We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$315
Hotels.comUS$317
PricelineUS$315
Orbitz.comUS$317
CheapTicketsUS$317
TravelocityUS$317
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,217)
Filter reviews
1,217 results
Traveller rating
624
289
161
87
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
624
289
161
87
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea drawing room stately home scones spa treatments birthday treat sunday lunch sauna and steam room an overnight stay wedding venue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,217 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2021

Booked for one night at the end of July as part of an anniversary break in a "Grand" room with dinner included.
Emailed 10 days before to confirm our reservation/dinner reservation and received an email confirmation back with the wrong details (wrong room type/rate - we had been downgraded!!)
I called to sort this out and held on for over half an hour before getting cut off. Tried again and got through to someone who said they would amend it and send a corrected email confirmation but nothing was sent.
Emailed the next day and finally got a correct booking confirmation back by email after two attempts.
But then, two days later and six days before we were due to stay they just cancelled our stay!! Blamed lack of staff due to covid and said we could rebook but not until end August/start of September! But there was nothing about this on their website and it was still taking bookings from 1st August...
So we had to find somewhere else at very short notice with very limited availability and were left with the feeling we had just been cancelled as we were on a cheaper rate through Secret Escapes. Fortunately Secret Escapes were very good and refunded us quickly but we would avoid this hotel due to our very poor experience.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Service
1  Thank Phil25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2021

This hotel clearly needs refurbishment and there is a need for staff training and more hands on management.
No hot water in bedroom basin, lift broken for 2 nights - and we were 4 friends in our 80s and had to climb to the 3rd floor.
Muddled waitress service at table but had to wait nearly 45 mins for dessert in the restaurant and the same in the Bar eatery. Clearly the kitchen is overwhelmed with the number of covers.
On the positive side - the food was excellent - well done chef.
The staff were all very apologetic but we felt things were out of their control. Expensive break at £620 for 2 nights per couple.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien Doyle, General Manager at Stapleford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2021

Dear Diane H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I do sincerely apologise for your less than positive experience with us. We have unfortunately experienced numerous staffing challenges due to the pandemic however this does not excuse the lack of hot water in your hand basin. Our lift was out of order for 2 days due to a wait for the correct parts. I do appreciate your positive comments in regard to our food offering - I will of course ensure our head chef receives your feedback.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I hope your experience does not dissuade you from visiting us in the future.

Kind regards

Damien Doyle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2021

For my friend's ' special' birthday, I booked afternoon tea for 2. On the confirmation e-mail I was surprised to see that having booked the table for 3.30, I was to make sure we vacated it by 5pm! After arriving we were shown to our table and shown the afternoon menu. Sometime later our order for drinks was taken. My friend decided that we should have a glass of champagne, this was brought to the table. OK so far.after 30 mins, we then had to ask where the food was. Another 30 mins went by and some sandwiches were brought to the table. By this time and hour had gone by and we had had nothing to eat! I could go on, suffice it to say that the overall service was very poor and the selection of miniscule cakes was below par. Isabella, the waitress was pleasant and very apologetic, as was the Restaurant Manager. No explanation was given for the poor service but at least we were not charged for the champagne, by way of compensation.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank marilynhY7351LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien Doyle, General Manager at Stapleford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2021

Dear Marilyn H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I do sincerely apologise for the delay in service during your afternoon tea with us. We have unfortunately experienced numerous staffing challenges due to the pandemic which has impacted our service levels. We are working hard to rectify this. I am sorry you felt our dessert selection was not sufficient – this is by no means the usual feedback we receive in regards to our afternoon tea offer.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I hope your experience does not dissuade you from visiting us in the future.

Kind regards

Damien Doyle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2021

Lovely afternoon tea, cannot fault Stapleford staff, food or setting. Just wish is was still a hidden gem like it was 23yrs ago when we got married there COVID regulations followed impeccably and good social distancing in the drawing room. thank-you everyone.

Room tip: No overnight stay this time
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien Doyle, General Manager at Stapleford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2021

Dear Jan E,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your wonderful feedback.

I will be sure all the team sees your review – we are experiencing challenging times and so was delighted to read that the team delivered above your expectations.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I hope you choose to visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Damien Doyle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2021

When we arrived at the beautiful grounds of this hotel we were promptly greeted in the car park by a wonderful lady called Bridget. In side we went through a temperature check etc and then shown to our table.
The atmosphere was relaxing and our afternoon tea was delicious. The selection of drinks, sandwiches and sweet treats was perfect. One of the best afternoon tea’s we have had the pleasure to experience. The staff during our visit were very friendly and attentive.
On our way out our daughter asked for a dragon unicorn teddy from the display to purchase and that was dealt with efficiently too.
Thank you Bridget and the wonderful team at Stapleford.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Raks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews