We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect nature retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khao Yai National Park

Khao Yai National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$293.39*
and up
Full-Day Khao Yai Jungle Tour from Bangkok
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Pak Phli
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This national park covers more than 2,000 square kilometers of evergreen forests, mountains and grasslands, which offer a variety of hiking trails and many waterfalls, the highest and most magnificent of which is Haew Narok at 80 meters.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect nature retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Did a 2D1N tour here which includes camping overnight. It's a massive and beautiful park. We saw a lot of creatures but sadly didn't manage to see any wild elephants upclose. Was looking for a quiet retreat surrounded by nature and this really did the trick. Our park ranger was a very friendly and experienced guide.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank twiinklex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    118
    45
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One day tour from Bangkok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A one day tour from Bangkok about 2.5 hours From Bangkok taking in a fresh foods market..better than iit sounds, a oxen cart ride, lunch at a quirky little kitchen..very nice, a walk to a waterfall in the national park and an elephant ride through a river.

This tour is along day but great for seeing some of the Thailand countryside and enjoy the national park.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
“Good for take a deep breath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Feel relax when you are in National Park Khao Yai. There is an animal night sightseeing at night. Or you can have a camping here.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Kasama L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Peaceful day in the park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A great day's visit to Khao Yai with Jay from @khaoyaitrekking (fb). A really enjoyable visit and an opportunity to appreciate some of the birds and wildlife of the park. Jay can be trusted to look after you and I think he could adjust the tour to fit all levels. It is a natural park, so there aren't trained monkeys and elephants hanging round every corner, but that is the attraction of experiencing real life. If you want an enriching tour and if you want some chance of seeing something, go with Jay.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank CauponaConsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A self-guided visit of the Big Mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Presume you have your own transportation and like being thorough at what you do. Presume also that you really only want to devote one day to the Park, then our self-guided tour should help your planning. Preplanning will be rewarded.

Khao Yai, the Big Mountain, is a must for any Park enthusiast. It may be the busiest park, so try for a weekday or non-holiday if possible. Ours was a great time for hiking, but less so if full waterfalls are your pleasure. That necessitates August to October, but since these are only two of the best in Thailand, but not the world just enjoy whatever season it is.

Assume you are planing a nature visit and any wildlife spotted is an added bonus. You will likely then spot some monkeys, but if so likely because they are slowing movement on or blocking your roadway.

Start after entering the NP by viewing the Visitor Center (VC). A quick tour will do. If you plan a full day you have the choice of either or both of the two major waterfalls: Haew Suwat or Narok, a variety of hikes including ones at the VC, Pha Diao Dai a 450 meter boardwalk to "Solitude Point" and the viewing tower hike at dusk not far from the VC. Haew Narok is the preferred waterfall if only one will do.

We stayed at Hotel des Artists within 1km of the entrance. Got an early morning start and after the VC headed to Suwat waterfall. After viewing we hiked to Haew Noi waterfall from the Suwar parking lot. We enjoyed the river and a crocodile sighting, but would not repeat for the waterfall and 3 hours spent in roundtrip. We then drove to Narok falls, had lunch and visited the falls. Be it known that the last 100 meters to viewing the falls is all down and yes requiring a climb up. But if able-bodied worth the trek. We then headed to Pha Diao Dai. While some may find this time investment worthwhile, this would be the journey we thought we could have eliminated. We then hiked a short trail at the VC before ending the day at the viewing tower where the vie is great but animals nonexistent this night. Then home to dinner after a day of 10 hours.

Participating in a tour, of which there are aplenty, you can guess we will write is not essential with one exception. The Khao Luk Chang cave, where bats fly at night in the millions requires a guide.

For more we believe the best online source is travelfish.org. We are not affiliated in any way, we have just found it a great resource. Have fun.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Taylo102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khao Yai National Park also viewed

Khao Yai National Park, Nakhon Ratchasima Province
Pak Chong, Pak Chong District
 
Pak Chong, Pak Chong District
Khao Yai National Park, Nakhon Ratchasima Province
 

Been to Khao Yai National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing