We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachside dining!”

KAIBO Beach Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in North Side
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: Barbecue, Pizza, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cayman's favorite beach restaurant - worth going further for! Part thatched tiki bar, part European beach chic, part breezy Californian cool, and a generous dose of Caribbean nauticalia – you’re in for an aesthetic treat at this Cayman beachfront restaurant with outdoor grill and wood fired pizza oven. Casual fine dining is the style; locally sourced ingredients, simple preparation, amazing flavours. The creative menu of affordable plates is a comforting crowd pleaser. Look out for Barefoot Beach BBQ, every Tuesday, where the crowds jump up to live music, get down to limbo, and enjoy unlimited local dishes from the BBQ buffet. The monthly Luna Del Mar full moon dinner serves up a 3-course sharing feast, with chill-out music and sky lanterns. Nestled on a palm fringed beachfront, in secluded Rum Point on the North Side of the island, the foodie destination Kaibo boasts a stunning all day menu and pretension-free service. You’ll enjoy the scenic drive to this tropical playground.
Reviewed 24 June 2017

If you're looking for a place to eat for dinner in the Rum Point area, this is one of the few! This place was in walking distance from our vacation rental so was a great location.

We ate here two nights. The first night we ordered from the menu. I ordered the pulled jerk pork sandwich. It was very moist and flavorful and was a delicious. My husband had Kaibo coconut curry fish which was wonderful and probably the best thing on the menu. The ambiance is what makes this restaurant in addition to the food. it's right on the beach and luckily the weather was perfect.

The second visit we went to the all you can eat beach bbq. Again we sat right on the water which was beautiful. It was late, about 8pm, so it was dark and could not see our food very well sitting by the water. Beware of the crabs when you sit near the water as they crawl beneath your feet!

The food at the buffet was good. The bbq chicken was juicy and flavorful. However, because it was 8pm they were not replenishing the food. The pasta salad was gone, there was no more ox tail, and the desserts were gone by the time we finished. Seemed unfair given we paid full price. The service was very slow too and they never cleared our plates. Took forever to get our bill.

Regardless, i really liked the restaurant, the food was good and the location is unbeatable.

Thank JSoWhatsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaibo B, Manager at KAIBO Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a detailed review. We're pleased to know you enjoyed our menu, and overall had a positive and enjoyable experience with us! We take every review into account, and will look into the issues you mentioned regarding the Barefoot Beach BBQ. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 107 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017

Kaibo Beach has a famous Tuesday night BBQ casual dinner and dancing on the beach. The food was delicious island fair with many choices of fish, meats, salad, and dessert. The price is reasonable and a highlight of our trip.

Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaibo B, Manager at KAIBO Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thanks for joining us for our Barefoot Beach BBQ! We're glad to hear you enjoyed everything, from the food, service and ambience. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

They charged my phone for me behind the bar so mega points for that. Kale salad was unbelievably good- little heavy on dressing but add tuna and you are set! My son ordered a fruit cup and it was amazing- fresh watermelon, grapes- pears. beautiful setting, have fuss-ball and cornhole- so great spot for kids. Played reggae non stop- coffee shop next door not open on Monday. Worth the extra drive past Rum Point.

Thank Spacegrass78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaibo B, Manager at KAIBO Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

It was our pleasure having you dine with us at Kaibo! Always happy to lend a phone charge when we can. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We did dinner at sunset. The kids played on the beach while the adults sipped plenty of adult beverages. The service was on island time, but that was ok given the location. The ribs were unbelievably good. Take the kids to starfish point and then hit this spot for dinner. Amazing night!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Evets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaibo B, Manager at KAIBO Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

It sounds like you had a great night on Cayman's Northside, and we are glad to have been a part of it. We're happy to know you and the kids enjoyed everything. We hope to see you again next time your travels take you to the island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We arrived around 6:00 and was seated right away. The wait staff was very efficient and friendly. The Cayman Style Snapper that I ordered was cooked perfectly. My husband opted for the burger and it was good. My daughter MUST always order the pizza when we dine here. It is great for her that night and lunch the next day.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaibo B, Manager at KAIBO Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

It was our pleasure having you dine with us at Kaibo Beach! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed everything - including our wood-fired pizza. We hope to see you again next time you're on the island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KAIBO Beach Restaurant also viewed

 
Old Man Bay, Grand Cayman
 

Been to KAIBO Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing