We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yuli's Homestay
Nearby Hotels
US$160
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$99
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Same Same Bungalows(Kuta)(Great Value!)
US$20
US$14
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pipes Hostel(Kuta)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
375
107
19
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
107
19
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot showerair confree drinking waterlocal womenhome stayshared kitchenrooms are spaciouscold waterpancakesplace to staypiece of paradiselight sleepernearby mosqueairport pickmotorbike hiretea coffeenice place
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Very friendly and helpful owners - and their staff. Room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable - although cold water shower took some getting used to, there is a new hot water shower by the swimming pool. Good position and easy to walk to village with travel agents, restaurants and a bit further to the first of the many beaches. Would recommend this home stay (note: it's NOT a hotel!) highly to travellers who have sensible expectations. Yuli & Mike are A1+!

Room Tip: Excellent email communication - discuss the choice with the owners.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henzel1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

As all the other reviews have said and I will also say, this place was great. Not sure if there web site has been updated but they have added some more rooms and a second pool. The additional rooms have been added in there own section and have not been sqeezed in, which was good to see. The addition of each block of rooms having a shared kitchen area is really a great idea. Tea / coffee and drinking water is all provided and a kettle and cooker, glasses, cups, bowls also provided. The rooms do not have thier own fridge, but there is a large fridge in each of the 2 kitchens. Yulis and Mike are great hosts and you can get information from them and they are keen to help, staff are so polite as they try out their English. If you want your breakfast cooked a certain way just explain that and they will do their best, same for what you eat, if you don't ask you will not get.

All the good things have been said in all the other reports so is there anything bad or you need to know? Well yes and no. I will list a few things that maybe some inexperience people may need to know. These are no way bad comments but are aimed at people who normally stay at hotels and find themselves in Lombok looking for good accomidation and thus will be drawn to this place. Due to it scoring high on tripadvisor and a possible recommedation in the next lonley plant ( which will see it fully booked from now on )

OK some facts for the inexperienced or first time people.

The rooms do not have hot water, I like hot water for a shower, but since you are some distance from the beach I seemed to cool off by the time I got back to the room and didn't find the cold water too bad. There is a shower room next to the second pool that has hot water ( if you can not be without it). If you are in the first set of room its a bit further to walk.

This is a Muslim country and the call to prayer at 4am may not suit everyone, since the mosque is close by, now this mosque seems to be for young children who do the call for pray, but their tone range does not do the normally sweet melodious sound any justice and can get on your nerves if you are a light sleeper.

Don't be put off by Kuta beach, the part of the beach nearest Yulis, this seems to be the local beach were the fishermen land their catch, its a bit dirty and fish smelling. Don't worry there are much better beaches nearby.

Places to eat in the evening are a bit of a walk, if you don't rent or ride a scooter. Its not far but maybe if you are with ederly people or have walking difficulties. Don't forget to bring a torch / flashlight there are not many street lights. It reminded me of the quieter parts of Goa.

You really need some form of transport. If you don't ride a scooter / bike you going to have fork out for taxis. If you want to get to the best beaches.

As I said these arre not major bad points just pre-warning for those not use to Kuta and come to think about it these things would apply to any place on Lombok and around Kuta, What else can I say, but I'm going back next year, if I can get a reservation

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happyguy4413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Nearly 14 days of pure pleasure!
Nearly 14 days of enjoyment.
Nearly 14 days of having the feeling of being at home.

So, how to describe Yuli's Homestay?
Simply perfect!
No jokes.

First of all, you must understand that what makes a "homestay" a hometay... are the hosts.
If you come to a homestay, it's because you want to live a different experience than what you would have in a hotel.
And with Mike and Yuli, it is truly different.
How?

Well, first of all, Mike and Yuli will make you feel very comfortable.
They are not just nice people, they will make you feel part of the family.
And with they're beautiful little Maya, you will wonder if you even had left home.
Oh! By the way, don't make sweet eyes to Maya... she's mine, ok? :)

The rooms?
Clean, beautifully lighten, sheets that smell like heaven and a shower that is separated from the rest of the bathroom. This may be a detail to you... but when you go pee at 2 a.m., no worries, you won't walk into a water puddle like many places in Indonesia.

Breakfast?
3 wonderful choices when i was there?
Banana pancake, pineapple pancake and omelette.
With a choice of freshly pressed fruit juices and that delicious Lombok coffee.
Every morning, it was perfect and served by the staff's honest and gentle smile.

The pool?
When i left the homestay (a few days ago) they're brand new super duper big pool was about to receive it's first guests and after speaking to Yuli on the phone tonight, the grass around the pool was already set and the guests we're already enjoying it.
Darn... i just needed a few more days! :(

So should you book at Yuli's Homestay or somewhere else when you will visit Kuta, Lombok?
Let me think for a half a second!
HEY!!! Call now before these guys are booked rock solid till the end of 2015!

I tell you, this place doesn't just make you feel good about being there... they will make you feel part of they're family!

Mike and Yuli... million thanks and see you soon!
Even if i have to cross the whole world to get to you guys!

Sylvain from Canada
xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox.....

P.S.: Please don't let these "other tourists" spoil Maya... SHE'S MINE!!!!! :)))))

Room Tip: ALL rooms are perfect! But the newest ones are closer to the new pool (by 30-50 meters). But if you ask me... this is a detail. (but maybe an important one to you) :)
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sylvain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Yuli's homestay was by far the best place we stayed in Indonesia. We originally booked for 3 nighst but stayed a 4th as we loved it so much. Mike and Yuli were amazing, really helpful with local area knowledge and great places to eat. Kuta is fabulous - the best deserted beaches ever and when we travel back we will definately stay at Yulis's.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireChrisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Yuli's was great. Very clean and comfortable and beautiful friendly staff. Yuli and Mike gave us lots of information about where to eat and what to see, and nothing was too hard. We were only sorry we had to move to other accommodation because they were full.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brigidv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews