We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$177
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
US$161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$217
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$230
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Beach(Kalkudah)
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$68
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Aki Villa(Kalkudah)(Great Value!)
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
4
6
1
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
6
1
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We are staying at another hotel so cannot comment on the reooms however we read about the food at Simla Inn and had dinner there last night. Best Sri Lnakan food we had so far!!! Rexion and his wife Angel are lovely! Rexion picked us up from our hotel with his tuk tuk. The whole deal was very good value!!! we will go to eat there again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sillyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Pros: delicious food, friendly staff.

Cons: We didn't think the prices were fair. There are other hostels closer to the beach.

On his website AC rooms are 3000 rupees, but we were charged 4000.
Rex offered to take us to Batticaloa to see the lighthouse and fort. He said this would be 3000 rupees including waiting time, but then asked for an extra 1000 rupees for an additional stop (which was a cafe were we bought him coffee and food!)
We had to use dialog code cards to get wifi access, but I was reassured this was included in the room price. However they tried to add them to the bill.
Rex and Angel said the beach was only 500m away, but it was over 1km so definitely borrow the bikes!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

On our five week trip through Sri Lanka we discovered this little but lovely place close to the beautiful beaches of Passekudah and Kalkudah.
At Simla Inn we enjoyed the great hospitality and food and had a wonderful time surrounded by the lovely Rexion and Angel. We strongly recommend this place for all those travellers, who want to enjoy the beautiful beaches without staying in overpriced luxury hotels.
But be aware, Tuktuk drivers sometimes tell you this place is not open, because they dont get any commission here. In addition, dont get confused by the nearby Victorias Guesthouse, its not the same place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toni j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The room was large and clean, had an AC and fan (both worked well), reasonably priced (double room at Rs.3,500/- pn).

The toilet taps were loose as was the lunch room tap and they were somewhat like the taps we experienced in the North.

The food was very good, Sr Thavamani's Crab curry is excellent and so are the leafy sambols. We felt rather concerned that this one lady was running around working so industriously. Her tea was excellent too.

The Manager, Rexion and wife Angel have basically risen from the ashes of Tsunami and war and are working towards a better future. They are really nice people and made us feel right at home.

The organization was a little bit haphazard because of the lack of proper help.

There was a budding vegetable garden at the back, and visitors will surely enjoy the fruits of the labour in a few months.

They also arranged a really nice tuk-tuk driver, Johnson to take us to Passekudah (10 mins drive) and to Batticaloa town (1 hr approx).

Proximity to Passekudah beach, the excellent crab curry, and the hospitality of the people at Simla Inn are the strong points. Passekudah beach must not be missed - you can walk a mile in the sea, but avoid the dangerous inland water points just before the beach!

There is a strong proximity for growth here and it looks like Angel and Rexion are working towards identifying a stable niche market.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank ChrisCrossDehiwela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We stayed during heavy rain and flood time. Very good economical rooms and tasty not so expensive food. Friendly staff. 20 minutes walk to the beaches(Pasikuda/Kalkuda). The caretaker young guy-Puspakumar-hard working person and quickly bring anything you need for the room, even the food to the rooms.!

Room Tip: Upstair rooms have good view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaywithanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews