We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
81
39
13
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
39
13
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfantastic foodevening meal was superbvisit relativesrange of real alesseparate buildingfish chipslamb shankcar parkfull englishlarge bathroomgreat accommodationpiefour poster bedfriday eveningvisiting the areanight's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We stopped overnight to visit relatives in the area and have a family meal. The room was absolutely sparklingly clean .... as was the rest of the inn. Every member of staff seemed to share pride in the place and went out of their way to make things "right". We had a good meal - simple, home cooked food, well cooked. The driving force behind the house is obviously Alan, the landlord and a real character. He sets the tone and succeeds in getting his team to follow the lead. I would definitely return, should I find myself heading this way again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndyCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

we stopped there on our way to Shrewsbury- 2 couples and felt this was an amazing find - close to town and midway for the Meres. Proprietors were friendly and informative to sights and the food was excellent and reasonabley priced. Rooms were spacious and well fitted out. Will definitely go back for a weekend break soon.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank marysmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Originally went to the Dickin Arms as this pub was not open but fortunately for us the bar staff there were rude and we came back to the Burlton Inn. Lovely cosy feel to the place and a great welcome from staff. Had a lovely pub meal and didn't feel rushed at all. Good value for money. Would definately go back again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We booked a room for two nights with breakfast. Our son is in the airforce and his in laws live in the area. He was home on leave with his family. So this was a good meeting point for us all.
We arrived Friday night in a very heavy rainfall. The inn had a BQ planed and a singer. So this was on in doors. What a fun night.
We were made very welcome by the staff and the locals.
We said no to the BQ but did have a lovely meal there and spent the evening with out son and wife.
The breakfast was hot fresh and very nice. The staff are so kind and helpful. We were made to feel like friends not just a guest.
The room was lovely. Our room was in a little cottage style building. We were upstairs. It had a large bed lots of storage space. A TV lots of tea and coffee milk extra. A small table and two chairs. And a very large bathroom. The shower was great lots of hot water. To be true full we couldn't really find fault with the room. The only downside for me was the bed was very hard. But my husband didn't mind.
On the morning we were leaving we were skipping breakfast so the kind staff made us a couple of sandwiches for our journey home.
Thank you to all the great people at the Burlton Inn. We will happily stay again. And would strongly recommend you.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank happyincumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Arrived late afternoon and were greeted by staff and shown to room. Hotel is easy to find on a main but relatively quiet road out of Burlton. Rooms are located in a separate building behind the Inn. Access is really easy as there is a large courtyard where you can park your cars and unload. Our rooms were spacious, clean and well presented. Tea/coffee/water/biscuits were provided in the room. Bedrooms were comfortable with good lighting, TV and plenty of power points. Decor was not ultra modern but still very acceptable. The bedroom we stayed in was on the ground floor and had facilities for disabled in the bathroom. Our two children stayed in a room on the first floor and were both happy with their room. Internet was not great but my kids survived.
We had an evening meal and breakfast at the Inn. Both were excellent with high quality food at very reasonable prices especially if you are from the south of England. Good choice of beers and wines.
All in all a very relaxing hotel with good food and a nice atmosphere. Would highly recommend based on our experience.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms would be good for diabled
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews