We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simla Inn
Nearby Hotels
Uga Bay(Kalkudah)
US$158
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Beach(Kalkudah)
US$81
US$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nandawanam Guesthouse(Kalkudah)(Great Value!)
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$173
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
4
6
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
6
1
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

Hi! Simla inn is a very good place to stay. The acommodation and the Food was excellelent!! Also I felt home during my stay. I love the couple rexion and angel because they treated me like their family. The hospitality and kindness of the owner is incridibly amazing. Also the place is near the beach. They have bicycle for rent and tuktuk which is accissible for everyone. i recommend this place beacause i felt too much happiness during my stay. I will choose simla inn once i come back.. This tripoli ibasan from Philippines❤️

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cherry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

In total we come to the same conclusion as many before us: Friendly staff, but rooms not very clean, food overpriced, and on checkout very creative in the billing procedure the final bill can easily add up to ~2-3 times the expected sum.

Our experience:
The staff was indeed very friendly, which makes it difficult for us to write these review, but we really do not want others to experience the same disappointment that wee did.

We booked a simple fan room. The interior was as expected basic but functional. But the beds and bathroom was a bit dirty. That is: many insects, frogs and some cockroaches (living) under the mattress. But we are quite experienced travellers and used to basic rooms, so if it was only this it would be not a reason for bad review ;-)

The food was basic, but tasty and there was also a big variety on the menu, no doubt! But everything was a factor 2-3 overpriced (The price level was similar to a higher class restaurant, which is not justified for the again good, but basic food)

The service was overall good, the real problem was the very creative billing procedure at checkout. That is including all afterwards as chargeable identified services, plus slightly higher adjusted food prices, plus quite expensive tuktuk service, plus service charge (on the complete sum) the bill in our case added up to about 3 times the expected balance.

So in the end we paid ~55 EUR per night for a dirty room + standard food + the feeling of being cheated. If we had wanted to spend 50 EUR plus per night we would had rather spend the night in one of the luxury resorts in Kalkudah or Passikuhda.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Horst H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2015

checked in around 11 pm here on a short notice. Rexion and his wife did manage to prepare a average dinner. room and bath room was small but clean. if you are planing to check in there talk to Rexion about prices first. prices are reasonable but any one can get disappointed with there ad-dons

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Saweera G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The room and attached bathroom at Simla Inn was basic but clean. Friendly Rexion and his lovely wife Angel were very helpful and made sure that we had a comfortable stay.

Simla Inn is very close to the Passekudah and Kalkudah beaches. We decided to go to Kalkudah and it was absolutely beautiful and almost deserted!

We had just one meal at Simla Inn and it was superb. Authentic cuisine from the East of Sri Lanka!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank RoshJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We are staying at another hotel so cannot comment on the reooms however we read about the food at Simla Inn and had dinner there last night. Best Sri Lnakan food we had so far!!! Rexion and his wife Angel are lovely! Rexion picked us up from our hotel with his tuk tuk. The whole deal was very good value!!! we will go to eat there again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sillyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews