We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
18
2
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
2
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

On a rare afternoon when the sun shone, we found ourselves in what had been the greenhouse to a stately home with few places to sit to avoid the substantial solar gain. Service was slow and slightly disorganised - the place was extremely busy but clearly insufficient staffing. Two scones and a cup of tea - £10. Parking is a bit chaotic with no clearly marked disabled spaces.
Staff are doing their best in a rather tumbledown complex of what may he been farm buildings and overgrown grounds. Greenhouses of this size need a few blinds if they are to serve as cafes.
But it was obviously popular to many visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 417mercian20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Me & my partner spent 5 days at this beautiful site, we took our dog too who loved it! The concept is brilliant & I can honestly say it one of the most peaceful & relaxing holidays I've ever had! There's plenty of lovely walks & you can hire a boat to take out on the beautiful lake a stone throw away from the tent.. The owners are so helpful & very welcoming.. & the cafe serves up some gorgeous food & cakes.. I could not fault this trip one bit! We will be returning!!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
5  Thank KateElizabeth_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

We visited here as a family of 5 - myself, hubby, Tommy (8), Alfie (5) and Molly the dog. We were greeted by Sally and shown to our tent by Jim. This was the only bit that felt a bit rushed but I think that's because we've stayed in feather down tents before so Jim perhaps felt we didn't need such a long explanation of the operations of the log burner etc.
We wasted no time in unloading the car and exploring our new home. The tent was exactly the same as the other one we stayed in (Cumbria) only outside there was a big bonus - another tent! - hereby referred to as the " boys den". This was stocked with camp beds, board games, books, colouring stuff....... What a bonus!
We'd paid extra to have a frills tent so we had a veranda, hammock and wood fired hot tub. The hammock was perfectly placed to admire the lake and the hot tub was great (it takes 4 hours to heat up so light it early).
So, back to business. The boys left us to unload the rest of the stuff because they HAD to try the rope swing. They had made friends with the boy and girl from the next tent within half an hour and were swimming in the lake with them within 45 mins. ( I'd recommend wetsuits).
Back to the tent. With wooden floors throughout and comfy beds you could forget you are camping until you want a morning coffee and have to wait an hour for the stove. We boiled the kettle before bed and filled a flask as I'm a grumpy cow before coffee! The cupboard bed is always a favourite with the kids. The toilet is fine but there's a door to the outside that can be opened from the outside which the boys took great pleasure in doing! The cool box does its job reasonably well. You just put frozen water bottles in with your food. These can be swapped daily from the freezer at the house. If you want to chill drinks then I'd suggest popping to the spar (just a couple of minutes drive away) and buying a bag of ice. Then, fill the big pan and use as an ice bucket. Or, put your drinks in a bucket and place in the lake!
Just behind our tent (captain cook) was a feeding station for the sheep. The farmer comes VERY early in the morning on a quad bike and the sheep go nuts! This woke us every morning and is the only thing I would change.
The outdoor shower is divine. If it isn't hot enough just set the kitchen tap running and that sorts it. Don't try to get in while the hot tub is filling unless you want a nuclear experience .
The Apple Store cafe is well worth a visit but can be a tad pricey. We sat outside and enjoyed the beautiful gardens while the boys enjoyed the play area. Just round the corner is the "straw barn". A huge hit with all the children AND the dogs. Our dog made friends with Tipsy (the owners dog) and they chased each other around for hours.
In the village is a lovely park and a great place called the Barn. This has a garden centre, gift shop and cafe. On the Saturday night we noticed a sign saying that the bar was open so we took a look and it was gorgeous.
We asked Neil (he's like the grounds man and he's really nice and helpful) for fishing rods and we enjoyed that and even caught a few fish.
The whole week was wonderful. The boys and Molly loved the freedom. They would just wander out of the tent and play in the trees or the lake (it's shallow near the tents, great for paddling. Our 8 yr old did enjoy swimming all the way across in the deeper bit) .
Sally was lovely and full of info. If you need something , Neil is your man.
Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Mrsscrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

This place is magical! The "camping" area has three or four pitched tents which are more like lodges, with each having it's own private part of the site, with an extra "discovery" tent just for your group/party next to your main accommodation.
The main tent is wonderful - flushing toilet and running water - but aside from that you get a real feel of being out of the rat race, away from it all! And the toilet and sink are so well disguised that you don't feel that you are "cheating" at the camping!
Our children absolutely loved the cupboard bed which was a bonus as it was easy to get them to bed each night!
Unlike some other Featherdown farms, there is no honesty shop, so take with you what you need. However there are sacks of wood in abundance, easy to collect from a central area near the tents.
Although we had "neighbours" in the next tent, we really didn't see them, and had our very own country break, building fires, going in the hot tub (which takes some preparation time to heat up with a fire, but that's part of the fun!), and enjoying the peace, quiet and nature! The ducks could be rather noisy - but not in a way that caused any kind of stress - it was rather relaxing at night listening to them quack the night away!
The tents are based near to a lake, which gives a real adventure feel. There was a copy of Swallows and Amazons in the discovery tent, which was rather apt! Our pre-teenage son actually forgot all about electronic devices and wifi, and instead enjoyed playing outside, keeping his fire going, cooking on a stick, building a rope swing, and doing what children should do!
We never got chance to visit the Apple Store Cafe during our visit, so will make sure we do so if we do return again.
We were lucky with the weather for a few of the days, but we did have a fair bit of rain. However, the tent has a veranda area, which means you could still have it open and sit "out" but undercover, so reading a book whilst listening to the rain pitter patter on the tent roof!
Not cheap for "camping", but worth every penny to escape from it all for a short break!

Room Tip: All tents are well spaced out with an excellent view, but we loved "Captain Cook", with the hot tub, right at the end of the group of tents.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank GeorgeParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

Absolutely fun....the location is lovely right on the edge of the lake....the tents were far enough apart to have privacy.. loved the rope swing and hammock....hot tub was fun and we got it that hot we had to top up with cold water. ...Sally is an attentive host and Neil is helpful and both happy to answer any questions... ..Will be going back next year! The Apple store cafe has reasonably priced very good home cooked food! The cakes are amazing was definatley spoilt for choice...could take my dog inside which was good...

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews