We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice meal”

Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 24 July 2017

nice dinner of lamb shank followed by sticky toffee pudding in clean comfy dining area for a reasonable proce

Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback we hope you will visit us again soon.
Kind Regards
Geri Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

Haven't visited fir over a year and only live a quarter of a mile away. Last time it was poor, this time worse.
We moved tabled three times as the surfaces were sticky as was the bar
Ordered two starters with accompaniments & a main course. The main course arrived before the starters & after waiting a further 10 minutes we had to chase up the starters?
After our meal we piled our plates up & these were left for an hour before being cleared away. Externally where have all the flowers gone? The place is a poor shadow of the thriving restaurant it used to be

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank frank20152015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback we are sad to hear your visit to us was not to our usual high standards and we will pass your comments on to the relevant departments for review.
Kind Regards
Geri Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Went here to eat on Sunday 16th July 2017 for a birthday meal. The venue was chosen by the birthday person.
Sadly I always like to give a balanced view of a venue, but other than the staff this place is at it's best a transport type of offer. The meals were very basic and lacked presentation and flavour and I have had better at a road side snack bar.
Whilst the staff did enquire if all was ok, it was difficult to say anything different at the risk of offending my brother in law.
Not only was the food poor the whole place lacked hygiene and care. The patio area was covered in cigarette ends and looked like it hadn't been swept for months, the garden furniture cushions were filthy. Sadly I had to visit the gents toilet as I left, if I had seen it before I had eaten I probably would have given the place a miss, talk about lake of care and maintenance, a true dump, made me wonder what behind the scenes was like.
If this is a green king operation I will avoid them in future.

5  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback we are very sad to hear your comments and will be sure to pass them on to the relevant departments for a resolve.
Kind Regards
Geri Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Food at The Rising Sun, because it is subject to the, quite often, awful "Old English Inns" standard menu, seems to fluctuate. There has been a noticeable improvement lately and last Tuesday the food provided at lunch time was absolutely marvellous. Two of us ate choices off the cheaper menu and both meals were excellent, very adequate and about half the price of similar food in other restaurants in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank derek d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and we hope you will visit again soon.
Kind Regards
Geri Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We're local B&B owners who often go to this pub when in need of a wagu burger treat. We've noticed a definite improvement with the service here which used to be slow and disappointing. In particular Szabi is a joy to watch working behind the bar and we were also impressed with Cleo, who was kind enough to bring our dog a bowl of water. It's great for us to be able to recommend this pub to our guests with confidence.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fiorenzuola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoy coming to us and look forward to seeing you again soon. We will pass on your lovely comments to Szabi and Cleo.

Kind Regards

Geri Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Woodmancote, Cheltenham
Toddington, Gloucestershire
 
Prestbury, Cheltenham
Winchcombe, Cotswolds
 

Been to Rising Sun Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing