We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply delicious”
Review of Auberge Medievale

Auberge Medievale
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Audrix
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 11 October 2018

We searched for this restaurant on Bruno's suggestion and it was simply wonderful. It was a rainy day and my mother and I got the last 2 tables and we were delighted. My mother enjoyed her veal kidney and morel stew with sides of ratatouille, pumpkin puree and potato salad. I had a fantastic escalope of fresh foie gras pan fried in truffle juice with crusty bread. Heaven! This I followed with the baked petit camembert with black truffles accompanied with grilled bread and a salad. The fresh strawberries with freshly whipped cream and a glass of Bergerac wine were divine. Truly a memorable meal!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2018

The Auberge Medievale exceeded all of our expectations. From the pleasant countryside along the way to the picture perfect village square it adjoins. Whether outside on the wisteria covered terrace or in the dining room it is a memorable experience. The food is perfectly executed Perigourdine classics. Well cooked and seasoned and efficiently served by a warm and friendly staff. Truly worth the drive to Audrix

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank NebrodiPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

It's always a challenge as a solo woman to eat out while travelling. Walking into a restaurant on your own and making your way through tables of happy couples and families to ask the waiter for a table for one is a daunting experience. What is worse is when, despite there been lots of empty tables and it being a still reasonable hour, the waiter makes you stand there while he checks with the kitchen and then comes back to tell you that you cannot be served because they only do so many covers a night. Amazing how they had hit that precise number! So I was turned away and made to walk back through the tables of everyone else with plates of food trying to keep some shred of dignity. What kind of place has so many tables if they don't plan on serving that many meals? And, what kind of place, what kind of person, turns away a lone female traveller into the approaching darkness with an empty belly?

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MichelleM5014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Can see why it's Bruno's favorite restaurant. We were two couples who are Bruno fans so had to visit to check out. WOW and was it worth it! Sat in a sun-soaked arbour in a most beutiful setting. Really tasty Foie-gras, with glass of Montbazillac wine, followed by duck cooked perfectly and delicious desserts. Meal was a great success and quite modestly priced. Will retorn when next in the area.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Howell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed five nights in this delightful, tranquil setting. Our comfortable room opened onto a spacious deck with furniture that invited you to sit and enjoy the view of the Medieval church and the peaceful village. The owners provided a good breakfast and we had two fine evening meals on the porch under the grapevines. Highly recommend both the room and the restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank nancygrant55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge Medievale also viewed

 
Le Buisson-de-Cadouin, Dordogne
 
Le Bugue, Dordogne
Paunat, Dordogne
 

Been to Auberge Medievale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing