We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another enjoyable night at the Church Inn”
Review of The Church Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Church Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Chelmorton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Good news - the food and friendly welcome are just as great as my last review. I thought I couldn't add much more but we recently stayed on after our meal with friends on a Monday night to take part in the pub quiz. We like pub quizzes but this was our first at the Church Inn. The quiz master definitely made the event enjoyable and although we didn't win this time we will be back.
Good food and company, pleasant staff and a fun quiz - oh, and for my other half - decent beer! A winning formula for us.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank mercuryderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

We've been to the Church Inn, several times over the last few years, when we have visited the area. There is an extensive menu - including a Specials board - of good home cooked traditional english meals. They even had rabbit on the menu when we visited. I was tempted, but in the end settled for the traditional beef roast dinner. Plenty of beed, decent vegetable portions (carrots, cabbage, broccoli and cauliflower) - a big plate full for £9.25. Not bad in my book!
The welcome was friendly and the service was good. Wish We'd had room for dessert - they looked tempting - but the main course filled us. Has several ales on hand pulled draught, as well as tap beers.
We shall keep coming here when in the area, that's for sure!

Room Tip: This is a village pub serving meals - NOT a residential hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Family lunch out in pleasant surroundings in our local public house . Food was served very promptly and hot. The roast beef was perfect as was the bread and butter pudding. Service as usual was prompt and the quantities of food were plentiful. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank david070761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the ChurchInn for a couple of nights leisure break. The rooms were pleasant and nice an quiet. WiFi was free but a bit hit and miss for a connection. When it was working the connection speed was fine.

We are in both nights and had very nice meals, a good choice with plenty of specials on the board. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Once the early diners had gone the pub was very quiet with only a few looks in for a pint but a pleasant evening none the less.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Camspig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Staying at Beechcroft Farm Campsite we returned to the Church Inn having dined there on a previous visit - we were not disappointed! Fabulous menu & wine list - my husband chose the Rabbit Pie, I had the Salmon & Prawn Fishcakes - both were delicious accompanied by a lovely bottle of Rioja. We shared an Apple and Gooseberry crumble with custard and were replete! The staff at the pub were extremely friendly & helpful. This dog friendly pub is full of character in beautiful settings - if we lived closer this would definitely be our 'local'! Highly recommend and hope to return again soon

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmorton
10.4 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
19.7 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
13 km away
Samuel Fox Country Inn
Samuel Fox Country Inn
#1 of 6 in Bradwell
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 km away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#5 of 159 in Peak District National Park
333 reviews
16.6 km away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
296 reviews
11.1 km away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Inn

Address: Buxton | Buxton, Derbyshire, Chelmorton, Peak District National Park SK17 9SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Chelmorton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmorton
Price Range: $141 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Church Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Church Inn, a traditional family run country inn, ideally situated in the picturesque village of Chelmorton. Between the market towns of Buxton and Bakewell. We offer 4 star accommodation in our four bedrooms, adjacent to the pub with free onsite parking. Serving traditional home cooked food and 5 cask conditioned ales, offering free Wifi. We feature in the good pub guide and have done since 2010 and the good beer guide since 2001. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing