We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
20
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
20
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews authentic experience bamboo hut dia ama village grass
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I did an incredible amount of research to find a home stay where the payment would go directly to the people that were working so hard to give you a real - not contrived hilltribe experience. Most in Chiang Mai are tours that pocket most of the money and don't benefit the people giving you the experience. Chiang Rai is much better and closer. Jems and his family (Akha), with the computer booking support of their dear friend Julie have put together an unforgettable true experience where you live, learn and stay an Akha way of life. From the walks in the fields and forests learning what is eaten and used, to cooking over open fire and learning handicraft, this is a true home stay. An evening of song and dance is also enjoyed on longer stays with family friends dressed in their traditional Akha clothing. The grass thatched, woven walled bungalow you stay in is basic with a 1 inch bed pad with sheet/blankets, clean and safe. The bathroom is NOT in your room but a very basic sit over urinal down the hill. So if you can't handle such basics and are squeamish about bugs (noise of bugs) and food you can't identify, this isn't the experience for you! BUT if you are open minded, eager to learn, and can appreciate this simple way of life and the love of the people that comes with it..I highly recommend!
A taxi can be arranged to pick you up right at the airport of Chiang Rai with a stop at the White Temple and will take you to the village center where Jems will meet you....and you meet many in the village if late in the day :)
This is an experience that really makes you appreciate the little things in life and puts a smile on your face. The countryside and views from your bungalow area are outstanding!

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank Niobe_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I know about Akhajulyah guesthouse from my friends who had a great time while they were in Thailand. The information of the Akha family and their guesthouse on the website are very interesting. And YES, I had an amazing time there.
I contacted Julie (the founder) and received a quick response from her. I was picked up from the airport by private car; one hour from Chiang Rai airport to the village, visit a white palace is a must. Beautiful terraced rice field, flourishing flowers can be found along the way and around the village. Be sure to bring a camera to capture their beauty when you visit. 4 days 3 nights living and enjoying Akha life: sleeping in a bamboo hut, learn how to harvest and grow rice in the rice field, cut bamboo tree to make furniture etc. A true experience and fun!!!
It is hard to say goodbye plus I was impressed and have a big suprise to know from Jems that Julie is running the business just to help out the Akha family (his family) and for the guests to make sure they have a real happy vacation with the local family without any profit. A special thanks to Jems, his family and Julie. Keep it up! I loved the food and I loved the people there who always had a smile on their face with full of love and a beautiful life. Absolutely, I will be back!!!

Date of stay: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiger Tours V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed at the Akhajulyah Guesthouse during my visit to Thailand and had a very good experiance.
I wanted to see how the people of in the hilltribe in Thailand lives and was recommended this place to stay. There are different options for how long you want to stay and type of activities to do. You live in bambo huts and eat with the family and get to see they way they live and work. The people are very friendly and its a fantastic experiance.
The other thing is that the money you pay for your stay goes to the family in the village. The women running it has built it for providing for them, so she only arrange for the stay and organize it but then money you pay goes to the family.
I can recomend this to everyone and I am planning to return to the village on my next trip to Thailand.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank sp0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

It was an unforgetable experience for my family !
Live like real akha people with naturel and kindness.
With basic condition but clean and safe, we enjoy every day to live simple life, participate with all activities: cut the field,have dance with the akha,sleep and eat together inside the hut, try their traditional costume....great fun !

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lapierle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Real life in an akha family. An amazing experience where you can follow then and help out in their every day tasks. Basic conditions (squat toilet, bucket showers) but very clean. The money goes to the family and the village so it's for a good cause! Ama, the family mother is really helpful and kind... Had great fun, even if we had to understand eachother with many signs for she did not speak english (as most of the family, but thas a great part of the experience!)

Date of stay: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Have_fun_n_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews