We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveller rating
483
87
28
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
87
28
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed private tour the owner aran islands drawing room personal tour rack of lamb favorite hotel honeymoon suite county clare ocean view fabulous food short drive two nights highly recommend staying here sitting area irish hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 614 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We've been torn between ranking this a high four or low five-star property; we are on the fence, but overall, it's a terrific place, unusual with its very own centuries-old castle that only hotel guests can visit.
It's in a lovely setting, with colorful plants and bushes and, weather permitting, sights of the Cliffs of Moher from the front of the hotel--and also, if you're lucky, from your room (we were lucky!). The ambience is very dated, but that's what also makes the place special although it would be nice if the individual guest rooms were a little updated. Still, you felt as you were stepping into an Agatha Christie mystery, complete with peat fires and a first-class dining room. Our one dinner there was one of best meals we had in Ireland and breakfasts were delicious and large as well (best scones in Ireland-and we had many; fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, pancakes, etc.).
Wifi in rooms was not good, and service was erratic. Yvonne--the receptionist, waitress and all-round employee--was terrific: friendly, efficient and very helpful. The husband and wife owners were much more reserved, the least friendly Irish hosts we met during our two weeks in Ireland. Still their country house is a nice respite and unlike anywhere else you'd stay in Ireland. So worth it if you want to be out in the country (it's a 10 minute drive from Doolin).
Also not to be missed is the tour of the Castle which the owner gives nightly. But beware, it's not for the fainthearted--narrow, dark steep stairs and a narrow fourth floor that has no railing. Also, if you have time, ask about how to get to the walk along the country road adjacent to the property. Owner advised us to drive about a mile up then walk along the dirt road. It was beautiful, prettiest walk we had in the area, and we did several.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vatravelingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Location: 5 min drive from Doolin. 10-15 min drive to the Cliffs. Need a car. Free parking.

Facilities: Former dining room with good food at fair prices. Nice breakfast in same location in the AM. The site is of an old castle and a country house built in the 1800's. Room was beautiful with distant view to the Cliffs of Mohrer. Bathroom could use some work. Lots of history and the owner will take you on a free tour of the castle in the evening. Well worth it.

Service: Kudos to the wonderful redhead waitress in the restaurant, she was lovely. She made up for the reserved nature of the owner and the rushed nature of the reception.

Wifi: good.

Bottom line: nice mid-range stay for the Cliffs

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJRTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

This place is the greatest! Fabulous views, great rooms, wonderful service, excellent food. The people are very happy to help and give suggestions. The family castle is on the grounds, and the owner will take you on a tour. You just can't miss when you stay here.

Room Tip: Call the place directly and request an ocean view! Don't book through Booking.com etc. Go directly to the source.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J335UBjoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

I can't knock the property in anyway, fantastic room and fantastic breakfast. The only small things I would note is that the hotel has more of a bed and breakfast feel than a hotel. Take out the small bar and it is. It is about a five minute drive from Doolin( that is well noted on their website). Small things like help with bags would go a long way. We also got a cold feel from the hosts as if they didn't enjoy what they were doing and the hospitality is below normal Irish hospitality standards. I personally would not stay again but I would highly recommend the hotel to a certain type of traveler.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank hgarrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I had the pleasure of staying at the Ballinalacken Castle Country House for 3 nights from 9/9-9/11/16 and it was truly a delightful stay. As we were driving from town up to the Country House, we caught a glimpse of the Castle that is on the premise and it takes your breath away. We were so fortunate that the weather cooperated and Declan was able to take us on on a tour of the Castle and provide us with the history. He was a wealth of knowledge and provided me with additional history in a hand out that he had about the Castle. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with a beautiful view ( I stayed in Room #9). I had a wonderful dinner at the Country House one evening and felt so well taken care of by everyone who waited me. Both Cecelia and Declan are very hardworking as the innkeepers, going non-stop to ensure that any need/request that their guests have are addressed. They are clearly committed to making their guests stay memorable and they were very successful as far as I am concerned. I would highly recommend the Ballinalacken Castle Country House to anyone visiting Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DonnaLee1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews