Moeraki Tavern
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Moeraki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located just 45 minutes drive north of Dunedin and 20 minutes south of Oamaru, Moeraki Tavern offers the perfect place to unwind and take in the beauty that the scenic town of Moeraki has to offer. Relax with uninterrupted ocean views while enjoying some of the classic dishes from our restaurant. Our juicy Ribeye steak, Moeraki seafood chowder and blue cod are all crowd favourites. View our menu to see our full range. Interested in a beverage after a long day of exploring Moeraki? We stock an assortment of local and imported beers, as well as wide range of wines and non-alcoholic drinks. Our tavern is family friendly, offers free Wi-Fi and also sells takeaway alcohol. For fresh fish and harbour views, Moeraki Tavern is the place to be. We look forward to meeting you.
Reviewed 31 October 2021 via mobile

Fantastic place to stop in for a meal with great harbour views. The food was faultless, and staff friendly and attentive. We ordered the Kaik pizza, chips, seafood chowder and fisherman’s basket. Parking is a breeze. A hidden gem!

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank AliceJB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2021

Great meal here in Moeraki overlooking the jetty and the boats bobbing around in the ocean. The huge bowl of seafood chowder with ciabatta was a hit with me , and my hubby went with blue cod, salad and chips. Both meals exceeded expectations. Great Hinton Pinot Noir too.

Date of visit: October 2021
1  Thank Dreamcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2021 via mobile

Detour off main road, can’t miss it bright yellow and blue boat situated on corner.
A gem is what I found in a small fishing village which used to be a whaling village back in 1836
The tavern is adorned with hunter trophies of stag and pig heads and boats in glass cases.
Outside is a huge deck to take in the tranquil ocean views on a sunny day.
Currently the tavern is in transition of new ownership but the owner was there and was a good host.
Blue cod on the deck couldn’t think of anything better-stunning.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2021

I love the tavern. All the fish & meat dishes always look great. They have upped their plant free effort recently with a vegan menu. This menu I would suggest has been created by meat eaters. It's expensive and not very inspired. I had the vegan nachos. Essentially a bowl of tomato sauce with frozen carrots & peas (in nachos?!) atop plain dry corn chips. One staff member did ask if our food was okay, I explained why I hadn't eaten mine (sweet, no beans, no nacho flavour, not good etc) and she said she'd pass on the feedback, but no offer to exchange/refund. When my plate was originally cleared, still full & barely touched, nothing was said at all by the owner who took the plates. I would be more than happy to help with suggestions for vegan food that is easy to make & tastes good. Also could see a staff member through the kitchen hatch squirting cream from the can in to her mouth.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smashing74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2021

They went the extra mile for a 50th celebration and between the great food at reasonable prices, top level service and ideal location we couldn’t have asked for anything else.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Connoisseurkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Moeraki Tavern also viewed

Moeraki, Otago Region
 
Hampden, Otago Region
 

Been to Moeraki Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.