We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$88
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solway Lodge Hotel(Gretna)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunters Lodge Hotel(Gretna)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gretna Hall(Gretna Green)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
993 results
Traveller rating
614
214
99
47
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
614
214
99
47
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsailsa suitegarden roomwedding receptionbridal suitelovely hotelanvil hallfour posterevery member of stafffirst classdb bjacuzzi bathlounge barwedding mealfull scottish breakfastbride and groombed and breakfastwedding guests
Filter
Updating list...
820 - 825 of 993 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Fantastic hotel - I honestly can't recommend it enough. The staff can't do enough for you and are so friendly. Our meal on the night before our wedding was lovely, as was breakfast, and our wedding flowers etc were all brought to the room without having to ask. The whirlpool bath and the shower were fantastic - very generously sized bathroom. I didn't want to leave and will definitely be going back for my 1st anniversary.

Room Tip: Bridal rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyandAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

From the first night we checked in, the staff were very very helpful, they couldn't do enough to make sure we were comfortable and relaxed before our big day. The room was immaculate, and the cleaners lovely the next day. Our reception held in the Garden room was just fantastic, and Ellie and her staff made sure everything went like clockwork. They ask questions, they take note, and they work hard to maintain the day runs smooth. The bar staff were always on hand, the food was of a very high standard. The guests commented on how lovely the place was, and how efficient and polite the staff were. Overall, this is the best hotel to hold your reception in Gretna. A great day and great memories.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tillerman93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments. It is a huge boost to our team when we receive such positive feedback. We are delighted you have taken away many fond memories of your special day and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Gables in the future.

Kindest Regards
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We were recommended to go the Gables by one of the girls that work in the Ralf Lauren outlet store in the Gretna Gateway Outlet Village, we just popped in for a bite of lunch and very good it was too!

Just home made soup and a sandwich, but excellent quality and great value, we will definitely call in again on our way South.

Much much better than suffering the junk food at one the motorway service stations.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Me and my Wife would like to say a Massive thank You to all at the Gables Hotel who helped in making our special day/stay a truly memorable one !!
May i start by saying how welcoming , helpful , polite and friendly all of the staff were .
When we booked the venue 18 months ago we never imagined it to be so perfect !!
We are from Greater Manchester and we took approximately 80 guests with us and booked out all the rooms and had our reception here. They did not disappoint .
Not one of our guests had a bad word to say about the hotel , staff or food etc , every single one of them were very impressed !!
We would like to say Thanks again and hopefully we will be back for a few more visits over the years and hope that this Hotel remains as good in the future as it is today xx

We sincerely hope that when people read this review they should at the very least consider this Venue , whether it be for their special day or just a flying visit to Gretna .

Andrew & Rachel x x
Married at the Anvil Hall - 4th June 2012
Reception at the Gables Hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Me and my husband have just returned home from the The Gables Hotel after getting married there on Monday and i couldnt wait to write my review!! My first BIG thank you goes to ALL the staff. We booked the reception here 18 months ago and through all that time they were helpful, friendly, polite and did everything they could to make it all as stress free as possible. All of our guests commented about how good they were!!
All together we had 83 guests at the wedding, 3 course meal, buffet and disco. Everything went so smoothly we didnt have to worry about a thing. The food was fantastic, they decorated the tables beautifully and the DJ was brilliant.
Checking in and out with all our guests was quick and easy and everyone was happy with their rooms. We stayed in the Ailsa suite and it was amazing, there was more than enough room to get me and my 2 bridesmaids ready on the wedding morning and the fridge was big enough for my hoard of champers that i had brought!
All my guests have said what a brilliant time they have had (well the bits they can remember) so i want to say sorry and thank you to the staff who had to listen to singing and getting drunken cuddles of those few and for dealing with them the way they did!ha
Overall it truely was the best day of our lives and a weekend that we and all our guests we definatly remember! Thank you so much to everyone at the Gables and we canny wait to return next year!!!! Rachel and Andrew xxx

Room Tip: Definatly book the Ailsa suite if you can, the big jacuzzi bath is amazing!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bradburywilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Rachel & Andrew,

Thankyou so much for your wonderful review.

We always try to make our guests feel welcome & do everything we can to make your stay memorable. It is such a huge boost to our team when we hear that we have been successful. We take it as a huge compliment when couples such as yourself choose to spend your special day with us. I want to thankyou for sharing your day with us and letting us know we played our small part in making it a success. It was a pleasure having you and your party here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards & Warmest Congratulations Mr & Mrs Wilson

From all the Team at The Gables

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews