We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch despite hidden costs”
Review of Fish and Eels

Fish and Eels
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 17/01
20:00
Ranked #3 of 60 Restaurants in Hoddesdon
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Fish and Eels in Hoddesdon is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed 28 November 2021 via mobile

Having been here post Covid and not had the best of experiences we returned given the recent reviews on Trip Advisor. Arrived 15 minutes before our booking and was seated straight away. My wife ordered the 3 course festive menu priced at £28.95 whilst I ordered off the Sunday menu. The service & food was impeccable and I would recommend the lamb rump and drinks were taken and served in a timely manor through our meal. On receiving the bill I noticed that the items my wife ordered came to more (£6) than the advertised price off £28.85 which I queried with our waitress. She returned saying that there was a £2 supplement on the scallops starter and a £3 supplement on the cheese board however on checking the menu this was far from clear and the waitress was unaware of these charges otherwise she said she would have pointed them out to us when we ordered which I believe as her level of service throughout was exemplary. I also noticed that the amounts deducted were lower than the advertised price on the standard menu as the scallops were £10.50 against £6 deduction and the cheeseboard was £9.25 against £6 deduction in the bill. I have no issue with supplements however these should be both advised by the waitress taking the order and made clear in the menu.

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank rowlandn906
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2021

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are so pleased you returned to our new and improved Fish and Eels. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to your waitress Ellice and to our excellent Kitchen Team.

Apologies for any inconveniences caused with the supplement charges, this is something that should be communicated to all guests and i will be sure to pick this up with the team. Our festive set menu is 3 courses for £28.95 however, among our many choices we do have a couple of items with small supplement charges giving the guest the option to upgrade to a premium choice if required. This is displayed on the menu however, your waitress should be informed of all charges which i will reiterate to the whole team.

Again, i do apologies for any inconvenience caused and we do hope to see you again for the festive season here at the fish and eels.

Kind Regards
Isabelle and The Fish & Eels Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2021 via mobile

Great service by Lou J. Very attentive and polite. We had the Christmas special. Delicious food and great atmosphere.

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank Dfdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2021

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. Your feedback at this time is greatly appreciated.

I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to Louise.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Kind Regards
Isabelle and The Fish & Eels Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2021 via mobile

This is hands down one of our favourite places to come for a date day/night. The staff are ALWAYS so friendly especially Natalie and the food is second to none. The chefs are incredibly talented and there are so many options on the menu that you’ll want to try at a reasonable price. We will continue to return to Fish & Eels as it has the most beautiful setting next to the river during spring and summer, yet it has a warm cosy interior for the winter months. Thank you for your consistent 5 star service Fish and Eels team!

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank Melissa-Elise94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 November 2021

Really enjoyed our breakfast there this morning, food quality was fab and all the staff were very dog friendly. Lovely place to stop off, thoroughly recommend it

Date of visit: November 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RJS57124634y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your recent feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards

Emma and The Fish and Eels Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2021 via mobile

Tried the brunch instead of the cafe opposite for the first time. I had the small English, my wife the porridge and a pot of tea to share. Top quality sausage and bacon made it a very good breakfast which filled me up. The porridge was also very good. The staff were excellent and we will be eating our brunch at the fish from now on. Keep it up guys, it probably the best the pub as ever been since it was taken over.

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank stevepW4238WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2021

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review. We are over the moon that you chose brunch with us for a change and more importantly that you enjoyed it. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team.

We were very fortunate to have a full rebrand in March 2020 and alongside a new management, kitchen and Front of house team we have worked tirelessly to turn the reputation of The Fish & Eels around. Again, thank you for taking the time to acknowledge this.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Will & The Fish & Eels Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish and Eels also viewed

Cheshunt, Hertfordshire
Hoddesdon, Hertfordshire
 
Enfield, Greater London
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Fish and Eels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.