We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
US$32
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
FindHotel
Etrip
Hotels.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
60
37
14
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
37
14
14
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Villa Bali consists of a series of thatch roofed cottages around a beautiful clean pool. The only thing between the restaurant at the front of the complex and the beach is the road. In short if you like the beach why wouldn't you stay here? The building style tends to a sort of syncretic mix of Bali, Thai and Nepalese influences as apparent to this scribe and reminds me of the Pattaya and Jomtien Beach holiday resorts which we discovered while living there during the mid-1980s, in particular the Sea Sand Resort at Bang Saray. It also reminds me of a very similar beachside complex at Lombok, the Windy Beach Resort at Sengiggi. My wife and I prefer this style of complex to the sterile air conditioned mausoleum style of most modern hotels at beaches around South East Asia. It is well located being close to Rayong and about an hour from Pattaya depending on which route you use. It would make an excellent stopover if you were on your way to Trad and Cambodia on a visa run or a holiday. We found the wifi quality was excellent and extremely practical as we were in the middle of a house purchase and needed constant contact with the vendors and their agent in Australia Sitting in the lounge overlooking the beach is a great way to share sundown and associated drinks with your mate on his 60th birthday. We found the staff excellent. John and Toi and their two lovely daughters made us feel right at home and went out of their way to satisfy our every whim. The live band was a treat, so long as the local farang is kept from the microphone. The buffet birthday dinner was excellent as was breakfast. We availed ourselves of hotel drinks and brought our own wine to the party. We liked the bathroom layout and there was plenty of space for the two of us in our villa (#10). We'd go back anytime sooner or later and plan to stay longer next time if only to try one of Jon's pizzas which seem to have an excellent reputation. Thanks to Jon and Toi, Tanya and her sister (whose name escapes me) for your hospitality.

Room tip: We only used room # 10 and found it excellent.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Bali Villa is one of the best, quietly known spots on the whole eastern seaboard. The Laem Mae Phim beach, just about an hour south of Pattaya and only 20 min away from Rayong, is more like being sent back to the 70's before Pattaya existed. Discover this place before the tourists do. The American owner built a genuine wood fired pizza oven which produces some of the best real pizza this side of Chicago. Located directly on the beach, the villa compound is a virtual botanical garden, with different fruit trees planted at each villa. The decor and detail of architecture in all the buildings and landscaping reflect the skills of a true artist. Impressive. The staff are extremely accommodating without being persistent or a bother. The free WiFi and Internet connection is good enough you can escape from the city and telecommute for any business. The staff is experienced at coordinating special events, so if you have a birthday or anniversary, will create something special. The price and rates here are a real value.

Room tip: All the rooms/villas are centrally located around the pool area; there are no bad rooms.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrBurt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Villa Bali is really nice and unique, a series of wooden rooms in a complex with fruit trees and swimming pool. The breakfast was included and was great, ranging from eggs and hash browns and banana pancakes. The restaurant overall was really nice with a range of home made Western and Thai food.
The staff were not overly friendly but it was unclear whether they were shy or impolite.
Through Villa Bali, we booked a transfer from the Cambodia border. The transfer was 90 minutes late in picking us up, so we insisted upon a discount.
We did find some bugs, including cockroaches in our room, not sure whether this is normal for this area?

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 May 2012

we stayed 2 nights , when given the key to the room it was a musky smell we had to buy air freshener and turn aurcon on, no coffee making facilities,small tv with rabbit ears for a arial,bad reception on the stations, breakfast was cold and the bacon the size of a 10 baht coin...., the next day i ordered scrammbled egg and thats what i got- no presentation in the food,

the bali style shower is dangerous with the stones and the cement board , and a smell comes up from the pipes. Because the room UNITS are decorated with grass roof and straw lining in the roof ( what a fire hazard) NOT ONE BIT OF FIRE FIGHTING EQUIPMENT TO BE SEEN)
RECEPTION need to be trained... at 5pm the next day we had to go to reception to get our room cleaned and bed linen etc changed. electricity connections broken and dangerous.
WILL I STAY THERE AGaIN : ANSWER IS NO ! needs some good management ,,,, we paid 1700 baht but got better on the way up for 400 baht ( wake up villa bali resort) before to late

but positive side is close to beach, nice gardens,good couple playing good music live ( pay them more they were good)..... BUT THATS IT!!!!
tony from australia

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GrayganderThailand, Owner at Villa Bali Eco Resort (Laem Mae Phim), responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

I am very sorry for your bad experiecne with us. Staying in the thached roof bungalows when it is raining, gives them a musty smell when the thach gets wet. As for the staff, we have already had a talk with them, their sevice has to improve. The bacon might be small but they are also supposed to give ham and sausage, and it should not be cold, we will work on this also. We appreciate the comments and will try to improve Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed a several times here the last 9 month. The village is quiet and nice. Various big tree are providing the place a charming atmosphere. The bungalows are beautiful and not to small. The matress was changed to new one while our last stay in April 2012. For some nights there was only a room in the Hotelhouse available, which is not as charming.

The restaurant is ok and serves thai and western food. That the pizza is better than in Italy I cannot confirm, but for Thaipizza definetly a good one.

The owners is a friendly thai/english couple, which seems to drive this resort for many years.
But unfortunaltely the whole thing getting worse. Various details are not ok for the price in my eyes: Some stairs to one bungalow (6) was dangeous broken (if you carry your heavy luggage over it while arriving in the dark). AC remote control was missing (a whole night freezing 20C degrees). The hot water is killing the fuse repeatingly. A broken bed frame. Heavy worn menu cards. The beer in the minibar was removed the last 3 month, I guess because of ongoing problems with it. Wifi is not covering every bungalow and some more uncomfies because the staff seems not to enjoy their job.
Compared to our first stay we don't want to come again right now. Maybe we'll give them a last chance in some month - because the place is really likely.

Room tip: Hotelhouse is not as charming as the bungalows. Check the fuse if hot water is not working. Wifi is not in every bungalow working well.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GrayganderThailand, Owner at Villa Bali Eco Resort (Laem Mae Phim), responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for your review, and letting us know what the problems are, we will look into them and make repairs. We do not get to every room all the time so we appreciate the guest comments and complaints.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews