We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the beach but staff left us feeling jibbed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aqua Marine Beach Resort
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

The location is beautiful and the room was nice and clean. We did have an ant invasion in the bathroom right after it rained but they came and cleaned it up straight away. Room was 3500 rupee without breakfast. We chose not to have breakfast there as they only had a continental one available and we were after a local breakfast.
The beach is very quiet which was great. We went swimming by the light of the full moon in the warm water with lazy waves rolling in. I second Flashpacker6 with the AC units all installed in the hallway. It turns the whole hallway into a sauna before you get into your room and is a massive design flaw that will never change.
In terms of the staff we really felt like they were taking us for a ride. They wanted 5000 to rent their wind surfer for 1.5 hours, which considering the price of the room is ludicrous. We also asked them for recommendations on a massage place and they took us to the grossest massage place we've ever been to called Nilushi Lankan. I think they knew them so sent us there and took a cut. Guy at the front wanted money up front (5000ea) which always is a bad sign. Got taken into our rooms which had dodgy tables and everything was pretty dirty. Probably the worst massage we've ever had, no pressure, just weird light rubbing with heaps of oil. Answered her phone in the middle of the massage and had a quick chat to her boyfriend and then wanted a tip . Think the hotel staff must have taken a cut as it was crazy over priced and horrible.
Chatted to a local at dinner and they were astonished that they would have even considered sending us there........he thought the staff at Aqua Marine were a bit dodgy and the massage place was 100% dodgy.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Reubengates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2017

This hotel is located in an unspoilt paradise. All rooms have direct ocean views and were modern and clean. The management and staff were very accomodating and friendly. The breakfast was enjoyable and adequate. If you enjoy peace and quiet, this is the hotel for you. It is situated on a dead end street with only a few resorts in the vicinity. The main township is only 6 kilometres away requiring a short tuk tuk ride. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

I loved my room and the quiet the beach offered until I had to take a shower. The water pressure was just not good enough. I washed off the shampoo with the hand shower next to the WC. On the bright side, they served a good breakfast.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Shomasree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Lovely place with great, clean and spacious rooms straight on the beach.
The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
It's a very quiet location but other amenities are close by, restaurants, bars etc.
Visit now before the developers arrive!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Beg bugs, dirty bedsheets, only cold water in the shower, rooms not clean. Alcohol prohibited in the whole hotel. We moved out after one night although we had booked three. The only plus is the panorama windows in the rooms with ocean view.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Celine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkudah hotels
0.8 km away
Amethyst Resort - Passikudah
1.2 km away
Anilana Pasikuda
Anilana Pasikuda
#5 of 13 in Kalkudah
394 reviews
1.3 km away
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
#4 of 13 in Kalkudah
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Anantaya Resort & Spa - Pasikudah
1.2 km away
Uga Bay
Uga Bay
#2 of 13 in Kalkudah
904 reviews
0.9 km away
Amaya Beach
Amaya Beach
#8 of 13 in Kalkudah
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Marine Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Marine Beach Resort

Address: Kuburamulla Road, Kalkudah 30410, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kalkudah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Kalkudah
Price Range: $50 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aqua Marine Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing